We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oriole Cafe – Sticky date pudding is a must-try!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriole Cafe & Bar

Oriole Cafe & Bar
96 Somerset Rd | #01-01 Pan Pacific Serviced Suites, Singapore 238163, Singapore
+65 6438-3843
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,694 of 7,399 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Southwestern
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Oriole Cafe – Sticky date pudding is a must-try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was at Somerset 313 a few days ago, and as dinner time approached, I decided to go Oriole Cafe as it was one of the few places that weren’t swarmed with people.

I’m a seafood lover, so I was having a hard time choosing between the Baked Seafood Linguine ($25) and the Garlic Prawn Risotto ($25) before finally deciding on the latter. My mom ordered the Beef Cheek Tagliatelle ($22), a dish that I’ve heard many rave reviews about on various food blogs. We also ordered a Sticky Date Pudding ($12) to share.

The prawn risotto definitely did not disappoint, with its fresh, succulent prawn grilled to a slight golden brown. The rice was very delicious, I liked that it wasn’t too soggy, but instead was very chewy. The rice fully absorbed the flavour of the rich prawn bisque. Don’t be misled by the photo, there weren’t just 4 grilled prawns in the risotto, Oriole is in fact quite generous with the prawns. There were more prawns chopped into smaller pieces mixed together with the rice.

But unfortunately, the beef tagliatelle was a big disappointment. The beef wasn’t well-seasoned, and had a slight strange odour. I suspect that the meat wasn’t that fresh. The tagliatelle was also slightly sticky instead of being chewy and firm. Overall, it definitely didn’t warrant the amount of praise I’ve seen online.

The sticky date pudding was a pleasant surprise, though. I didn’t expect the sticky date pudding here to be so tasty. The moist and soft pudding comes with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, and unlike the normal sticky date puddings out there, Oriole’s version has rum and raisin added to it. The scent and slight bitterness of the rum enhances the flavour of the pudding, with the taste of rum lingering in your mouth even after you’ve swallowed the pudding. Immensely satisfying and leaves you craving for more. Even as I’m typing this post I’m craving for it again. This is something I’m definitely coming back for!

Overall, it would be better if Oriole provided more choices for main course, because their current menu is severely lacking in variety. I’ll be back there for their sticky date pudding again, and next time I’ll also be sure to try their affogato that they are famous for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good coffee, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Coffee was great, not surpringly since the owner was Singapore's barista champion. I wold not have expected anything less and superb coffee. Food on the other hand was nothing spectacular. The fish and chips was good, crispy battered fish but not oily and tasty wedge cut chips seasoned with herbs. The portion size was Hugh. 4 decent chunks of snapper fillets. The braised beef cheeks tagliatelle was a disappointment though, despite some rave reviews over this dish. There was no depth in flavor in the sauce. In fact, the sauce was a tad watery. The pasta was cooked al dente but it fails in the sauce. What is pasta without a good sauce? Flat...if not or the pasta dish, I would have allotted the Oriole 4 stars. Prices were reasonable for its location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Love the Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Food that we tried:

Spicy Calamari- Really yummy and not as spicy as it looked.

They have ongoing happy hour deals from 5-8pm and 8pm onwards, 2 for $22 cocktails. I had the mimosa and red sangria (tasted weird..i guess it was because of the apricot brandy will not order this again.)

St. Louis Pork Ribs- Love this, it was a big portion too. Perfect with the sweet potato fries that came along with it.

Jamaican jerk chicken- Huge portion of baby chicken tighs (!?!) but was too dry for my friend's tastebuds.

Perfect for a date. Dim lightings, nice music and private space (that is if you chose the one by the mirror). Service was great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Quality coffee, great food, cozy ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

So far, Oriole is on the very top of my list. Dim Lights. Cozy feeling. Good Music. Nice Staff. Sumptuous Meal. Heavenly Dessert and Quality Coffee prepared by no less than a Barista Champion. Definitely worth another visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Decent portion and nice quality of food and coffee.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I came in on a sunday morning, ordered the full english breakfast and caffe latte. The coffee was not that bad except it seemed alittle over burnt. No compaints about the food quality, it was decent and nicely done.
A few years back i had tried their fish and chips and it was one of the best i had tried. Not sure if they are keeping the standards now though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriole Cafe & Bar also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Oriole Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriole Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.