We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singapore Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Porcelain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Porcelain Hotel to your Saves list
The Porcelain Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   48 Mosque Street, Singapore 059526, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 59 Singapore B&B and Inns
Australind, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Singapore Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Porcelain Hotel Singapore is gorgeous on the outside entrance & reception area also nice however rooms are disgustingly small. The Hotel is very over priced for what you get rooms are 9-12 sq m due to its expensive location would not ever book a Hotel again without checking room sizes prices are over the top for what your getting & nowhere to have a meal or drink??? On the upside the location is terrific walking distance to everything

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    129
    165
    69
    54
See reviews for
35
151
82
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Initially booked the Superior Twin room. Yes, the rooms are small, as stated on their website, so no shock horror. However upon arriving, the room was not clean and was occupied by insects coming through the wood work. The rooms are very darkly lit but modern and to their credit the use of space is very well designed.

After a lot of complaining and refusing to stay, we were eventually moved into the Premier room. A lot more spacious, compared to the standard twin. But it was quite obvious cleanliness is not the hotel's top priority.

It is rather a shame as the hotel is situated in the heart of China town and the Metro is very close , so the location is great. Therefore, if you are not so worried about space and cleanliness, then this is the place for you. If you are, then do spend the extra money and stay a little further out of town.

Staff were helpful and quick to resolve issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is situated in the hart of China Town. At arrival we were issued à room without à window which made you feel totaly locked up and claustrofobic,so we requested à room at the steet side with à window.
The staff were quite wiiling to honour our request.This room too,allthough clean and the bed being comfortable,was very narrow, not luxurieus at all. No chairs to sit on to relax in your room except to sit on the bed .
The bathroom and shower was goed and comforting after à humid day in the city.
A two night stay here is OK but I guess that this hotel is more for younger travellers.

Room Tip: Of you have a longer stay in this hotel, request à room with à window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very small single room but it did the trick.

My room was without any windows and pitch black-great to sleep in with jet lag but difficult to adjust and prep to go out and face the day...

Also despite the 150additional deposit if smoke in room,it didn't deter previous occupant-a real struggle to sleep/live in when couldn't clear the smoke smell out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were actually shocked by the size of the room while entering and then confused as to how and where to keep our things. Really really small room, rather I should say it felt as a 'box' rather than a room. The color code was a depressing combination of black and blue. However, the bed was large and comfortable, staff were nice and the hotel was strategically located....very near to the ChinaTown MRT and host of other shops and eateries..all within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I spent few nights in this hotel,it's not a very convenient hotel if you like spending time in your hotel room. Rooms are stringent.
The hotel ambiance and decor is interesting but choosing dark colour for the smallest room in the hotel makes you feel more claustrophobic!
Rooms are extremely small.
And if you are a traveller with lots of luggages, DO NOT UPGRADE your room unless you take the Premier one which I assume,have bigger space. I stayed in a Deluxe room(the cheapest) when I first arrived, and I had at least few space to put some my suitcases below the bed and/or below the table. I decided to upgrade to Deluxe to get more space but also for the comfort of the white colour ambiance of the room. What was my disappointment when I realised that I do not even have space below my bed and not even a study table.
Corridors are labyrinths!you could get lost easily!
Overall, the staff are quite nice but they need more staff I think. Having a porter is very important and which they do not have.

Room Tip: Do not upgrade from Superior to Deluxe. Space is even smaller in the Deluxe, you will just waste mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are quite small compared to a regular hotel room. no space to walk around the room. bathroom is approximately 4 feet from the bed and beside the door. bathroom door did not fully close. no shower curtain to separate the shower from the toilet so when you take a shower the entire bathroom gets wet. room has NO windows. we hear some kind of drilling on the floor above us every night. we can also hear the couple next door having sex.

However, the bed was big and very comfortable. interiors was all black and modern. i love the ceiling lights which had the pattern of a blue porcelain plate. location is within chinatown and a few minutes walk to the chinatown mrt station. lots of restaurants in the area.

i can.t complain more since we got the room for $99 per night only. regular rate is $250 for a standard double

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Address: 48 Mosque Street, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Porcelain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.