We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere and village experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Netheravon Road, Singapore 508502, Singapore (Formerly Changi Village Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
UpTo 35% off +WiFi +Tour
Ranked #55 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere and village experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

After two ten day stays in Dec 12 and Jan 13, I felt this hotel, service and surroundi ngs were really unique. Its a family experience quite different from mainstream Singapore, whether its shopping or sightseeing. The pool, coin laundry, breakfast buffet, free shuttle to CBP and nearby hawker food center were all very convenient. The service is also helpful and all at a price 20% lower than similar places.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent_Law, Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Travel_Buff_Asia,

Thank you for your review and support!

We are glad that you have choosen to stay with us during your last 2 trips to Singapore and appreciated our hotel's uniqueness. We sincerely hope to welcome you again and do contact me should you be planning your next trip to Singapore.

Best Regards,
Kent Law
Hotel Manager
kentlaw@fareast.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    728
    266
    91
    52
See reviews for
277
540
194
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is our preferred hotel for stopping over in Singapore every year. It's away from the hustle and bustle - very close to the airport but not at all noisy. Very pleasant coastal walk nearby and an excellent rooftop swimming pool good for lengths as well as relaxed paddling. The staff are all very, very friendly and helpful - the service is excellent throughout the hotel: the only minor quibble being that restaurant service can be a bit too attentive at times - no need to clear away plates etc immediately for instance. The look of the hotel is a little bit dated but a programme of maintenance work has been started (not sure exactly what it will entail) and the facilities are all very good. The rooms are comfortable and well-equipped apart from lacking a comfortable armchair, but there is a window seat. Good food in the hotel but there are also plenty of food stalls along the street in Changi village for a change of scene. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view or at the rear facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent_Law, Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear ChasA40,

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel!

Thank you for the continuous support and recognizing our team's service efforts. Indeed we are in process of our rejuvinating our property through refurbishment of our rooms as well as revamping some of our public spaces.

It's our pleasure to have you with us and feel free to contact me should you be planning your next Singapore visit and I'll be more than happy to prepare and personally welcome you back with us.

Best Regards,
Kent Law
Hotel Manager
kentlaw@fareast.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Being away from Singapore always makes me crave for hawker fare and it's warm humid weather.

Staying at the Changi village hotel has brought back so many memories.. At a fantastic location where you're just a stone throw away from the famous hawker centre and the iconic shophouses.

The rooms have been updated and their staff are charming. Although I wish the spa was less expensive so that I can frequent it more often.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Bryan at the desk provided great service. The man and woman (sorry, I didn't catch their names) in the Executive Club provided great service.

The rooms were 3-star, MAYBE 3-1/2 star but only because they provided bath robes and a nice, rainwater showerhead. The problem, though, is that there was no hot water in the shower! First time in my life that I took a cold shower. Sink (hot water) for shaving was fine. But no hot water in the shower.

Also, the carpet in the room - though clean - seemed worn/dated. The ceiling in the bathroom needed painting. And the (air conditioner) return vent needed cleaning badly. (Look up, people, look up!) Also, no hand towels. Two bath towels, two wash cloths. Maybe it was an oversight but there didn't appear to even be an area for hand towels. Plus, one, little piece of soap that I used to wash my face and with which to take a shower. Hmmmmm, maybe this hotel IS three-star, after all.

The bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean. But the overall feel was 3-1/2 star at best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent_Law, Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear crimsonkng,

Thank you for staying with us!

Your compliments to Bryan and the Club Team has been shared and they were delighted by your commendations. On the same note, would very much appreciate if you could write and share with me more on the details of your stay i.e room number and arrival/departure date in order for us to investigate on the points shared, take preventive measures and prevent reoccurence.

In addition, allow me to share with you that we are in process of planning our room refurbishment and at the same time reviewing our room amenities set-up.

Should you be planning your next trip to Singapore, please feel free to contact me and I'll be more than happy to assist.

Best Regards,
Kent Law
Hotel Manager
kentlaw@fareast.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Always stay @ Changi Village Hotel on my travels to and from the USA to my consulting assignments in Southeast Asia (about a dozen times a year). . . Typcially a one night duration. Excellent restaurant; clean rooms that are very functional for business travel; located in a beautiful section of Singapore within walking distance of parks and the waterfront; very pleasant, knowledgeable, and helpful staff. For example, I left my cell phone in a taxi coming to the hotel from the Singapore airport and the front desk attendant (Ricky) tracked it down by calling the taxi company and my phone to retrieve it . . . The cell phone was returned by the taxi driver to the hotel 2 hours later. A bit expensive, but conveniently located near the airport and waterfront in Singapore.

Room Tip: Try to get a location near the elevator . . . Otherwise, it can be a long walk to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent_Law, Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear PeteHall,

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel!

Thank you for the positive review and constant support. It's truly our pleasure to have you with us and happy to know that our team member Ricky has managed to assist in locating your cell phone.

Do contact me should you be planning your next trip to Singapore and I'll be more than happy to prepare for your arrival.

Best Regards,
Kent Law
Hotel Manager
kentlaw@fareast.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

great rooms spacious affordable and good service.
stayed for a night nice clean rooms, everything works
free wifi and all that you need for a short stay.
Staff was friendly allowed me to check in 3 hrs early :)
Great facilities, nothing to complain about
HIghly recommend it for a short stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent_Law, Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear MDSathe,

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel!

Thank you so much for the positive review and support. It's truly our pleasure to have you with us and happy to share that empowerment and flexibility at work by our team member has certainly contributed to your overall pleasant stay with us.

Do contact me should you be planning your next short break.

Best Regards,
Kent Law
Hotel Manager
kentlaw@fareast.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Singapore! The service was brilliant and the staff were very polite and helpful. The hotel was clean and I was given an upgrade in my room..which was very much appreciated after a long flight!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent_Law, Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Caz20122012,

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel and thank you for staying with us!

It's truly our pleasure to have you with us and thank you for your support. We take pride in rendering excellent service standards and be rest assured that we will continue to serve you to the best of our ability. Should you be planning your next holiday to Singpore, feel free to contact me.

Best Regards,
Kent Law
Hotel Manager
kentlaw@fareast.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality

Address: 1 Netheravon Road, Singapore 508502, Singapore (Formerly Changi Village Hotel )
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
#42 Family Hotel in Singapore
#50 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#50 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Changi offers a breath of fresh air from the other hotels in urban Singapore. The hotel is near the relatively untouched island of Pulau Ubin and the flora and fauna of the Chek Jawa Wetlands, which are both a bumboat ride away from Changi Ferry Terminal. Alternatively, guests can enjoy a leisurely stroll and enjoy the scenic Changi coastline.Located just 10 minutes away from Changi International Airport and 30-minute car ride from the Orchard shopping district, Village Hotel Changi is immensely popular with business travellers attending trade shows at the Singapore Expo, which is just 15 minutes away. With its proximity to the airport, the hotel is also a hot favourite with transit passengers who have a one or two-day stopover in our island nation.Village Hotel Changi's 380 rooms and 17 indoor and outdoor function venues make it ideal for both leisure and business travellers, with overseas meetings from foreign corporations, corporate retreats and team building sessions from local multinational corporations, weddings and solemnisations commonly held at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Changi By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.