We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely small rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Porcelain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Porcelain Hotel to your Saves list
The Porcelain Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   48 Mosque Street, Singapore 059526, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 59 Singapore B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Extremely small rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

-clean
-quiet
-cozy
-very small room
-free wifi up to 2 devices
-tight
-nowhere to put clothes
-flat screen tv with less than 10 channels
-electrical sockets need adapter for north american plugs
-overall average stay
-price is a little expensive for a unbelievably tiny room
-very near chinatown station mrt
-see through bathroom, no privacy

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    131
    165
    69
    54
See reviews for
35
151
82
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here with my husband as part of our honeymoon. It was perfectly situated a few minutes walk from the underground (in between 2 stations in fact) but if you are willing to walk for a while you can walk to clarkes quay etc which was fine at night but you may want to get the underground in the day due to the heat.

the rooms are very snug and compact but well thought out. you can literally pace the entire room in 3 steps. however within the small space they have managed to fit a bathroom/ wetroom with a huge shower all of which is enclosed by frosted glass a dressing table with fridge and tea/ coffee tray and a double bed underneath which you can store your suitcases. Everything is stylishly done giving a boutique/ kooky style effect and the toiletries and complimentary water are all branded to match the hotel theme.

The only thing i missed was a full length mirror and maybe somewhere to be able to hang a few outfits??

Staff were lovely and helpful the room was comfy, clean and pleasant.

There is no restaurant however you are surrounded by china town which offers many food outlets and the main part of the city is not far away by any means.

I can't understand why some people have complained about this place. it was one of the cheapest hotels we could find any cheaper and you would be in a hostel which are value for money (having done this previously) but no where near as nice as staying at the porcelain.


this would be an ideal place if you want to see singapore on a bit of a budget but still want some luxury or for someone on a short business trip. just make sure you are extremely comfortable with whoever you share your room as you will be very close!

All in all we found this hotel the perfect base and didn't mind the relatively short distance to the waterfront. there is still a lot to explore around the hotel if you can't be bothered with the walk/ tube and it was a nice airconditioned comfy and clean room to come back to every night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The most cramp Hotel I have ever stayed.
If you occupy a single room a person of even my height (5' 4") cannot stretch his arms.
Absolutely No provision of any restaurant even for emergency purposes.
Lobbies are so dark and narrow that 2 person cannot cross each other & are sure to bang each other head on.
Absolute no value for money!!!
Plz do not opt for this Hotel even if it is available free of cost.

Room Tip: There are NO GOOD room at all. So I recomend plz avoid this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

As soon as you enter you are met with the smell of dampness in the air. We stayed in an executive room thinking it would be at least spacious enough for two people, but it barely was. The rooms are seriously small. Dont be fooled by the clever photography work they are extremely small. Because they are so small the walls are very thin and you can hear all coming and goings throughout the night and early morning.
At first it appeared to be quite clean, upon closer inspection the bathroom had mould and soap scum - this progressively got worse for the duration of the stay, there is not exhaust fan in the bathroom so no where for the damp to escape. The curtains, back of the door and even the pillows underneath the pillow case had mould growing on them. The keep the damp out of the room the air conditioning needs to be at a constant low temp of the damp returns- but when you leave your room, as most hotel rooms do, the power goes off. So you are welcomed back to a bed that feels wet.
The duration of our stay, a little over a week, the counters and basin were not wiped clean and the bed sheets etc were never changed for new clean ones. The carpet what little there was of it did not appear to be vacuum yet you can hear them vacuuming outside in the hallways.
They complained to us when we requested extra towels.
They returned the laundry clothing we had done with missing items and then once the items were found tried to charge us extra when it was already billed.
Noticed some of the cleaning staff working around with no shoes on - i dont know what the OHS standard is but usually you must be wearing at least some type of footwear no bare feet.
Was a very poor experience and the only thing that gives this hotel a good point is free wifi and internet and it is close to the MRT but i would never recommend this place or stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Nonthaburi, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I've a good 4 nights here in Singapore , Porcelain hotel is a good place to stay with the central location of everything like .. eating / MRT / market / museum and any other travel attraction places. I've booked Superior room but when I arrived , Hotel staff told me about room upgrade promotion from Superior to Deluxe room with reasonable price. So I decided to upgrade.
Deluxe room have a beautiful white design and decorate, Very well designed use of space. Larger than superior room by twice a size. I suggest you should upgrade it. Room was very clean. This hotel is non-smoking hotel so room smell is really clean. Free-wifi internet is pretty fast and stable. Hotel staff is helpful and service-mind.
By the way , Superior room is really small and you maybe get some noisy sounds from neighbor room.
If you looking for hotel located in a central of Singapore with reasonable price. Don't miss this place. :))

Room Tip: Upgrade to Deluxe room if possible , You will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

First time to stay in a hotel this part of Singapore. Not too easy to find this hotel along Mosque Road at night. Entrance and hallways are too dim. Room I had was quite small and had no toilet and bathroom partition though bed is comfortable. What I like is the location of this hotel because it is few steps away from MRT Chinatown station and restaurants and flea market are nearby as well. Had no problem walking late at night.

Room Tip: Not really cheap hotel in this part of Singapore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Looking to stay in Chinatown? This is a good place.

Central to eating, shopping, nightlife, public transportation.

The room was clean and adequate, but super super small. And we didn't even get the smallest room. Wifi worked fine. There is a in-room safe, fridge with free water bottles, and typical amenities.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Address: 48 Mosque Street, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Porcelain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.