We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the world best !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Andre

Restaurant Andre
41 Bukit Pasoh Road, Singapore 089855, Singapore
+65 6534 8880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 7,750 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant ANDRE is an eponymous 30 seats restaurant in Singapore recently ranked #38 World’s Best Restaurant by Restaurant Magazine as well as Best Restaurant in Singapore. Taiwanese - born Chef Andre Chiang developed a culinary principle based on how our capacity to taste food is influenced by our memory banks, including the personal experiences we acquire over time. Octaphilosophy – Unique, Texture, Memory, Pure, Terroir, Salt, South and Artisan represent the eight elements reflecting his roots in south of France. Chef Andre believes only on the freshest of seasonal produce and collaborates with the best artisans in the world. Crafting celebrated creations combining Mediterranean accents and French techniques, Chef André draw inspiration from the myriad selection of products he uses to design his menu every day.
Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One of the world best !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A well deserved reputation .
Enjoy a unique fine dinning experience in a small chic/casual restaurant, having a wonderful meal cooked by an extremely talented chef .
A must while you are in Singapore!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    24
    13
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Restaurant Andre is in the top 50 restaurants of the world and does not disappoint. From the gorgeous fit out, to the warm hospitality, excellent service and seriously creative food the experience is first class. Yes, it's expensive - but the work that goes into the food is worth every penny. They are also incredibly generous, surprising us with a second serve of our favourite dish, sharing their tips on best places to eat in Singapore, as well as a tour of the kitchen and the story behind the restaurant on our way out. If you like fine dining, or are eating your way through the top 50 restaurants in the world this is a great addition to your Singapore experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best fine dining in Singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Although top notch globally recognized chefs have set up branches here, I think Andre beats them all (at least in Singapore). The food is basically modern french with an asian accent and a touch of molecular influence. Like japanese restaurants, Andre builds his meals around the produce he can get flown in fresh from Japan and other places so the meal is "omakase" style (no a la carte menu) consisting of 8 courses. The foie gras "jelly" is excellent and a standard and I always enjoy the chicken skin - so thin, it's like a crisp. He has a wonderfully unique wine list full of burgundies and devoid of bordeaux blends. Ken, the sommelier, has great taste in wines so there is an interesting selection of alternatives to the usual names. Service is refined and largely low-key (although this may come across as being somewhat aloof depending on the server), which I feel is the overall mood of the restaurant. The food is nicely presented, some on plates which Andre made/designed himself. The nice thing - which my husband appreciates (as he has ignored whatever dress code there is) - is that you can come here in a nice pair of jeans and shirt and shouldn't feel out of place. Price-wise, I think a meal would come in around SGD300 per person excluding wine. Reservations are a must - the place only seats around 40.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solomon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely gastronomic pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was highly recommended by the hostel I was staying at and from what I know Chef Andre used to helm Jaan, the current number 1 restaurant on TripAdvisor. The food was absolutely amazing and no words can simply describe the pleasure of the food here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEST OF THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I've visited Andre three times and i do find that this is the best french restaurant i've been so far.
Highly recommended!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Andre also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Restaurant Andre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Andre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.