We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for travellers.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 5footway.inn Project Chinatown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 5footway.inn Project Chinatown to your Saves list
5footway.inn Project Chinatown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   63A Pagoda Street, Singapore 059222, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location for travellers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for 4D/3N at the hotel. Made a reservation for quad bed room, but when we arrive, they give us a room consists of 6 bed, but that wouldn't be a problem since the room is all ours. The room is clean, bed is comfortable, but the room quite bit small. Dissapointment came from the noise from the other room, the wall is very thin, we can hear our neighbour voice, and the room next to our room has sliding door that caused a loud noise everytime people closed it.

Lot of reviews said that the location of the hotel are very convinient, and that is TRUE, only few steps from Chinatown MRT Station, 3 minutes walk to McDonalds. There are many shops and palces to eat around the hotel. But we are moslem, having difficult time to find a place to eat which is "no pork and lard" because most of them are chinese food.

The hotel provide standard breakfast, corn flakes, bread, apple, coffe/tea. Wifi speed is pretty good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi anggiprtm,

Thank you for your time in writing a review for 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1.

We are pleased to know that you had a good time with us here. Your feedback is important for us to grow and we look forward to your next visit to see the improvements we have made.

Once again, thank you and look forward to hosting you and your friends in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    184
    55
    12
    5
See reviews for
31
56
94
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Friendly with guest and resonable price suitable for stay with family have facility and breakfast also free wifi. Our family are enjoyed all 3 nights here.It will be great if you have more toilet.Thanks for all of your guys.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi Emmydoodee,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1. We are delighted to know that your family had a great time with us. We valued your feedback and definitely bring it to the management.

Once again, thank you and look forward to having you guys back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

i never stay at hostel that share room with others. i was worried about safety, and the comfy. but when i found this hotel, its looks clean,cozy, and they have female dorm with female share bathroom. the location only few steps from MRT. market is downstair, many choice of food and cheap. the staff very friendly, the room clean and bed so comfy. even the market is downstair, but its not noisy. oohh.. i like the green tea soap, i forgot to ask what soap they use, because i really like all green tea stuff. overall, no complain and we all enjoy our holiday in singapore :)

Room Tip: if you are female, try 6 female dorm up stairs. its large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi Pixie_Schatz,

Thank you for choosing 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 as your first hostel experience. We are definitely honored to host you. Looking forward to your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Great experience. Hostel location is very good near to metro station. 5footwayinn rooms is comfortable. I enjoyed it here. Staff is gd especially Natra, you can talk to every night whenever ure awake & can give u gd advise to make ur trip as comfortable as it is. I will be back here again someday! Thank you 5footwayinn!! ;) -Antoine Decoux

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi Antoine,

Thank you for choosing 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1. We are pleased to know that you had a great time with the staff here. Your enjoyment pushes the team to consistently upkeep the positive service.

Once again, thank you and look forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

we stayed here 4 nights and five days. the location is great, right next to the MRT which was very handy for us. we had a private room, which was very tiny (but you get what you pay for). the shower and toilet facilties were kept reasonably clean by the staff. breakfast didnt have many options, but it was enough. the staff were very helpful and kind. over all a cosy hostel with the necessities in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi Candice,

Thank you for choosing 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 as your accommodation choice in Singapore. We are glad that your group had a great time with us here.

We look forward to having you back to 5footway.inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights, fast check in service. and the staffs are all helpful, I had a new friend her name is Pamela..she was so nice, she even went out with me to buy some foods in McDonald's. I also have this new friend named NORA (manager, i guess) she was excellent and nice to talk with. I skipped 2 breakfasts because I soo love sleeping and We almost spent wholeday outside the hotel. The location was excellent, it's near the chinatown shopping area. It's perfect. there are also clubs somewhere at the back of the hotel and near 7 eleven. there are also chinese restaurants nearby, I really love the food since I have chinese blood. overall, I will defenitely stay here again on my next visit. unforgettable experience.thank you for making my 2 days stay memorable guys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hi Anna,

Thank you for taking time to write a review for 5footway.inn. We are pleased to know that you guys had a great time at our place and make friends with the staffs here. We are truly honoured and look forward to having you and your friends back soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Chose this place for its location. The MRT entrance is literally 20steps away from the inn, whilst plenty of shops and lounges open till early hours - which is great if you're there to have a bit of fun.
I didn't sleep that well though, mainly because I slept on the upper bunk and the bunk is way to flexible. it shakes way too much whenever the lower bunk dweller moved.
Also, the air-con seems to be turned off at around 7 in the morning and it would get really warm in the room. is it a timer? - because everybody else seems to be asleep at this time? (I'd still blame the other room dweller for this though).

Overall good stay and suitable if you're on transit and/or on a budget.
I'd stay again - I'll just make sure I'll ask for the lower bunk next time.

Room Tip: Get lower bunk. upper bunk is way too shaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hi akrl,

Thank you for taking time to write a review for 5footway.inn Project Chinatown. We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay despite a little discomfort with the air-conditioning. We provide all rooms are with individual air-conditioning units and remote control as individuals have different preference on the coolness. In your case, probably, one of the roommate set a timer. With regards to the beds, we apologised for the inconvenience that you had went through. However, we would like to share with you that we are in the process of changing to new beds to upkeep the environment for our guests.

We hope to see you again in the near future to experience the improvements we did.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 5footway.inn Project Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Chinatown

Address: 63A Pagoda Street, Singapore 059222, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are new and we were opened since October 2011. At 5footway.inn, we are built on the concept that budget accommodation can be centrally located, can be tasteful, can be packed with amenities, and can come with 5-star service. Located at historic Chinatown, right by the MRT station, we are extremely well connected and within walking distance to many attractions in Chinatown, Little India, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay, museums etc. You will be glad you chose Chinatown as you spend very little time and money on traveling.. Great care has also been taken to ensure that comfort and service remain top of our list and that you'd wish you had stayed longer. We pack the premise with: 1) anti-dustmite beds equipped with privacy curtains 2) free breakfast3) spacious entertainment areas 4) spacious outdoor dining terrace5) hostel-wide broadband WIFI (yes, even in your beds)6) the latest iMacs for free guest use7) individual reading lights 8) hairdryers, shampoo, shower gel5footway.inn presents a break from the conventional hostel with its well-defined personal and communal spaces, clever use of design and attention to details. At 5footway.inn, small is spacious and budget is boutique. Come experience this with people from all walks of life amid the comforts of modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Foot Way Hotel Singapore
5footway.Inn Project Chinatown Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5footway.inn Project Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.