We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It gives a bad name to peranakan cusine.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grandma's Restaurant

Grandma's Restaurant
252 North Bridge Road, #B1-76 Raffles City Shopping Centre, Singapore, Singapore
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,771 of 7,379 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It gives a bad name to peranakan cusine.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had lately patronised the branch outlet of the same restaurant. It was located at Nex Shopping Centre, right above Serangoon MRT station.
The food listed are suggestive that it's peranakan cuisine. And when one heard of peranakan cuisine, it means tasty, very flavourful / spicy food which should be similar to what Melaka is offering.
We ordered the Assam fish head, mixed vegetables and the ngoh hiang. The assam fish head itself is a big dissappointment. It wasn't fresh! And the assam sauce? It's just the tangy sour taste, nothing more than that. Not even the least spicy note can be found in it.
As for the ngoh hiang, the chestnuts bits in it were too big. The meat was alittle dry and you could taste too much of the "star anise" fragrant in it that it becomes too overpowering.

Ohh and the crackers they served when you arrive, it's not crispy at all.

Thumbs down for this place and the food quality!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    19
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Eat only if you have no where to go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The food wasn't that bad. Laksa didn't impressed me at all. I had mackerel asam fish, not bad, beef rendang was ok but it could be better, kang kong belachan taste accepted but to not everyone, potato leaves was good. Seafood kway teow pretty good.
Pricing a bit high for the size you get. Very small portions is serve, if you are a big eater order more or double potions on each serving.
Atmosphere was alright. Can be very noisy during lunch time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
495 reviews 495 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“A lucky shot in Raffles city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

On our way back from Vietnam to the Netherlands we stayed three days in the Fairmont hotel in Singapore. The Fairmont hotel rises above the Raffles City shopping mall. On our last evening, after a hot day in Singapore we preferred to dine close to the hotel. In Raffles City there is a wide range of dining options from a simple sandwich counter to an upmarket Italian restaurant. After making our round along the many eateries, we decided on Grandma's Restaurant in the basement of Raffles City. Although it was not mentioned specifically, the menu pointed to the Malaysian cuisine; also no pork or lard would be used according to a sign at the entrance. We ordered Beef Rendang with steamed rice and Foo Yong egg with fried rice. Although the Beef Rendang was not as spicy as to be expected, the food was well cooked; also the service was attentive. The restaurant was only occupied on approximately half capacity, so we were able to choose a quiet table. Generally, eating at Grandma's Restaurant was a positive experience. I can not agree with a previous review, that Grandma's Restaurant is patronized with unsuspecting tourists. As far I could see, we were the only tourists in the restaurant; all other tables seemed to be occupied by local families.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Good for a quick bite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Its not all that bad. You have so many options while roaming around Raffles city that you feel trying one or the other . We tried seafood soup, egg prawn , Prawn and beef fried rice and Calamari ( squid) . at 45 Sing Dollar for two, We were not too disappointed .

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Poor local food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We decided to eat at this restaurant after walking around Raffles City, looking at all the restaurant menus. We thought this would be the right place to sample local cuisine after reading the glowing newspaper article displayed outside the entrance. The author must have been paid to write the article or was having a bad tastebuds day. The local food served here is a far cry from the stuff served in the local hawker centers for a third of the price. It was bland, unattractively served and had little ingredients except for the starches (noodles and rice). The place is probably surviving because it is patronised by unsuspecting tourists and the local office crowd who can't venture far during their lunch break. What a pity!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Grandma's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandma's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.