We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at Orchid Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
Orchid Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Tras Link, Singapore, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Quezon City
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Good stay at Orchid Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Room: nice clean room, with ironing board/flat iron, with safety deposit box. Spacious room but wifi connectivity was bad.

Service: good overall service by staff

Location: good location, near MRT Station, a few minutes away from Chinatown. Many restaurants nearby

Breakfast: good continental breakfast but almost the same food for two days. Long queue to buffet table

Washroom: strong water, complete toiletries, cool floor and wall tiles.

Overall: Nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    85
    40
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
29
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Do me a favor, don't stay in this hotel at any cost. Breakfast was quite terrible, with no creativity shown or choices in dishes. The staff members were rude, and no compassion toward the guests. I'd no choice but to stay there as my company put me up there for 2 weeks. My room was quite weird and difficult to access. They have many visitors from Korea and other Chinese countries so just beware of them- they pass rude comments to other foreign visitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here during our holidays in Singapore and just loved the hotel and location. very convenient for outing and shopping. Rooms are pretty well maintained and offers all amenities. Buffet breakfast was fabulous and just loved the variety everyday, Overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Western side has good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The location is good as it is opposite to MRT station Tanjong Pagar.
From here you can go to little India or to Jurong Bird Park.
The rooms were good. Near by a big hotel is being constructed but inside there was no disturbance.
They charge internet for 24 singapore dollar. Also the connectivity on the higher floors is an issue. You get good connectivity at the reception only.
There is a level difference between the outside and inside floors. I hv seen many tourists falling on the ground because of this. They shud do something about this.The breakfast has only continental menu. So if you like Indian breakfast,you will be highly dis appointed like us.
Though the continental breakfast has good choices.
Hope above will help you.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have stayed here and found this property simply good. best thing about this hotel is the room size and the view from your room. i would love to stay here again...

nearby attraction - ChinaTown just a walk away, MRT station few blocks away, Bugis in 2Kms. proximity, Little India 2kms, and Marina bay...

downside -
I just found the lighting issue in bathroom area, if you are shaving then the lighting is not that sufficient..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaji, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

we had two attached rooms both self contained suite rooms clean with coffee kettle a place to relax after a hard days walking tour of the city, the best part was china town was a stone throw away with lovely street food, the metro station was a block away just opposite the hotel the staff were very helpful and courteous

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The best thing about Orchid Hotel is the location. It stands just on the opposite of the metro exit, quite convenient.

Speaking back to hotel itself, it is really one of the most uncomfortable stay I've ever had. The lobby is quite small and full of tour groups, very crowded and noisy. The elevator is quite small, really small.

The room is spacious enough, but equipped very old furniture.

The most terrible thing is the shower - NO HOT WATER in the day???? How come this could happen? I still can't believe it.

Didn't for go breakfast, but my friend told me that it was poor.

Generally speaking, this hotel is not my cup of tea. But for those who prefers a reasonable price and good location, and doesn't care much about the facilities, Orchild is good to recommend.

BTW, the service is just in standard. I don't remember much of it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Hotel

Address: 1 Tras Link, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.