We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Regis Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Regis Singapore to your Saves list
Park Regis Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Merchant Road, Singapore 058268, Singapore (The Quays)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed 10 days at the Park Regis and found the location to be very good. Close to China Town, Clark Quay and the underground. The room itself was an average hotel room and strongly agree with other reviewers that free internet access is needed. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A room with a view over Clark Quay is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear AustraliaMonty,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Park Regis Singapore and taking the time to provide us your valuable feedback.

We are delighted to receive your gracious compliments of our team member being friendly and helpful and will certainly share this with the team.

We have also taken note of your constructive feedback on offering of free WIFI. It is our hotel’s vision to create exceptional experiences for our guests; therefore please rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed for continuous improvement of our products and services to meet our guest’s needs and expectations.

Once again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to review our products and services and we look forward to welcome you back to the Park Regis Singapore soon.

Best Regards,

Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    555
    149
    35
    18
See reviews for
109
471
105
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed two nights here before heading to Kuala Lumpur and by sheer dis-organisation found ourselves right in the heart of the New Year action without any planning.

The hotel is across the road from Clarke Quay and is approximately 30 minutes by taxi from the airport. We booked the entry level standard room and it was more than adequate for our needs, however if you have an extra $50-100 per night then you should consider upgrading to a larger room. The hotel looks like it has recently been renovated as the interior design and fittings are very modern and would not look out of place in a hip coffee table book of boutique hotels. The bathroom is an interesting open plan/walk-in concept (don't worry, the toilet and shower area are discreetly hidden behind frosted glass doors - that do not go all the way to the top) and there is no wall dividing the bathroom area to the bedroom. BUT the showerheads are amazing and the room is designed cleverly that the vanity and sink area provide enough privacy and define the bathroom from the bedroom area quite well.

Best thing about the hotel - the swimming pool. It is amazing, best way to wake up and beat jetlag. Actually my husband swears it's the best hotel pool he's ever used.

Chinatown is a 10-minute walk away and you should skip breakfast, lunch, drinks or dinner at the tourist traps around Clarke Quay and head straight to the Chinatown area particularly the MRT station as there's lots of little hawker stands that open from 7AM and stay open until late. There is a small shopping complex in this area so it is always bustling. If you need to change money, go to the money changer that is close to the main road with the grumpy looking older staff who do not speak a word of English (or any word for that matter) - they offer the best rate and the long queues at ANY time of the day reassures you that they are legitimate - if not the best.

If you are considering taking the train from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur, note that the hotel is at least 30 minutes away from Woodlands train station where the SNG-KL intercity train stops. And please book your tickets in advance - before rocking up at 6AM in the morning of the Thaipusan festival expecting to get first class (or any class) tickets for that matter. Otherwise, it's a mad dash involving a walk, a 30 second bus ride, a 15 minute taxi trip, then a 5 hour bus ride, then a 30 minute train ride before you end up at downtown KL (which is called SENTRAL on all maps - never KL!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear LAG2612,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your positive feedback.

We will continue to provide exceptional experiences for our guests such as your good self; in keeping your loyal patronage with us and certainly look forward to welcome you back to the Park Regis Singapore soon.


Best Regards,

Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It is extremely annoying that this hotel does not offer free in-room wifi. You get only one free hour in the lobby each day but otherwise have to pay SG$30/day for access. This is absurd. We live in the 21st century; everybody is connected, and this hotel can't even offer free wifi. Having to pay SG$30/day (almost US$25/day) is also insanely expensive. If you stay there for 3 or more days, the fees quickly add up. I had stayed previously at the Pan Pacific and the Marina Mandarin and they both offered free wifi.

The public computers in the business center here also do not come with the proper safety precautions. A previous user before me failed to log out of her Mac email account. I did not know and because of the way the computer was configured, I mistook a blank pop-up email window as one from my Gmail and ended up accidentally sending a message through this other person's account. Granted, she was extremely careless to leave a public computer without logging out, but it was also extremely annoying for me to have to try to do damage control to make sure that all traces of my info were deleted from her account and that my privacy would not be further compromised.

The hotel should've never enabled the Mac pop-up email feature in the first darn place, and it should have a giant sign next to each public computer telling users that they need to log off from their account. Because they did not, my and at least one other person's Internet security was compromised, and I had to spend precious time dealing with the aftermath and their staff.

If the hotel didn't have such a ludicrous wireless policy in the first place, none of this would've happened.

With that said, the staff (concierge, front desk, etc.) were all very polite. The room was clean and comfortable, except the bathroom had strands of hair on the floor when I first walked in. The maid should've swept the floor. The location was very close to the MRT.

I would've given the hotel 4 stars had it not been for their stupid wireless policy.

Also, if you do decide to book this hotel, do not book through Expedia because they will not offer the cheapest rate. I pre-paid on Expedia for an advance 15-day purchase, but there was actually a cheaper advance 30-day deal available on the hotel's website. Unfortunately, Expedia will not honor its best price guarantee if the lower price is offered in a foreign currency. The hotel only lets you book in SGD and I paid for my room on Expedia in USD. But even after factoring in the foreign currency fees for a credit card transaction, it would've been cheaper to book directly through the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear canyonskies,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Park Regis Singapore and taking the time to provide us your valuable feedback.

We appreciate your constructive feedback on the offering of free WIFI. We are reviewing on the feedback regarding free WIFI offering to enhance our guests experience.

We are disappointed to learn of the inconvenience that you have gone through pertaining sending out email from the IMac at the Business Center. We understand the frustration and inconvenience you have experienced. We have also taken note of your feedback in the room cleanliness.

Please rest assured that we have taken your comments seriously and they have been brought up to the attention of the management. Although the issue on the IMac is an isolated incident, we have taken precautionary measure to ensure that this will not occur again.

We certainly hope to welcome you back to Park Regis Singapore soon and have the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Best Regards,

Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in August. The location is excellent with only a couple of minute walk to Clark Quay. The cleanliness of the room was disappointing in the bathroom area and the room is quite small. Wireless access was only in the lobby which was annoying. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear bdm1979,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Park Regis Singapore and taking the time to provide us your valuable feedback.

We are delighted to receive your gracious compliments on our team member being helpful and friendly; and will be happy to share your feedback with the team.

We appreciate your constructive feedback on the bathroom design and do acknowledge that the design and style of each hotel can be subjective to individual’s expectations. We regret that we did not meet your expectation in this aspect. We have also taken note of your feedback regarding offering of one hour free WIFI at the lobby.

Please rest assured that we have taken your comments seriously and they have been brought up to the attention of the management.

We certainly hope to welcome you back to Park Regis Singapore soon and have the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Best Regards,
Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This is probably a good choice if you want a hotel near Clarke Quay but otherwise an average hotel at the best. Location is great, bang opposite Clarke quay, average food and courteous staff. The major drawback for me is the size of the room. Too small for my liking, good for one but a struggle for two. Bathroom literally is in the bedroom and very embarrassing if you are staying with another friend. Rooms are neat and modern, staff is very helpful. Food is another department which needs a drastic improvement.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Scorpionxylo,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Park Regis Singapore and taking the time to provide us your valuable feedback.

We are delighted to receive your gracious compliments on our team member being helpful; and will be happy to share your feedback with the team.

We appreciate your constructive feedback on the room design and do acknowledge that the design and style of each hotel can be subjective to individual’s expectations. We regret that we did not meet your expectation in this aspect. We have also taken note of your feedback regarding the food that need a drastic improvement.

Please rest assured that we have taken your comments seriously and they have been brought up to the attention of the management to avoid recurrence.

We certainly hope to welcome you back to Park Regis Singapore soon and have the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Best Regards,
Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is located in a great location which is exactly opposite clarke quay riverside. This hotel is perfect for nightlife as well as minutes away from shopping areas.
We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and it was value for money.The room was a little crampy which was the only drawback of the hotel. Nevertheless the room is well designed with every corner well utilized. We had a pool facing view which was very nice. The pool is beautiful with a lovely waterfall. Friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear joannedcosta31,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Park Regis Singapore and taking the time to provide us your valuable feedback.

We are delighted to receive your gracious compliments on our team member being friendly and helpful; and will be happy to share your feedback with the team.

We will continue to provide exceptional experiences for our guests such as your good self; in keeping your loyal patronage with us and certainly look forward to welcome you back to the Park Regis Singapore soon.

Best Regards,
Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to Singapore. Found the staff pleasant and helpful and the buffet breakfast was great with a wide selection albeit a but pricey. What we really loved though was the pool. It was amazingly clean and clear and refreshing. It also had a waterfall thing you could stand under at the end of the pool. It would also be good for business people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear JenandMatt2010,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Park Regis Singapore and taking the time to provide us your valuable feedback.

We are delighted to receive your gracious compliments on our team member being pleasant and helpful; and will be happy to share your feedback with the team. We are also delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the wide selection of breakfast that we have in Suite 23.

We will continue to provide exceptional experiences for our guests such as your good self; in keeping your loyal patronage with us and certainly look forward to welcome you back to the Park Regis Singapore soon.


Best Regards,

Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Regis Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis Singapore

Address: 23 Merchant Road, Singapore 058268, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#44 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#45 Business Hotel in Singapore
#47 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Regis Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Regis Singapore is centrally located in the city centre, within easy reach of Singapore's vibrant entertainment and dining hubs such as Clarke Quay, Boat Quay and Chinatown. The hotel is close to Raffles Place and Marina Bay, Singapore's commercial and entertainment hub. Perched along the Singapore River, the hotel is a mere 5 minutes' walk away from Clarke Quay MRT train station. Ultra Contemporary Hotel Rooms; Relax in your ultra contemporary studio concept guestroom with a wealth of amenities, including complimentary wireless internet access and chargeable high-speed wired internet access, 42" LCD TV, cable TV with multiple channels and Interactive TV (IPTV), Interactive Phone (IP) with IDD access, movies on demand, individually controlled air-conditioning, work desk, in-room safe, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, bathrobe, slippers, 24 hour room service, laundry and dry cleaning service. At Park Regis Singapore, you will never have to look far for a delicious meal or to unwind with a drink in your hand.If you fancy a night relaxing in your room - Park Regis Singapore is at your service with 24-hour in-room dining. A Spot of Recreation The hotel's recreational facilities include a stylish 25- metre outdoor lap pool, set next to a cascading water feature - bound to relax and rejuvenate in tranquil surroundings. Or, for an invigorating workout, the hotel offers a well-equipped fitness centre. For recreation on a larger scale, a nine-hole and eighteen-hole golf course and driving range is approximately 15-20 minutes from the hotel (fees apply). Down to Business; The full service Business Centre located on the third level provides all secretarial services. Here you will also find iMAC workstations with complimentary broadband internet access. Rental of mobile phones and laptops and private meeting rooms are available. Park Regis Singapore is Your Ultimate Choice in Central Singapore. The hotel is easy walking distance to many key attractions and to the MRT (Clarke Quay). Make Park Regis Singapore the perfect retreat for your next visit to exciting Singapore! Please note, Park Regis Singapore is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Regis Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis Singapore Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Regis Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.