We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street to your Saves list
Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   38A Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059677, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for only 1 night at Rucksack Inn with a group of 7 people both men and women and aged from 23 to 52 earlier this month. All of us being first time hostel users. We were happy from the get go with the welcome email giving us clear directions from the airport to the hostel. May at reception was so friendly and helpful giving us ideas on what to do to maximize our sight seeing during our short time. The rooms were clean and and the air conditioner worked well. The bathrooms were also clean and we never had to wait to use any facilities. Loved the free all day tea/coffee and toast available in the communal kitchen. Wifi worked well throughout the whole hostel. Overall we enjoyed our first hostel experience. Thank you Rucksack Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    50
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
17
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I am a regular at Rucksack Inn. it is so clean, and the Staff are so friendly specially Apple May and Evelyn. The best thing about the hostel, its my second home to me. everything is so accessible, the MRT, Bars and Clubs, Shopping centers, and it is only a short trip to holiday goers to Sentosa Island

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent, even its a mixed dorm or private, it have comfortable sheets and pillows, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My family and myself stayed 2N @ Rucksack Inn, Hong Kong Street-Sg. Allocated in ideally location, walking distance to Chinatown, Clark Quay and etc. Facilitated by strong signal Wifi, quite at night although our room was facing road, safe, clean & dry shared bathrooms and washrooms as well. Special boxes assigned for shoes placement, 24 hrs breakfast with free breads and jams. The staffs is helpful, informatics and friendly. The red color as the hotel theme which deeper my impression. ~Backpack Heaven~

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you have a little budget, this is a good place to stay. Clean, quite and near to bus stops and trains. Absolutely, I love their free 24/7 bread, coffee, tea, butter and jam. Thank you for having us. We were family of ten and we were assigned to one big room. Very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My friends and I stayed in the quad room which could actually fit 6 persons as it has 2 bunk beds and 2 pull out beds. The A/C worked well, the Wi-Fi signal in the room was strong and it also had enough space for 4 persons to move around without bumping into each other. The shared bathrooms were always clean and I hardly saw anybody using them. Our room was facing the street but it was usually quiet at night.

The hostel does not have an elevator/lift therefore, having huge luggages could be a bit of a problem. Shoes are not allowed in the rooms and were left on assigned boxes near the lobby/reception area. You can bring house slippers of you do not want to walk barefoot. The free breakfast provided consisted of breads and various jams. The staff were friendly and helpful with giving directions and suggestions on the best way to go around the city.

The hostel is located near the Clarke Quay MTR, around 10 minutes by foot. Clarke Quay and Boat Quay were also within walking distance. The Jumbo Seafood Restaurant famous for their Chili Crabs can be found in Clarke Quay. There is also a convenience store across the hotel where you can get water and snacks, although we just usually refilled our water bottles from the hostel.

The design and over all aesthetics of the hostel would be perfect for backpackers/friends and even families who do not mind sharing bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed two nights. Even i was on a dorm, the facilities are perfect. Fast wifi, chance to cook if needed, good laundry service, awesome staff, safe... I can't expect nothing like that for the price I paid. I will considere Rucksack on my future business trips in Singapore as a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Best location! good service and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

This guesthouse is absolutely spotless clean! the staff is very friendly, for example, we really appreciated the gesture of offering a class of cold water upon arrival in a very hot day, even before asking anything about the check-in

The place is ideally located at a walking distance to the Marina, and the China Town

We will definitively go back there again in the future

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street

Address: 38A Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059677, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Inn 2 Hotel Singapore
Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.