We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily forgettable food but nice view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salt grill & Sky bar

Salt grill & Sky bar
2 Orchard Turn | Level 55 & 56 ION Orchard, Singapore, Singapore (Orchard Road)
+65 6592 5118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #395 of 7,256 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $40 - $120
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Description: Salt grill & Sky bar by celebrity chef-restaurateur Luke Mangan presents a refreshed look with an added exclusive dining area on the 56th floor for diners seeking utmost privacy as well as a brand new bar on the mezzanine floor. The kitchen of the all-day restaurant is helmed by recently-appointed Chef Mathew Leighton, the youngest Executive Chef in the group. Serving modern Australian cuisine and New World Wines, diners can enjoy stunning views of Singapore amidst a modern-chic setting coupled with unparalleled service.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Easily forgettable food but nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Sat at a table for two near the window panels. Was surprised how close the tables were. I could hear the conversations from the next table.

Ordered executive set lunch for two. Around $50 for entree and mains. It was very reasonably priced for an otherwise expensive ala carte menu around $70-80 per main.

Entree was a salmon sashimi dish. First bite was too salty due to uneven seasoning. Otherwise, it was an ok sashimi dish. My partner had an omelette with crab meat that reminded me of the taste of dried oysters.

For mains, I had a fish with long beans. I would have preferred asparagus instead of long beans. Honestly, nothing special about this dish. Something that my MIL cooks at home every other day and I regretted ordering it. My partner had steak. It was unevenly cooked and lack the juiciness of a medium rare steak.

The best servings were the sides we ordered - fries and mushrooms. The mushrooms were juciy and delicious. Serving was generous. Fries were crispy and evenly seasoned.

It is a nice place to bring a date but find the food not up to the standards of what they are charging. For an executive lunch, it is ok. But I won't be back for dinner if this is the quality of food they are serving for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    76
    46
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Never fail.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have eaten at several of Luke's restaurants and this one exceptional as it had the great service, food and a view to die for, 55 floors up.

Not to be missed for that special occasion or just for the sake of it...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a table of 10 (all Aussies) to celebrate a special occasion.
We decided on the set meal which I have to say was lovely. The food was delicious and presentation was exactly what you would expect from a world class restaurant
The service was very good, ambience was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience
The view from our table was amazing looking over Singapore, would definitely recommend this restaurant for any occasion especially a special event!
Well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sweet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

My second visit - first for dinner - affirmed my belief that this is one of the best dining experiences in Singapore. The views are stunning, the service informed and attentive, the portions generous and the flavors sublime.

Go easy on the tapas if you want to do justice to the main course - two tapas for two is just right. Try to keep place for some dessert - they let you share.

The only disappointment was the bar. We got there about 20 minutes ahead of time and got tucked away into this left of centre table with a nothing-by-nothing view. The walk up ramp could have accommodated a few tables - dunno. But it was not much of a dampner fortunately. The wine list kinda made up for the lack of a view too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alasdair F, General Manager at Salt grill & Sky bar, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, it's great to hear you enjoyed yourself, and it's fantastic to hear that we got it right for you.

The tapas are definitely substantial, they're the same size as the entrees, we simply call them tapas because they're easier to share. And yes I'd agree, two tapas for two if you're moving on to main course and dessert sounds perfect.

We'd love to have tables on the ramp, but unfortunately we're not allowed, and I would guess that anybody sitting on the ramp might be uncomfortable with the way that guests wander up and down and often pause for viewing, or photos. I like the idea though!

I'm sorry about the table in the bar, the space is cosy with just nine tables. Almost all of the tables are either high tables looking toward Marina Bay, or lower tables that overlook the restaurant and the south west view. There's one table that is on the edge of the bar and it's definitely for last resort use.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Salt grill & Sky bar soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Sky View Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I tried the executive lunch to celebrate his birthday.
The view was great and I am pleased we paid the extra $20 to secure a window seat.
The setting and service was good and the food first rate. To start, we had the salad of butter lettuce with shaved onions, roast walnuts and Roquefort (I really liked the grated blue cheese) plus the chargrilled chorizo, red pepper salsa and fresh buffalo mozzarella.
For our main course we had the penne pasta with almond pesto, parmesan and feta (this was very good and we will try something similar at home) and the beef tenderloin.
Finally we managed to squeeze in the hazelnut cake with burnt butter ice cream for dessert which was delicious.
I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions as it is expensive but on the occasion we visited, it was worth it for the quality of the food and the great view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt grill & Sky bar also viewed

 

Been to Salt grill & Sky bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt grill & Sky bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.