We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiniest rooms, and noisy as hell!Building works next door means you'll have to endure drilling sounds from 9am prompt!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Porcelain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Porcelain Hotel to your Saves list
The Porcelain Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   48 Mosque Street, Singapore 059526, Singapore (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 67 Singapore B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tiniest rooms, and noisy as hell!Building works next door means you'll have to endure drilling sounds from 9am prompt!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here for one week as we recently moved to Singapore and were looking for accommodation- so we picked this hotel purely for the location. 2 mins walk to Chinatown MRT is a winner when the weather is so humind!

Our first problem was that we could just about get into our room! Our suitcases were big- but not oversized! And we're small people- so all week we were having to jump over our suitcases, as there simply was no floor space! Though there is room under the bed to place your luggage, it's so much effort to have to drag it out everytime you need something!

First night, the bed was pretty comfortable and I would say we had a good sleep, until the fire alarm went off at 6am and continued to do so for 10 minutes... Then you had announcements going off for the next 20 minutes saying it was a false alarm! It was seriously annoying! Then at 8.30, there was hammering from next door! It literally sounded like someone was banging a nail into your head- it was so close! Then the drilling started at 9am! And it will go on for most of the afternoon. Basically, next door have building works.... And by the looks of things, they have just started- so the noise will be there for some time to come! We tried to change rooms , but it was fully booked! By the third day, we managed to move rooms because it was simply unbearable! But opposite the hotel seems to be a bar that suddenly has thumping music from midnight onwards!!!

If you want a good nights sleep- Porcelain is not the place to go!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    150
    186
    73
    54
See reviews for
39
165
94
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a night, as I was shifting places and could only move in my new apartment the following day.

First of all, I just want to say I am not a very picky person when it comes to hotel, and I have a certain experience judging hotels in Asia. I do not post negative comments for the sake of it like many people do.

The hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown, which is convenient if you wish to reach the city of the party district (clark quay, walkable distance).

I paid 150 SGD for a night and was expecting a pretty decent room and environment (hotels in Singapore offer the best value for $). Bummer.

The room was exactly the size of a king size bed, plus half a meter in length. And I am not exaggerating! Hardly bigger than a closet! The attached bathroom was also small. Not for the claustrophobic...

The crowd at the hotel was mostly made of china people, and boy were they loud! They kept banging their room doors all night long, and the rooms are not sound proof. Add this to the shouts of the girls who were with them (not too sure if they were prostitutes, but most likely) and the music, I had the worse night ever.

I was truly disappointed and would not recommend this place to anyone. This place is a dump wrapped in a nice paper gift. There are tons of better options in Singapore within the same price range. Too bad they were fully booked on that day.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights and already read the reviews on TA so was prepared for some of the negatives. Firstly the location was excellent on a quiet street in Chinatown. It was close to the MRT and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. There is also an excellent 24 hour internet cafe across the street which was dirt cheap, $2 per hour. The bedroom was indeed tiny, but the room was well designed, I managed to store my luggage (a huge backpack, wheelie suitcase and daysack) quite easily under the bed. The bathroom had the glass doors and window as described by others in TA, however a black smoked effect was on the glass, this could be a retrofit, based on negative comments. There was a 32" tv on the end of the bed, however the channels were a bit limited I think there was 8 in total a mixture of english and oriental language. Overall this was good value for money, I paid US$110 per night which was pretty good compared to other hotels. However if you want more room you will have to bite the bullet and pay more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Looks so nice from the outside. Thats it. Inside is a dungeon thats dimly lit and not many rooms even have a window. The room is the size of a jail cell. There is NO space for your luggage and the toilet is see through. I seriously do not recommend this place. We left immediately and the THIEVING staff still charged my credit card for full stay. I have reported them for fraud. So stay away from this crap or you will be sorry.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The hotel rates was relatively cheap compared with others of same ratings, good location within walking distance to Chinatown MRT; beautifully renovated antique building in white painting; free local telephone calls and good wifi connection; Sharp LCD TV and hotel guests are mainly young and chic foreign travelors...

However, the room size is surprisingly small, navy blue wall and black tiles toilet make it look even smaller; also glass-walled bathroom is just next to the bed; there was noise from old Chinese music and cars late at night so better wear ear plugs before bed..

In summary, I don't mind coming again if I sleep with my earplugs, cause the hotel rates is quite attractive...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The ingenious design of this space delighted us. The room we had on the first floor had a LOT of windows. The entry hall of out T shaped room had window either side, to the street and to an internal air well, the bed alcove formed one half of the T, and had a high window on each side, and the bathroom also had a window to the air well. The bed was comfortable, bathroom a good size with a great shower, air con worked well, and there was plenty of storage. noise was not a problem.
A feature which might bother some was that we had to climb into the bed over the end, as it was wall- to- wall. And my pet hotel frustration - a doona with no top sheet! In Singapore, I ask you!
Reception staff were helpful, and luggage storage was provided after we checked out.
Access from the airport via metro to Chinatown worked well - the ,metro does stop running before midnight. There are of course plenty of cheap good late night eating options.

Room Tip: Ask for a window room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Rooms are very small because the building is a conservation shophouse. Select rooms with window as there are those without window. If you have the rooms facing the front of the building, it might get a little noisy at night when the road cleaners come. Stay on 3rd floor and above only. Check room size before booking as there are variations. Hotel is clean and there is free bottled water ,toiletries and wi-fi. Right next to Chinatown MRT with convenient 24 hour local food stalls everywhere and a Coffeebean & Tealeaf and McDonalds 5 min away. Recommended for short stays because of room size. Get a slice of local life in the midst of Chinatown.

Room Tip: Book the 3rd floor and upwards for best stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Address: 48 Mosque Street, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Porcelain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.