We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Du Vin

Bistro Du Vin
1 Scotts Road | #01-14 Shaw Centre, Singapore 228208, Singapore (Orchard Road)
+65 6733 7763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #357 of 7,256 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $104
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went to Bistro du Vin today for lunch and myself and my two companions ordered from the lunch menu. There is a wide choice and three courses is $30. The food was very good quality and the service was good. The atmosphere is also very pleasant and felt genuinely french. I would highly recommend the lamb and the beef stroganoff. We really enjoyed it and would go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    51
    13
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good example of sincerity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Finally a traditional French restaurant that respects recipes (except the banana tarte tatin!)

I have tried this restaurant several times and tasted most of the dishes. The quality of "Coq au vin", "Blanquette de veau", "Salade Nicoise", in short 90% of the dishes are above expectation. Sincerely, in 18 years' expatriation, I will rank this restaurant, number 1.

The restaurant decoration is typically in the Parisian Bistrot's ambiance. The service staffs are polite and caring.

Nevertheless, there are few details that can be improved, as, the "Escargots" (parsley not chopped enough and lack of seasonings). The desserts are not truly French. "Mont blanc" needs more chestnuts and vanilla, see "La Maison Angelina" in Paris. Please use apple for the "Tarte Tatin".

As you may know, French are never happy! So, I wont blame this exceptional restaurant that, again, has the intelligence of respecting traditional recipes, and provides a true travel inside the French culture. Bravo!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sippy Downs, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, honest french food, good service, nice intimate atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were recommended by the concierge on this restaurant as we are after something more casual. It serves good honest french food, simple without the fuss of modern gastronomy. We had Escargot and Onion Soup for starters which were above average. However, the main were excellent with the confit of pork leg and confit of duck leg. We were a bit disappointed with the soufflé but overall, it had great atmosphere, good service, and good food without the fuss.

They showed that good food doesn't need to have a gel, or soil, or smoke, or any of the fancy things you found in modern fine cuisine.

Although the restaurant is quite cosy, don't be concerned about bringing your child.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Atmospheric French brasserie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We've eaten here several times and each time we've had an enjoyable experience. This cute brasserie serves up delicious French choices and a solid wine list -- all at affordable prices -- in a charming setting. If you're seeking good French food and good value for your money, then look no further.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Efficient service in a downtown French brasserie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The restaurant was very busy on a week night. We had made a reservation and were promptly seated at a table on the upper section where the noise level wasn't too loud to deter conversation.

For starters, we ordered mussels mariniere and french onion soup which came with complimentary baguette. Both dishes were excellent; the onion soup was flavourful while the mussels were fresh and simply cooked in white wine. For the main course, I had duck leg confit with leek pommery mash, nice enough although I've tasted better duck leg confit elsewhere, both in Singapore and France. My husband would have preferred more sauce for his lamb shank which came with crushed potatoes. The potatoes were neither here nor there and a disappointment, more vegetables would have been appreciated. For dessert I had grand marnier souffle. Although there was hardly a hint of the liqueur, the souffle was light and airy. The restaurant allows BYO at $30++ but we opted for a bottle of French red from the wine list.

Service was efficient despite a busy night. Our meal came to around $225 (including tips) which was expected for bistro-style food in Singapore. However, a 3-course set lunch would certainly represent better value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Du Vin also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Bistro Du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Du Vin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.