We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty amazing and worth the hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardens By The Bay

Gardens By The Bay
18 Marina Gardens Drive, Singapore 018953, Singapore (Marina Bay)
+65 6420 6848
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Gardens By The Bay like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$23*
and up
Ranked #2 of 564 things to do in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An integral part of Singapore's "City in a Garden" vision, Gardens by the Bay spans a total of 101 hectares of prime land at the heart of Singapore's new downtown - Marina Bay. Comprising three waterfront gardens - Bay South, Bay East and Bay Central - Gardens by the Bay will be a showcase of horticulture and garden artistry that will bring the world of plants to Singapore and present Singapore to the World.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Pretty amazing and worth the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If it was not for the sweltering heat, I could spend a lot more time at this place. From the massive "trees" to the 2 bio-dome, this attraction has a lot to offer, even if you are not a big "gardens" fan, I think the architectures of the domes and the "trees" are worth a detour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,060
    3,013
    610
    88
    32
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A new garden experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Easily reached by MRT Free entrance and disabled access. A five Sdollar charge for a golf buggy type trip around the sitewhich was huge

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice walk and a way to burn off all those Singapore calories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Go early or late when the sun is low in the sky and bring a hat. We went at 1pm and boy was it hot/humid.
Beautiful gardens to walk through, on Sundays there are a lot of Nanny's/maids sitting everywhere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic freebie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were so impressed by this free facility provided by Singapore for its people. Carefully laid out and cared for gardens. We visited in the middle of the day which was very hot. The skywalk between the tall Sky Trees was worthwhile at £5 but if you suffer from vertigo as I do - quite challenging! We were in 2 minds about doing the Domes which you have to pay extra for (£14 for the 2) but were glad we decided to do so. The Cloud Forest is absolutely stunning. Again this has walkways way up in the air so you need a bit of a head for heights. The Flower Dome we were less impressed with but the fee you pay covers both anyway.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW Australia
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Visit later in the day as it's cooler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I visited the gardens around lunch time and it was very hot, so returned later in the evening when it was much cooler.
I had wanted to take a ride on the garden cruiser, but it stopped running at 5pm and some days it stops at 4pm, so maybe plan your visit to ride the last cruiser, then visit the indoor conservatories while it is still warm, cost of both conservatories is $28 for an adult and $15 for a child.
The whole complex is lovely, and it is free to wander if you don't want to pay the entrance fee to the conservatories.
After wandering around I stopped at the Peach Garden Noodle Bar for a pineapple shaved ice which was delicious and very cooling on a warm evening. It cost just over $10 with the taxes, but was well worthwhile.
Before leaving I stopped in at the gift shop, the ladies in there were very helpful, and they sell some interesting little bits and pieces that you can't buy elsewhere. I purchased some of their tea, and some bottled Singapore sling, along with a gorgeous little hand made textile dog.
The gardens are definitely worth a visit if you are in the vicinity.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardens By The Bay also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Gardens By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardens By The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.