We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers' Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street to your Saves list
Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   38A Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059677, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Backpackers' Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you have a little budget, this is a good place to stay. Clean, quite and near to bus stops and trains. Absolutely, I love their free 24/7 bread, coffee, tea, butter and jam. Thank you for having us. We were family of ten and we were assigned to one big room. Very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    55
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
19
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My friends and I stayed in the quad room which could actually fit 6 persons as it has 2 bunk beds and 2 pull out beds. The A/C worked well, the Wi-Fi signal in the room was strong and it also had enough space for 4 persons to move around without bumping into each other. The shared bathrooms were always clean and I hardly saw anybody using them. Our room was facing the street but it was usually quiet at night.

The hostel does not have an elevator/lift therefore, having huge luggages could be a bit of a problem. Shoes are not allowed in the rooms and were left on assigned boxes near the lobby/reception area. You can bring house slippers of you do not want to walk barefoot. The free breakfast provided consisted of breads and various jams. The staff were friendly and helpful with giving directions and suggestions on the best way to go around the city.

The hostel is located near the Clarke Quay MTR, around 10 minutes by foot. Clarke Quay and Boat Quay were also within walking distance. The Jumbo Seafood Restaurant famous for their Chili Crabs can be found in Clarke Quay. There is also a convenience store across the hotel where you can get water and snacks, although we just usually refilled our water bottles from the hostel.

The design and over all aesthetics of the hostel would be perfect for backpackers/friends and even families who do not mind sharing bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed two nights. Even i was on a dorm, the facilities are perfect. Fast wifi, chance to cook if needed, good laundry service, awesome staff, safe... I can't expect nothing like that for the price I paid. I will considere Rucksack on my future business trips in Singapore as a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Best location! good service and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

This guesthouse is absolutely spotless clean! the staff is very friendly, for example, we really appreciated the gesture of offering a class of cold water upon arrival in a very hot day, even before asking anything about the check-in

The place is ideally located at a walking distance to the Marina, and the China Town

We will definitively go back there again in the future

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed in a priavate room which was so small that I could touch 3 walls at once and could barely fit my case in. It was essentially a windowless corridor with a bed in it with the described tv missing.
The common areas were nice and spacious and well laid out but unfortunately although people where friendly, a lot actually lived here meaning it was not a place to make travelling companion friends at all, which is a shame.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice central location, tidy rooms, unfortunately a bit of karejokey going on late but it is city centre!free wwifi and friendly staff. If location is key its great little place. Their directions areperfect too. They give free hot tea and coffee and toast all day

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights at the Rucksack Inn@Hongkong Street.
After our booking it started with an excellent information mail how we could get from the airport to the hostel.
Honestly I was a little afraid, because it was my first time in a six bed dorm. But no worries! As we arrived we felt from the first "Welcome" on very comfortable.
The room wasn't that big but everything was really clean. There was the possibility to get breakfast all day long ( toast, peanutbutter, tea, coffee and water) for free!

The staff was superfriendly all the time and gave us good advices! They also offer cheaper tickest for the zoo etc.

Friends of us stayed at the Pan Pacific- of course you can't compare the rooms, but I'm pretty sure that the service is the same.

PS: If you have the choice stay in the room close to the reception!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street

Address: 38A Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059677, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Inn 2 Hotel Singapore
Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.