We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burrata is to-die-for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Etna Italian Restaurant

Etna Italian Restaurant
49/50 Duxton Road, Singapore, Singapore
+65 6220 5513
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #550 of 7,382 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Private Dining
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Private Dining
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Burrata is to-die-for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Was there with a group of friends for dinner and because we all arrived at different timing, the waiting staff was very nice and offerred us a table to have drinks while waiting. The hostess also asked us a couple of time if we're ready for our table but because the party was late, she was very patient as well.

The food there is pretty awesome. We had the burrata which was the best ever! The florentina 1.2kg steak was very good too. Some other dishes we had was the lobster linguine, mushroom truffle risotto and parma ham with melon. They have a list of good wine too. Definitely a place to return to, especially for the burrata. The waiters will be more than willing to recommend.

The ambience was cosy and not too formal. Its a nice place for dinner date or with a group of friends. BUT please remember to book in advance.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place with awesome burrata!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The burrata is a must-try indeed. Love the cosy ambience and the attentiveness of the staff. And did I say you must try the burrata?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We've been to many of those famous Italian restaurants in Singapore, and I can confidently say this is few of those Excellent ones!
Fresh burrata is NOT to be missed - you'll need to pay the price, but man, it's one of freshest I've ever been served.
Other dishes are all simple but genius. Always satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Solid Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Fresh parma ham with melon to start with, flawless. Main was the fettucini with truffle sauce, which also was excellent. Quantities on the small side, but quality is above average. Service pleasant. Not necessarily cheap but would return.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, but food below expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a really nice restaurant -- but only in terms of ambience. It's very nice, very rustic and down-to-earth. In terms of food, I really wanted to like it, especially since a friend had highly-recommended it.

But while the atmosphere is great, and the wine collection impressive, I was sorely disappointed by the food. Firstly, my starter of beef carpaccio. Serving was generous and the meat a good quality, but they'd doused it in so much vinegar, the sourness completely overwhelmed the beef, so that all I tasted was vinegar and nothing else.

Then, the mains. I'd been torn between the meat in the ala carte menu, and the Chef's Recommendation of the Day listed on their board. I went for the Chef's Recommendation, which turned out to be the worst dish of my evening there. The stewed beef was tender but tasteless, and the fettuccine was barely cooked; it was cold and hard. I simply could not bring myself to finish that dish.

Thankfully, dessert was great, and that was the only thing that saved my entire experience at Etna from being branded as downright disappointing. The lava cake with hazelnut ice cream is undeniably one of the best I'd ever had, and the tastes of the cake and ice cream blended perfectly.

I'm not sure if the Chef's Recommendation was designed to be that bad, because my friends' dishes off the ala carte menu looked way better. I may want to try them again in future, to see if they're actually capable of serving better food than what I had that evening. But otherwise, based on my sole experience so far, I'd say they've fallen completely short of the mark.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etna Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Etna Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etna Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.