We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capsule size rooms and overpriced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tresor Tavern Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tresor Tavern Hotel to your Saves list
Tresor Tavern Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Cavan Road | Opp Road of Jalan Besar Stadium (East Gate), Singapore 209854, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #217 of 297 Hotels in Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Capsule size rooms and overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I had the displeasure of staying here for 2 nights. There are many reason I disliked this hotel and they are as follows:
1) Rooms are the smallest I have ever seen. I have heard of capsule sized rooms and this is what they should be called not doubles. The double rooms are actually single rooms with a double bed. We had no room for our luggage. Extremely difficult to maneuver in the room. The shower is over the toilet hence why I gave a poor rating for cleanliness.
2) Seeing as it is a single room with a double bed squashed into it, the price is ridiculous. Look for better deals.
3) The location although close enough to the MRT is in a car repair estate. This hotel is not really in Little India as advertised.
4) Breakfast was a waste of time. Cold horrible pancakes which I wondered why they even bother. I have got better in a hostel.
5) Phone in the room didn't work.
6) $100 key deposit which seems a bit excessive.
7) Staff were not that helpful. Our flight was cancelled at the last minute and asked to make a local call but this was too much hassle so we went elsewhere.
*the staff are friendly but the hotel is ridiculous due to the room size.
My advice is look elsewhere, try and book early and if you think of staying here, you are better off staying in a hostel. The owner has a lot of cheek advertising this place as "double room", breakfast included and even as a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
2
12
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights. This is the hotel not the backpackers which is in a different location. The room is miniscule. When I arrived i had to think how I would open and then be able to accesss my suitcase. Bathroom has a shower hose over the toilet. It's ok as its clean but dont expect to be able to see how you look or get dressed up for the evening! breakfast is included but is really not worth the effort of the staff. Location is good - close to mrt which i used to travel all over singapore.staff nice ( in my experience this was rare in singapore - no one smiles!) This is ok for a budget solo traveller in singapore. Four days far too long here unless you want to spend lots of dollars shopping

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed in Tresor Tavern for one night. I stayed in dormitory. The price was good, but hostel is not he best one. Dormitory had no window and was not very spacious, you feel there like in a bunker. There are old furnitures and no bathroom for each room. Air condition is good enough, but a little noisy. Everything is old, but hostel is not very dirty - it only looks like that. However, it's not bad located and easy to find it. I liked a little bored staff and enough good restaurant. There is a breafast included.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Location-wise this hotel is located close to the Lavender MRT and very close to the amazing Lavender Food Court. The rooms are very clean and well-equipped however this is where the advantages of this hotel end.

The rooms are tiny! We booked a deluxe double but there was absolutely nothing deluxe about this! The bathrooms in particular were even smaller than your average Asian bathroom!
The breakfast was small and of poor quality. I don't know why they bother offering this.

Whilst in Singapore, myself and my partner stayed at this hotel and at Mayo Inn (Mayo Street, Little India). The differences in the 2 hotels are vast. Tresor Tavern is expensive for what's offered. The service is average and the rooms are only really big enough for 1 person who has a hand bag sized amount of luggage.

I would not stay here again. There are far too many better hotels in Singapore that offer better rooms and service for the same price (and cheaper in Mayo Inn's case).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

Nothing to great about the location!This hotel located at a downtown,surrounded by the mechanic shops. It looks real doggy from outside.
Hotel service- don't expect them to help to carry your luggage. Not buffet breakfast, you have to pre-order your breakfast from the menu and only 2 options given.
The room is smelly and squashy. The ceiling is mould too!!!
Think twice before you decide!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The hotel is located at around 500 metres froom Lavander MRT station, very convenient if you arrive at Changi airport or if you are planning to visit the Marina. The hotel is quite new, the rooms are very small but I presume that goes will most places in Singapore unless you are prepared to go 4*+. The second best thing besides location, is that the place is very clean, confortable bed and pillows. There is even a pure silk duvet in the bed. I stay in a single room, which was quite small. with a small shower room. The hotel includes breakfast (not full english) and free internet. If you are booking a single room, make sure you got one with TV, since they only have 3 or 4 single rooms with TV. When I require that, the staff was very accommodating and change the room for me. The hotel has tea and coffee facilities, and when you arrive they have a courtesy tooth brush and paste as well as a fruit. All in all this is an excellent choice if you don't want to pay the exorbitant Singapore prices without compromising too much in quality. I will definitely go back there, and strongly recommend it. A pice of advice when you arrive to Changi if you go to the transport counter you can get a taxi to this hotel for 9 pounds included the tax, and if you take the MRT if you take the exit on the left at Lavander station you don't need to cross the road to go to the hotel. Also therere is a nice food court outside Lavander station.

Room Tip: If you choose single room ask for one with TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

If ou don't mind being given wrong infos all the time, finding out that yuo have to pay twice the price of what you had originally agreed, than that
s find. don't book the airport shuttle> they won't be there and you'll just lose time waiting
the neighboorhood is not verz nice
but mind, singapore is awfully expensive so it could be worse.
forget about the breakfast: you have to decide the day before when you'd like to have it, if you don't show up till 5 misn after the agreed time, they'll call you and then u find out you could have done without the 2 slices of toast.
stanard rooms a tiny, tiny, no room for a suitcase, no window and when u shoer, it s right in the bathroom.. u close the door and stand nex to the loo and: shower!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tresor Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tresor Tavern Hotel

Address: 26 Cavan Road | Opp Road of Jalan Besar Stadium (East Gate), Singapore 209854, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 297 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tresor Tavern Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tresor Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresor Tavern Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tresor Tavern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.