We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Porcelain Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Porcelain Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Porcelain Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   48 Mosque Street, Singapore 059526, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 59 Singapore B&B and Inns
Singapore
1 review
“Hmm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very small single room but it did the trick.

My room was without any windows and pitch black-great to sleep in with jet lag but difficult to adjust and prep to go out and face the day...

Also despite the 150additional deposit if smoke in room,it didn't deter previous occupant-a real struggle to sleep/live in when couldn't clear the smoke smell out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    117
    138
    65
    51
See reviews for
29
122
75
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were actually shocked by the size of the room while entering and then confused as to how and where to keep our things. Really really small room, rather I should say it felt as a 'box' rather than a room. The color code was a depressing combination of black and blue. However, the bed was large and comfortable, staff were nice and the hotel was strategically located....very near to the ChinaTown MRT and host of other shops and eateries..all within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I spent few nights in this hotel,it's not a very convenient hotel if you like spending time in your hotel room. Rooms are stringent.
The hotel ambiance and decor is interesting but choosing dark colour for the smallest room in the hotel makes you feel more claustrophobic!
Rooms are extremely small.
And if you are a traveller with lots of luggages, DO NOT UPGRADE your room unless you take the Premier one which I assume,have bigger space. I stayed in a Deluxe room(the cheapest) when I first arrived, and I had at least few space to put some my suitcases below the bed and/or below the table. I decided to upgrade to Deluxe to get more space but also for the comfort of the white colour ambiance of the room. What was my disappointment when I realised that I do not even have space below my bed and not even a study table.
Corridors are labyrinths!you could get lost easily!
Overall, the staff are quite nice but they need more staff I think. Having a porter is very important and which they do not have.

Room Tip: Do not upgrade from Superior to Deluxe. Space is even smaller in the Deluxe, you will just waste mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are quite small compared to a regular hotel room. no space to walk around the room. bathroom is approximately 4 feet from the bed and beside the door. bathroom door did not fully close. no shower curtain to separate the shower from the toilet so when you take a shower the entire bathroom gets wet. room has NO windows. we hear some kind of drilling on the floor above us every night. we can also hear the couple next door having sex.

However, the bed was big and very comfortable. interiors was all black and modern. i love the ceiling lights which had the pattern of a blue porcelain plate. location is within chinatown and a few minutes walk to the chinatown mrt station. lots of restaurants in the area.

i can.t complain more since we got the room for $99 per night only. regular rate is $250 for a standard double

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, and we like for the location which is strategic. We can find a lot of restaurants, souvenirs shops, money changer, malls, mrt just walk few metres from the hotel.

But what impress us about this hotel is almost of the wall is porcelain. And what we really shocked was the room, which is tiny (smaller than small). Not recommended for family with children, eventhough we're not tKing the smallest room. It's just about 14 metre square. But it really organized and designed for small room.

The bad is the sound proofing is sucks, you can hear the sound coming from the side room or the alley.

Room Tip: Stay here if you really need the location. Don't stay in the room that view to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights altogether and enjoyed our time here. We booked for 2 nights via booking.com and paid for a superior room but got upgraded to an executive room which was nice plus it was away from all the other rooms and had a little seating area outside :) very modern bathroom, the rooms are small but if you just read the measurements online its obvious. When we asked to stay for a further 3 nights we were told we would have to move rooms and book via booking.com again if we wanted the same rate as they couldnt match it, DO NOT just turn up and book a room, its so much more expensive! Our new room was a superior which was smaller and with the dark Blue and Black colours it was dark but again it clearly shows this on the pictures all over the internet so its daft to complain about the size of the rooms etc Our room was cleaned everyday and its such a great location, chinatown is great and the MRT is minutes away. We would stay here again, it is expensive but its Singapore, your not going to get much cheaper unless you book a hostel and share a bathroom.

Room Tip: If you want space book an exec room etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

On the positive side: location, staff, clean, and the price. On the down side, pretty dark, no window in certain room and moreover, room size. FYI, a deluxe room is about 6 sqm, bathroom included. So not long for stays more than two nights!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Address: 48 Mosque Street, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Porcelain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.