We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of @ Little Red Dot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added @ Little Red Dot to your Saves list
@ Little Red Dot
125 lavender street, Singapore, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed 5 nights. Good value for money. Believed we were staying in a dorm, which sort of we're but they were infact 'pods', comfortable, could still get wifi, own plug socket within it and 2 lights, have a pull down blind for some privacy. Pods only 2 levels high so not need climb that high, but a little annoying when rucksack on the bottom and have forgotten something! Great thing is that despite the dorms being downstairs you can't hear any noise from social area upstairs

Was clean, very basic breakfast of fluorescent yellow cereal, tea and coffee and bread for toast. Desmond very sweet and helpful, recommend his walking tour just to see a perhaps more real Singapore, with opportunity to try typical Singapore breakfasts etc.

A little far out. Took over hr to get to zoo, a metro ride from centre, half an hr Ish to get to marina. Would recommend purchasing metro card - like uk Oyster card. Was fine for us as had 5days but if don't fancy the time spent travelling, consider somewhere closer

In all good for money in an expensive city

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    106
    42
    10
    3
See reviews for
6
42
100
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Little Red Dot was highly rated so I gave it a try. It may be fine for some but was a nightmare for me. My travelling companion broke down in tears on arrival and didn't sleep all night.
We arrived late about 11 pm and were shown to our rooms with little cubicles. Some have a privacy curtain - mine didn't. I thought I had booked in a 8 bed dorm but there were a lot more than 8 in that space. No towels or other toiletries were supplied. Breakfast was minimal.
This hostel may be fine for some single travelers but for 2 or more, a hotel is a much better option. Next visit to Singapore I will not be staying at the Little Red Dot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hostel was recommendable for other tourists since as they say, it is near the lavender station as well as farrer park station. Also, it included free breakfast and a clean and cozy bathroom. However, I have a few negative comments regarding the people who stay late at night revelling and drinking some beer. there were really nights that i can hardly sleep due to the noise from outside. and it's really not a good sight when you see sober people sleeping at the chairs outside in the morning when you wake up. Yes, there must be freedom amongst these people but the staff should limit the noise and drinks they give to the customers so that they can control and can't disturb others. Another thing was our malfunctioning aircon. We stayed for 6 days in this hostel and I can't really sleep properly because our aircon was not functioning well. For 5 nights, i would take off my shirt just to ease the heat i experience. Once these comments are addressed, i'm sure the hostel will improve and become better, maybe even the best in Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was a great place for overnight in Singapore. but there are plenty of steps upto reception and then down to the dorm which was unisex and a hole in the wall king single mattress with light reading light safe box aircon and lovely clean sheets, the $18 included breakfast. I recommend this backpackers for great value for money I would stay here again I'm over 60.

Room Tip: make sure You book the better dorm not the bunk dorm, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Little red dot was a great place to stay, easy to get to every where in Singapore and with an amazing and cheap food court next door. The rooms are clean and there is a great chill out area which makes it easy to meet people. The best thing about this hostel is Jonathan the friendliest guy who will go out of his way to make sure you get the most out of your time in Singapore with recommendations and taking you out to all the best spots!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights. My overall impression is good! Room is small but enough to sleep. It wasn't clean but higher standard than some other hotel. Didn't like the lighting very much but that didn't bother me much. Staff was amazing, helpful and friendly. Location is great close to subway which was great! I would recommend this hotel for a cheap accommodation in expensive Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here because of the reviews online. We where given one of the pod bunks (after advertising a double pod which there where none of) which where a really funky idea but not well executed. Our first night was fine, because there where little people staying, our next night we had people who didn't realise the slamming of the locker doors attached to the foot of every bed echoed through the length of the pods. When explained the noise by other people staying, they insisted to not listening. A few times this happened especially in the morning when people where leaving early. Outside our beds, there was no light except for around the corner in another corridor so we couldn't see when walking or needing into our bags without turning on pod lights.
The staff where fine, very basic communication, one word answers were given when I needed help making a phone call or wanting to go somewhere.
It was a good place to meet other travellers and travel around with but we ended up leaving and going to another hostel because of the noise and how expensive it was. We found a cheaper hostel just down the road which gave more for its money.
One of the staff slept on the roof of the pods which a lot of the people there at the time did not like, the other slept out on the satee in the comunal area.
The showers had hot water and the toilets where cleaned regularly, the beds once a week and a blanket was given which barely covered legs.

Room Tip: don't take a pod
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to @ Little Red Dot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ Little Red Dot

Address: 125 lavender street, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capsules At The Little Red Dot is conveniently located in the inner city area at Lavender Street, it is a 1-minute walk from the Malaysia/ Malacca Bus Terminal and a 5-7-minutes walk from Lavender MRT(Subway) Station. At The Little Red Dot is in walking distance to two tourism zones- Little India and Kampong Glam. You can even take a romantic walk to the Marina Bay Sands by the river in less than 30 mins.We provide both clean modern Private Single Capsule Beds, Lovers Private Capsules, Queen Sized Mezzanine Lofts and dorm beds which are all air conditioned At The Little Red Dot. Rates includes a free breakfast and if there are free walking tours on every Tuesday, Saturday and Sunday.You can enjoyed good discounted rates to Universal Studios, Night Safari, Singapore Flyer and many more attractions when you stay with us.Guests have access to a shared bathroom and toilet. In the common lounge, guests can play X-Box 360 games, watch award winning movies or use Wi-Fi, all for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your @ Little Red Dot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@ Little Red Dot Hotel Singapore
@ Little Red Dot Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage @ Little Red Dot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.