We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 5footway.inn Project Chinatown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 5footway.inn Project Chinatown to your Saves list
5footway.inn Project Chinatown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   63A Pagoda Street, Singapore 059222, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A nice hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I got the attic room which is a very nice room for female only. The room was clean with a wood floor, the bed sheet was clean and smell good. overall, the room was very good it made me wake up very late in the morning.

The bathroom was okay. Not excellent but not bad too. But, I found the female bathroom on the second floor was very dirty I won't step my foot on that bathroom again. it is because I found a used tampon on its floor. It gave me nightmare. I wonder why is there anybody could the that irresponsible.

The breakfast and the dining room is good too. Especially the coffee and water is available for 24 hours.

The team of 5footway inn project chinatown is very helpfull too. I have difficulty in calculating number (a lot of zero for my math grades when I was in school) but monet explained in slowly until I get it. So thanks.

overall, I think I will be back to this hostel again if I visit singapore again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    184
    55
    12
    5
See reviews for
31
56
94
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hostel is probably best value for this location. Unfortunately, the rooms are very small, they can be used only for sleeping and the noisy neighbors can ruin your sleeping. Nice place is the terrace with communal kitchen (free coffee and tea), but sometimes it's very crowded, especially at breakfast. Overall, I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I am a single traveller, and arrived late in the evening (10pm). The check-in process was quick and easy. The location is a few steps away from Chinatown MRT station (very very convenient). Also a 3 min walk to nice trendy bars/cafes on Ann Siang Hill Rd.
The facilities were clean, and bathrooms were spacious. They have a very nice outdoor food/common area. The room was clean and comfortable.
I appreciate the staff being friendly and helpful with all my needs, looking up info for me and also able to have a good conversation. Thank you Jun Jie and Pui Yi for charging my phone and looking up gym info for me!
Definitely satisfied, good value, good comfort.

The rooms are small, but aren't all hostel rooms quite small?
Their clean and spacious bathrooms and showers a big plus for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my two teenagers on a 1 night stop over in Singapore. It's a bit of a hike via MRT to and from the airport for a stay as quick as ours, however once there it's in a fantastic position to jump straight into Singapore. Room was comfortable and clean, though walls are very thin so noise from other guests coming and going through the night is a little disturbing. Simple breakfast provided which is great, though needed to chase up milk and toasters weren't working (fuse just needed a reset, so easily and happily fixed). Singapore is an expensive place to stay and this is a good cost at a great location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were 2 families with 2 'older backpackers' and 3 children/youths aged 18-25!!! It was a great location, right in the heart of Chinatown and opposite the MRT, very clean, good facilities, self-service breakfast, tea and coffee all day and super-friendly staff especially Peggy! Thanks to all staff for being so helpful and friendly. Your welcome was very much appreciated :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had planned from long time ago to stay at this hotel during my next visit to SGP. I read that people were satisfied stayign at this hostel. So I had high expectations for what the hostel would offer me, sadly it was quite dissapointing. The only advantage of this hostel is the location. It is just 5 steps away from the Chinatown MRT. However since i request for private Quadroom it turned out that the room is located on different building (which actually another 5 steps away across from the main building). On the wall its written that the 2nd floor had a total of twenty something people so i guess the estimate people on the building was around 30. Surprisingly they only have 4 bathroom, so during the morning and night - queue for using bathroom were quite hectic :(. Also other than that, they only have pantry on the main building, So if we want to have breakfast, take water, or make an instant cup noodle we need to go down.. and cross to another building and go up to 2nd floor.. quite an effort.. :( especially since our private quadroom is located on 3rd floor. Compare to the private room at other hostel that i had visited, the quadroom was Tiny.. really2 just a place to sleep.
Overall since this hotel is clean, near to MRT and offer breakfast (cereal & toast) i will give an average points. But i do not recommend if you are going here with family.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with friends which classified as BIG Size... you might not want to use the pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed 6 nights in September 2012. Booked 5 nights in a twin and 1 night in a 4 bed dorm. The beds were super comfortable, no window in twin, air con fine no messing about to get the right temperature and secure locker in rooms and clean.
Loved the cute little kitchen area, provides toast, cereal and coffee for breakfast. Bathrooms provides free shampoo, shower gel etc, nice enough very clean, although showers cold when we used them first thing.
Staff friendly and helpful, 2 free Mac computers to use (wifi included). Has a little cafe seemed nice but never ate there.
The location is the selling point, literally in the center of China Town, MRT station right outside. All round great stay, would come again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 5footway.inn Project Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Chinatown

Address: 63A Pagoda Street, Singapore 059222, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are new and we were opened since October 2011. At 5footway.inn, we are built on the concept that budget accommodation can be centrally located, can be tasteful, can be packed with amenities, and can come with 5-star service. Located at historic Chinatown, right by the MRT station, we are extremely well connected and within walking distance to many attractions in Chinatown, Little India, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay, museums etc. You will be glad you chose Chinatown as you spend very little time and money on traveling.. Great care has also been taken to ensure that comfort and service remain top of our list and that you'd wish you had stayed longer. We pack the premise with: 1) anti-dustmite beds equipped with privacy curtains 2) free breakfast3) spacious entertainment areas 4) spacious outdoor dining terrace5) hostel-wide broadband WIFI (yes, even in your beds)6) the latest iMacs for free guest use7) individual reading lights 8) hairdryers, shampoo, shower gel5footway.inn presents a break from the conventional hostel with its well-defined personal and communal spaces, clever use of design and attention to details. At 5footway.inn, small is spacious and budget is boutique. Come experience this with people from all walks of life amid the comforts of modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Foot Way Hotel Singapore
5footway.Inn Project Chinatown Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5footway.inn Project Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.