We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great area to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street to your Saves list
Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   38A Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059677, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“great area to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

it was grand prix f1 weekend 2011,when we stay here.great friendly service,and advise.fast internet,.Our quad room was a bit tight,4mx4m,with 2 bunk beds,no window,but very sound proof,its was on the 3rd floor,staff did helps us with our bags to our room..bathroom was all new and very good.large kitchen and lounge area.5 mins walk to clarke quay mrt at central shopping centre.At central shops,outside there is the river quay,where you can take a boat ride tour or water taxi.We loved this area as there was heaps of resturants to eat at.So l can say rucksack inn 2 is at a very good location.Taxi ride from airport to rucksack cost for 4p was $20,00 SD,so cheap,but he was very rude.Taxi ride back to airport was better Only one negetive comment was it cost me $60.00 AUD extra to transfer a 1 nights deposit to their singapore bank from australia.Normally l would use website like wotif.etc,but everything was booked out and rucksack only deal with cash ,no credit card facility. l would highly recommend rucksack inn 2 to all ,who wishes to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    50
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
17
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

upon arriving at the ruck sack inn 2 my first thoughts after seeing the small front door and uncarpeted stairs was "this looks like a bad choice. Couldn't have been more wrong.
The staff were very helpfull. our double room was basic but spotlessly clean and very good air cond. The shared showers were also modern, clean and a strong hot shower. The position was perfect, close to Boat and Clark Keys. I'm close to 60 years of age and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Loved the feel of the hostel, value for money , clean , friendly ,helpful , adjustable and understanding staff. 24hrs breakfast was very helpful at odd times of the day & Centrally located. The rooms very small difficult to keep all luggage along with you but very very clean.
Overall loved the experience will come back and stay in singapore at same place and no where else. Thanks Rucksack Inn 2..:)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I would highly recommend to stay at Rucksack Inn 2 only because of its central location ( near China Town, Boat Quay, Clarke Quay), affordable clean and comfortable rooms and great service.

We stayed for 2 nights and we really enjoyed the hospitality of the place. We took a double room apartment with 1 extra bed..Rooms are small but good for the price we stayed.

There is 24hrs breakfast..thats cool..so if u are really hungry just grab some bread toast it and eat with peanut butter..or jam.

In addition ED provided us with good hints and tips and free maps to go in and around the town and low cost (Singapore is really expensive so his advice was very helpful).

In addition there is a nice lounge area where u can chill see TV play playstation..take a guitar play some melody or even chit chat with other backpackers.for their experience around singapore..

Great stay and highly recommendable!
Regards
Haresh Bhatia

Room Tip: Highly suggested to make a 1 complete room booking if u are in a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights here. The first night we had the room with window, and we can actually hear the loud noise from the bar downstairs. If you need a quiet room and you need to sleep before 2am, this may not suits you very well. On the second night, we switch to the other room, we can still hear the noise, but much lower and bearable.

I love how clean this place is and the facilities here are superb for a backpacker's standard.
- There are also few computers with internet access at the common area.
- Coffee and tea are self-service.
- Hair dryer available upon request.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

The staff are really friendly and approachable. They are there I think 24/7 and are very much helpful with all our inquiries (from reservation to front desk).

They are near to everything! Bus stop, train, mall, restos, etc.. They even offer a free walking tour (but was not able to attend). They offer breakfast and free wi-fi. Be sure to write on their "red wall"!

Since it's a hostel, bathroom is shared but if you're early enough you get the whole bathroom to yourself. hehehe..

Room Tip: Reserve early for more options. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We found Rucksack Inn to be a welcoming place, and the bunk beds were quite comfy in our triple room. We loved the free internet. There was a comfortable lounge which we did not use much as we were out mostly.

I found the staircase a tad tiresome, especially with luggage in hand. We got a load of clothes washed and dried in the machine, for which we paid eight bucks. I used the iron, but that was free. The place was kept quite clea. However, our private roomws not cleaned on a daily basis.

It was great making tea and sipping it on the huge dining table, chatting with other guests or the staff. The staff was very helpful with suggestions for itineraries and attractions, without imposing any advice we did not want.

My son simply loved the place, and wants to go back there again some day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street

Address: 38A Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059677, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Inn 2 Hotel Singapore
Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rucksack Inn @ Hong Kong Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.