We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   280A Lavender Street, Singapore 338800, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
pacific palms
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Couldn't recommend this hostel as the rooms are too basic for the cost. Position is only average still a $20 ride to the Airport. Staff are very friendly but for the cost I think I would go to a Hotel, particularly if there are 2 of you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    109
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
11
55
78
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed there for two nights on the way from Australia to Europe. Good location between the airport and the inner city. The rooms are basic, but clean and the breakfast is free and good. The guys there help you with travel tips and it has a nice roof top terace.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Okay, the rooms may feel a little claustrophobic, but they are neat and clean, as well as the showers & toilets. Staff is really friendly and the aircon's are doing their job to keep the place cool. Location is good, with two metro stations a 10 min walk away. Recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Location was great, breakfast was good and included. Beds were in small rooms and slightly cramped, but not the worst, Air con worked and the atmosphere was good but not a party scene. The staff helped us figure out what to do in my limited time in singapore. There is a great hawker market across the street with cheap food late into the night. not a must but definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms, though more expensive give you more personal space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hostel are the friendliest and most helpful staff we have had so far on our trip whether hotel or hostel. They make a point to learn your name, and just make sure your stay is as good as possible. The beds are comfy and the shower and toilets are perfectly good, and clean. The location is really good too, between two MRT stations right in the centre with a great cheap food hall opposite. Would definitely recommend I you want somewhere good to stay in Singapore and you are on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a hotel reserved in Singapore for 3 nights and then decided to arrive 2 nights earlier. Our reserved hotel did not have availability for the additional nights so we stayed in the Green Kiwi for two nights. The staff were so friendly and helpful. They gave us suggestions of things to do and places to eat. We had an entire 6 bed room for our family. The room is small but it's fine for a few days. We never had to wait in line for the showers or bathroom. After our entire stay in Singapore we wished we would have stayed at Green Kiwi the entire time. Great place to stay in Singapore if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Absolute rubbish. Staying at this place drastically tarnished my stay in Singapore. I opted to stay at this accommodation over the Fragrance Hotel which is normally more expensive but had a cheap offer. I chose the kiwi because of its glowing advertising (which turned out to be vastly different to reality). The mattress on the bunk bed was so thin I felt every spring dig into my back.
I'm in agony, my neck and back is so sore that I can barely move from the pain. The line up for the showers (all four of them shared between +30 guests) was as long as the wait for the Jurassic Park ride at Universal Studios. During one of those waits, I heard the person inside the cubicle blowing his nose furiously for several minutes. After he left and I went in there was the remains of what he had blown out of his nose all over the walls and floor of the shower. I understand that this is not the hostel's fault but this is the type of guests who frequent this establishment. The shower pressure was okay if only one shower was on, however once three or four were going it trickled to droplets. The floor of the toilets was constantly soaked requiring the need for thongs at all times. One of the staff sold us tickets to the Night Safari and gave us the incorrect pick up address, leaving us to run several blocks in order to find the bus. Also mid afternoon, my partner was woken up by staff demanding that she vacates the room for ten minutes so they could inspect the air-conditioner (without any prior notice). The roof top garden is a shambles- overgrown with broken furniture. Breakfast (two pieces of toast, some fruit and ordinary tea/coffee) wasn't too bad. The hostel is located in between two MRT stations, closest one being about 5 minute walk so it's fairly handy. If you're a backpacker on a tight budget and want to live in squalor then this place is for you. If you want to stay at a regular standard of living then spring for something a lot nicer because this place is garbage. 

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel

Address: 280A Lavender Street, Singapore 338800, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a small, relaxed & friendly place to stay in Singapore, in the central city area convenient to public transport and getting around, this is it! We are a small laid back place to stay where you'll some meet great people and get some sleep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hotel Singapore
The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.