We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly clean, and greatly located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street to your Saves list
Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   38A Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059677, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly clean, and greatly located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

This guesthouse is absolutely spotless clean! the staff is very friendly, for example, we really appreciated the gesture of offering a class of cold water upon arrival in a very hot day, even before asking anything about the check-in

The place is ideally located at a walking distance to the Marina, and the China Town

We will definitively go back there again in the future

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    48
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
17
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed in a priavate room which was so small that I could touch 3 walls at once and could barely fit my case in. It was essentially a windowless corridor with a bed in it with the described tv missing.
The common areas were nice and spacious and well laid out but unfortunately although people where friendly, a lot actually lived here meaning it was not a place to make travelling companion friends at all, which is a shame.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice central location, tidy rooms, unfortunately a bit of karejokey going on late but it is city centre!free wwifi and friendly staff. If location is key its great little place. Their directions areperfect too. They give free hot tea and coffee and toast all day

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed four nights at the Rucksack Inn@Hongkong Street.
After our booking it started with an excellent information mail how we could get from the airport to the hostel.
Honestly I was a little afraid, because it was my first time in a six bed dorm. But no worries! As we arrived we felt from the first "Welcome" on very comfortable.
The room wasn't that big but everything was really clean. There was the possibility to get breakfast all day long ( toast, peanutbutter, tea, coffee and water) for free!

The staff was superfriendly all the time and gave us good advices! They also offer cheaper tickest for the zoo etc.

Friends of us stayed at the Pan Pacific- of course you can't compare the rooms, but I'm pretty sure that the service is the same.

PS: If you have the choice stay in the room close to the reception!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in Singapore for 3 nights before heading to Bali on our year long backpacking trip around the world. Even though Singapore is extremely expensive by SE Asia standards, The Rucksack Inn on Hong Kong Street was great value! Our beds were only $20 USD per night for a 10 bed mixed dorm.

The place was extremely clean, close to all the action and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. The place had all sorts of amenities to make us feel at home too.

Highly recommend if you're looking for an affordable hostel in Singapore.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

...I don't think you need much else from a hostel! The staff are lovely and very helpful. The price isn't too bad either for Singapore and it is in an excellent location close to the metro and lots of places to eat and drink. The hostel and facilities are also squeaky clean. Would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

May not be as squeaky clean as River City Inn, but it has everything I needed for a single night stay. Good security (equipped with password), comfortable and clean rooms, and super friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street

Address: 38A Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059677, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Inn 2 Hotel Singapore
Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.