We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Netheravon Road, Singapore 508502, Singapore (Formerly Changi Village Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35%off +Free Tour +WiFi
Ranked #58 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had high expectations of the hotel due to the highly professional manner they corrected a booking mistake I made on the internet. Mark, the young man who took my call from Australia had the matter sorted out and a reassuring email sent to me the next day. I was not disappointed. My wife and I found the same level of courtesy and helpfulness from other members of staff. The quality of our room and the food were almost added bonuses. We arrived separately and both found getting to the hotel by the shuttle easy. The sticker obtained at the Airport Ground Transport Desk puts one on a shuttle less than 50m left of the terminal entrance. We will come here again some time.

Room Tip: Try to get the executive rooms/suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear TezG_12

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel and thank you for your feedback.

I am happy to see that the team and especially Mark have been professional and courteous.
Glad to see the helpfulness permeated throughout the hotel staff with their interactions with you.
I will let them know they made a difference. And basically that is our aim: to do our very best to make our guests feel good.

Good that you found our shuttle service of use and that our rooms and food were up to your expectations.

Come back soon.
Best Regards
Brian Stampe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    659
    248
    84
    46
See reviews for
230
473
182
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here one night as we wanted to take a break from the city. Check in was fast and the front desk was able to accede to our request to change our room from 4th floor to the 7th floor. The room was clean and of average size. We went for the nearby boardwalk and beach.
After we had checked out and reached home, we realised that we had left a portable hard disk in the room. Ibrahim from the front desk was kind enough to arrange a courier to send it back to us, although we decided to return to the hotel to pick it up the next day. Overall, a nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear MagSing

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel and thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for choosing us as your staycation venue. Am glad to see we managed to accede to your requests in a quick and efficient manner.

Luckily, the portable hard disk was located and Ibrahim did a great job sending it back to you.
Come back soon and watch out for great deals on our stay far east website.

Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at Changi Village hotel for one night before and one night after our trip to Thailand. The hotel is situated on the coast around 20 minutes free shuttle ride from the airport. The village itself has many different restaurants, particularly specialising in all types of seafood. There's a fabulous boardwalk which takes you around the coast (we saw hornbills and kingfishers).
I'd recommend the deluxe rooms on 7th floor, also on our second visit back we accepted the offer of the 40 dollar Executive Package which allowed you a room upgrade, breakfast, and access to the executive lounge which was a lovely oasis with a variety of drinks and nibbles to feast on during the day (all included in the price). The hotel has 2 swimming pools, one on the top floor with great views over the ocean.
Overall we liked this hotel because it was a lovely escape from the hustle and bustle of the city (but with a free shuttle into the city at 10.30 am every morning!) with extremely clean rooms. In addition, the service by staff was wonderful, especially from Isfareed who kept my husband topped up with coffee in the executive lounge. The only problem was the fact we had only booked one night before our flight back home and would gladly have spent 2-3 nights there.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are nicer than superior rooms. 7th floor good. Also Executive package a good deal con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear lin40

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel and thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed the various aspects of Changi Village Hotel; from the free shuttle, to the two swimming pools to the fabulous walkabouts available around the hotel.
The birdlime is fabulous. If you are an early riser, step out to level 8 at 6:30 to watch the sunrise, breathe the crisp air as well as watch the birds come to life amongst the treetops.

And smart move on the upgrade to the lounge! Isfareed has done us proud.

We hope you can come back the next time and spend that extra day or two.

Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Never came across this hotel but we stayed 2 nites as hotels in the city were either full booked / overpriced. Despite its disadvantage location, which I hv to admit is really far from the center of activities , the hotel turned out to be a nice discovery as food was plenty plus there’s a small island nearby where you can get some reasonably priced delicious seafood. Overall , clean room, nice pool with great view and the service I must say is fantastic throughout as the staff were sincere, attentive and genuinely helpful which I think is what matters most and which make up its geographical lost ground .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear zqing

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel and thank you for your feedback.

Looks like there are silver linings in every dark cloud. Though the circumstances in your choosing of Changi was due to lack of availability elsewhere, we are glad to see you enjoyed the service, the amenities and the precinct which are what makes Changi Village different.

And if going to town is really necessary, it is only 35minutes away.

We are happy to see that everything came together to make up for the distance from the city.

Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the Changi Village Hotel for 2 weeks in November .
I was on a business trip but had a lot of time to spare for leisure as well.
I found all the staff and this also includes the room service personnel and people that made up my room everyday to be absolutely wonderful .They were very friendly and made my stay very special. I have stayed at this Hotel quite often over the years and have never had a bad experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear MelbourneHilly,

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel and thank you for your feedback.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all 2 weeks of it. I am sure you were all smiles as well to everyone. Sometimes service people need a little encouragement, even though it is their job and passion to serve well. A little smile and happiness reflected back goes a long way.

We look forward to having you again.

Best Regards
Brian Stampe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

From what I've read a lot of people have stayed in this hotel because of its proximity to Changi international airport. This was a factor for me but the main reason is it is situated in a part of Singapore that in many ways is a throwback to the pre 1975 independence. Stately government mansions surrounded by chalets, in as bushland setting with tropical birds & insects at the edge of the strait separating Malaysia & Singapore makes Changi a special place to me.

The hotel itself is large, modern with a terific rooftop pool with great views.

I hired a junior suite that whilst costing a little more included access to the Executive Club, a feature I use often in hotels in Asia. The club includes complimentary breakfast as well as a 5-7pm happy hour including all drinks free & a good selection of finger food that often suffices as dinner itself. My only criticism is the hours are too short as others I frequent stay open usually 3-4 hours.

All in all the staff were efficient & friendly, the food quite reasonable. The room was excellent, large & a great bathroom with a good size LCD TV & good free WiFi access (always free in Asia, Australian hotels take note!!). The complimentary hotel bus to all airline terminals was very useful also as Changi is also the nearest MRT station.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a large western style breakfast you may be disappointed. If you like some Asian styl br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear SWPacificWanderer

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel and thank you for your feedback.

We are glad that you have selected Changi for the very reason that makes our unique- our laid back precinct with the great outdoor atmosphere and out of city vibe.

Good that you booked our suite with club access. Noted on the cocktail hours which we will review.
Thank you again for choosing Changi Village Hotel

Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family is on transit to Australia and decided to stay at this hotel.I have to say that our stayed at this hotel was excellent. Apart from the hotel room seem a bit old (but well-maintain), it is well compensated by helpful and friendly hotel staff that providing great service during our stay. The swimming pool view is just absolutely amazing! You just have to be there to experience it! We will surely come to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Lionel

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel and thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and were thoroughly satisfied with the service of the team. Great that you took the time to chill out at the level 8 pool.

As for the rooms, we are doing our best to ensure the rooms are maintained on a regular and stringent basis. We will also be looking at a light refurbishment in the near future.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality

Address: 1 Netheravon Road, Singapore 508502, Singapore (Formerly Changi Village Hotel )
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#35 Business Hotel in Singapore
#48 Family Hotel in Singapore
#49 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#58 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Changi offers a breath of fresh air from the other hotels in urban Singapore. The hotel is near the relatively untouched island of Pulau Ubin and the flora and fauna of the Chek Jawa Wetlands, which are both a bumboat ride away from Changi Ferry Terminal. Alternatively, guests can enjoy a leisurely stroll and enjoy the scenic Changi coastline.Located just 10 minutes away from Changi International Airport and 30-minute car ride from the Orchard shopping district, Village Hotel Changi is immensely popular with business travellers attending trade shows at the Singapore Expo, which is just 15 minutes away. With its proximity to the airport, the hotel is also a hot favourite with transit passengers who have a one or two-day stopover in our island nation.Village Hotel Changi's 380 rooms and 17 indoor and outdoor function venues make it ideal for both leisure and business travellers, with overseas meetings from foreign corporations, corporate retreats and team building sessions from local multinational corporations, weddings and solemnisations commonly held at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Far East Hospitality Management Pte Ltd, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Changi By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.