We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for short stays” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 Cosy

Hotel 81 Cosy
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 81 Cosy to your Saves list
Hotel 81 Cosy
8 Jiak Chuan Road | Off Keong Siak Road, Singapore 089263, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 59 Singapore B&B and Inns
India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for short stays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a decent budget hotel in Chinatown, near the Outram Park MRT station, many restaurants, and the Chinatown visitor center. The rooms are basic and very compact, but in a relatively quiet and clean area. The bed covers are too small and come loose, and we always found ourselves sleeping on the plastic-covered mattress below. The front-desk people were very friendly and helpful. The WiFi is free but really slow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked for a one night stopover. It's in a great area on a good street, but the hotel itself was a big letdown. The room itself was ok, but the bathroom was dirty (I found a finger nail on the floor), there was lukewarm rather than hot water and the shower head was mounted too low on the wall for anyone over 5ft 6in. Oh and the aircon was switched permanently on with no option to adjust the temperature and spat drops of water at us all night long.

If you're going to spend 100SGD on a hotel you deserve better than this half-ar$ed attempt. I'd recommend paying another 20SGD on top of that and staying in one of the other hotels nearby, this one doesn't cut it and isn't even trying.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

london
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This place is just distinctly average. It lacks charm and style yet is clean enough and relatively comfortable - although for the price I would expect more and the photographs of the place certainly paint it's prettier side which I did not see. Not a bad location near to the main china town drag although taxi drivers struggled to find the place as it is on a little side road... So if heading here from the airport or train either bring a map or find some nearby landmarks to help them unless you want to drive around the neighbourhood (being charged for the extra miles) while they try to figure out where to go!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a one night stopover in Singapore on the way to India, just to get some rest before an early flight in the morning.
Given the price, I didn't have the highest expectations, but still - some basic maintenance is definitely needed there if they want to market this as a 'hotel' and expect guests to feel comfortable whilst staying there.
In the room the aircon was leaking onto the floor, and a towel had been placed underneath it on the ground. The shower had no curtain so the water went all over the bathroom, the tv channels wouldn't tune properly so we ended up turning it off rather than watch a fuzzy screen, and the bed sheet didnt fit on the mattress so i was basically laying directly on the plasticy mattress all night. The guys at the front desk were lovely, and helpful. They booked us taxis when we asked, and the free wifi password when asked. I didn't complain or ask to change rooms, because like I said we were there basically to rest and that's it, but overall the hotel needs some attention and general cleaning work done.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 81 Cosy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Cosy

Address: 8 Jiak Chuan Road | Off Keong Siak Road, Singapore 089263, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel 81 Cosy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Cosy Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 Cosy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.