We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Stones Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Five Stones Hostel to your Saves list
Five Stones Hostel
285 Beach Road | 8 Minutes From Bugis Mrt, Singapore 199550, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FEMALE Only FLOOR
Ranked #16 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Love this hostel very much, great location, good facility and the breakfast with dining table also sofa make me want to stay there all day.

Thank a lot for all the staff there, you guy so great.

Kristi & Meity ( Jakarta )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Salamat Pagi! Thanks for your great review, and the mention of our staff. We agree, we have a nice location and we strive to create an environment that ensures that comfort of our guests. Come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    64
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
46
54
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here while back in Singapore. Chose it for location, wanted to be close to everything. Checking in was a pleasant surprise, staff friendly and helpful, answered all questions with a genuine smile. Rooms very clean and decorated with bright themes of Singapore. Will be returning to Singapore soon and will staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Indoone,

Thank you for staying and for the review. It is great that our staff made an impression on you. We try very hard to be Singapore's best and friendliest hostel. The team will be happy to hear that you appreciate their hard work.

Looking forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Five Stones is every bit as good as the reviews say. Very well located in Central Singapore, near enough to walk to MRT station, Chinatown, Boat and Clarke Quay and Esplanade. You don't want to walk TOO far in the heat of the day. If you want to spend time at the Flyer, Marina Bay or Gardens by the Bay, staying at Five Stones does necessitate changing lines on the MRT 2 or 3 times to get there. We stayed at the hostel as a couple as a cheaper alternative to a hotel so that we could stay centrally. We stayed in the cheaper of the 2 private rooms for 3 nights, which has no window and is opposite the shower room. The 1st night we had a great nights sleep. OK you can here the bass beat in the background from a nearby club (even on a Sunday) but we weren't kept awake at all. There are notices asking for quiet after 11 pm and for the shower room door to be closed at all times. On our 2nd night however we were kept awake by inconsiderate guests. There are tables right outside the room and people were talking noisely on Skype, for example, outside the rooms at midnight - so they didn't disturb the people in the Lounge! Loud laughing etc also coming though the walls from the Dorm rooms during the night. They do seem to book parties of people, as we saw groups of around 8 people who seemed to be all arriving together to check in. Shower room door was always left open so we heard noise from showers in morning. The hostel is surrounded by clubs so I guess you can expect people who are party animals staying here. The hostel does provide free earplugs on the counter. Depending on how considerate your other guests are you may need them. The room was small, but actually a bit bigger than I expected. Room for 2 cases on floor and hooks to hang towels and clothes on back of door. All very clean and bed extremely comfortable. Lounge area very pleasant and breakfast of toast and cereal very welcome. We did enjoy our stay very much - just a shame about one noisy night. I assume there are no staff there at night to take care of noise levels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for your review, it is great that overall you enjoyed your stay "very much". Singapore is a busy place and our hostel is located in the centre of town, fantastic for exploring but some guests may not appreciate the small amount of background noise that comes with the central location. 99% of our guests get on well and noise inside the hostel is seldom an issue, following your review we will reenforce the need to minimize noise at night to our guests during our check in process.

Really appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for 2 days ...actually hardly stayed in the hostel...because I was sight seeing all the time ..but when ever i came to the hostel in the night ..even though the staff was not there ther was no problem..all the other backpackers were also friendly...i really recommend this hostel for a cheap & nice stay .!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Niranjan,

I appreciate your taking the time to review our hostel. Your comments on our friendliness are really appreciated because that is exactly what we want to be - the best and friendliest place for our guests to stay in Singapore.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I originally planned to stay in Five Stones Hostel in Singapore for just 5 nights, and I've now been here for 18...

The hostel is exceptionally well-thought out and lovingly themed with very good branding. Lots of touches make it feel homely and familiar, such as the themed rooms and the stone-shaped cushions (the name comes from the game, http://www.ikatbag.com/2009/06/five-stones.html).

As many reviewers have said, the location is very good, an easy walk to most of the main attractions of Singapore, including the Formula One which is the reason I visited in the first place. It's a little difficult to find on the first attempt, just look for the only 6-storey building on the road and it is directly opposite Hong Kong Street.

Inside the hostel, there are rooms ranging from 6 beds 'deluxe' (which I think means it has windows, since the rest don't) up to 14 beds. All have good air-con and the linen is changed regularly. There is a no-shoe policy which takes just a little bit of getting used to. The laundry facilities are free which is a real bonus. The lounge is really comfortable for relaxing in and the internet connectivity is superb.

But finally... the staff. It is an all-female team who just couldn't be friendlier, more helpful or competent. They were a real joy to be with and were the main reason that I decided to stay. They also organised extra activities, for instance participation in the Chinatown lantern walk and also mooncake tasting, for the Mid Autumn Festival which coincided with my trip.

To conclude, it was a great base to explore Singapore from and well worth the cost (which is slightly above average). I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are the only ones with windows and aren't much more expensive than the bigger r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Colin, hope you got back to the UK ok, and that you are not missing the warm Singapore weather too much! Thank you for your very kind review, especially your note on the friendliness of our staff. They truly are the secret to our success. We all hope to see you again soon in Singapore, there is still plenty for you to do/see/explore/eat/drink/enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good location, great room and great service! Love the cute five stones cushion and the fluffy comforter.

Hostel is equally good as the hotels in Singapore. You can access to any form of public transport here. It's location is really well placed,

Nittaya F.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Nittaya,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review, reviews such as yours really help us fine tune our hostel. As you point out our location is great, and our staff better :)

Please come and stay again at Five Stones Hostel, we would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

That is the most important feature of this accommodation.
We stayed her for one night in a private room, without a window.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Showers and bathroom were clean and ok.
The room however was not brightly clean.
All together this place is not cheap but recommended because of its perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and for pointing out areas that you think we can do better at - which we will. As you point out our location is perfect, and we will attend to the areas of improvement. Thanks so much for staying at Five Stones Hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Five Stones Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Stones Hostel

Address: 285 Beach Road | 8 Minutes From Bugis Mrt, Singapore 199550, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singapore's best and friendliest hostel! With each of our rooms featuring interesting designs, Five Stones Hostel gives Singapore cultural elements a refreshing new lease of life. Quirky designs and decor characterize our spanking new boutique hostel. Boasting one of the best beds among Singapore hostels (8 inch orthopaedic spring mattresses, no less) and conveniently located within 10mins walking distance to the majority of Singapore's key tourist attractions, it's the latest addition to the plethora of high quality budget accommodation in Singapore which blurs the line between hostel and hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Five Stones Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Stones Hotel Singapore
5 Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Stones Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.