We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location. Bad service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Regis Singapore

Save Saved
You added Park Regis Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Regis Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Merchant Road, Singapore 058268, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Decent location. Bad service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This new hotel near Clarke Quay in Singapore is in a good location; close to the business district, but also near the river and good night spots.

The hotel is brand new. The rooms are small, but modern and stylish (though a bit cheap). There are a few things about the rooms that I found a bit annoying. For example, the shower door opens out into the rest of the bathroom, flush along the floor -- making use of a bath mat impossible (pushed away when the door is opened), so you're going to get a wet floor. And (I don't know how many of you are bothered by this), the soap dish in the shower is a flat piece of metal (with no grooves or holes), so the soap sticks to it and you need a screw-driver to pry it off the dish to use it. It's not a huge flaw, but these two things suggest that whoever designed the rooms did not actually try using them or put much thought into the experience for guests. That lack of effort bothers me.

The small pool and gym are satisfactory, and the lobby and lounge are alright.

My big problem with this hotel is the lack of service culture and the attitude of the front desk staff. I arrived directly from the airport after an international flight. Upon check-in, the receptionist had a problem with the credit card machine. For a 5-night stay at just under S$300 per night, they required blocking S$2600 on my credit card (apparently they were worried that I was going to steal the furniture -- though I'm not sure the furniture would even be worth that much). After a few tries (there was a problem with their connection, not with my card), she instructed me to wait. I was kept at the front desk for nearly 25 minutes (they wouldn't give me the room key until they had my credit card blocked), rather than the staff just asking me to come back later to try -- even though I asked to go to my room and suggested we try later.

Upon sign-in, they also inform guests that there is a S$300 penalty for smoking in the room. And they made me initial that clause on the form, separate from my signature at the bottom (despite the fact that I requested a non-smoking room, anyway). I have not experienced this one at any other hotel.

I stay in business hotels more than 100 nights per year -- many of those in Singapore. Some hotels know how to make their guests feel welcome. Others are obviously much more concerned about making sure they get your money and making sure that you can't cheat them. This hotel does not make me feel welcome. It makes me feel like they are doing me a favor by letting me stay there, while they make sure they get their money.

It's put me off...I shall not be staying here again...There are far too many alternatives in Singapore, and there are some hotels that really understand customer service (this is not one of them).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear keithfitz

First and foremost, I am sorry to learn of your concerns with your recent stay and at the outset would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

With regards to the hotel and room design, we understand that the design and style of each hotel as well as the dimension of its rooms is and can be a very subjective matter of taste. In this particular case, we regret that our rooms were not to your expectations.

In addition, we would like to seek your kind understanding that that the SGD2600 was a pre-authorization (holding amount) and not an actual charge until and unless expenses were actually incurred. This total amount includes the daily room charges and incidentals for 6 nights that you have stayed here.

Nevertheless, thank you so much for taking the care and time to review us. We are grateful for your feedback as it enables us to continually monitor our guests’ requirements and we do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Park Regis Singapore in the near future.


Sincerely yours,

Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    325
    104
    25
    11
See reviews for
58
257
62
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My friend stayed there for his recent business trip. Wen over and found that the hotel is so nice. Just 5 mins walking distance from Clark Quay Mrt. Near to shopping mall, food, drinks and music :)

The room space is just nice for 2, toilet indeed is small but clean. Overall, worth the price.

p/s: no breakfast provided.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear fumoffu
Thank you so much for taking the time to review and your nice comments about us. We are delighted to know that you and your friend have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you like the location of our hotel. It is truly heartwarming to know our efforts to provide quality service is being appreciated by you!

With regards to your concern, we do provide daily buffet breakfast at our all day-dining restaurant – Suite 23 from 6.30am to 10.30am for just $28++ per person.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to provide your invaluable feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely yours,

Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Location is fantastic. Walk to Chinatown for excellent cheap hawker food and some atmosphere, or stroll to the river and (if you can stand listening to their whining) live it up with the pommie expat public schoolboys and girls at the (very) expensive clubs and eateries on the river. The MRT station is close too - so all in all this is a great spot. The hotel is modern and clean. What more do you want in this price range? The one downside was the cost of the business centre... Extortionate!!!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter - go cheap and get out and explore
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear BangkokStu

Thank you very much for taking the time to review and compliment us. We are delighted to know that we managed to exceed your expectation and that you appreciate our prime location.

With regards to the charges mentioned, we have taken note all of your comments and we will certainly review the pricing so as to provide a more competitive service for our guests. We are grateful for your feedback as it enables us to continually monitor our guest’s requirements and we do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Park Regis Singapore again.

Sincerely yours,

Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfirmline Fife
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and i stayed here for 8 nights. After reading some of the reviews I was a little concerned as I had made the booking a couple of month ago. I needn't have worried. Yes the rooms are compact but you only shower and sleep in them after all. We opted for a poolside room which was a real bonus and helped us maintain our 'Cool'. The hotel is so handy for lively Clarke Quay and a stroll down to China town. All the staff were so eager to help and were very efficient. The place was imaculate. We had breakfast there several mornings and it set us up for the day. Have to agree with a previous advisor that the coffee was poor but that seemed to prevail at most cafe's we tried. Most seem to use condensed milk!! If we went back to Singapore we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear JoebDunfirmlineFife

Thank you so much for taking the time to review and your nice comments about us. We are delighted to know that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It is truly heartwarming to know our efforts to provide quality service is being appreciated by you and your husband!

We are grateful for your feedback as it enables us to continually monitor our guest’s expectations and we hope to welcome you and your husband back to Park Regis Singapore soon.


Sincerely yours,

Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Good location on Clarkes Quay. Lovely but small room ( shared with a friend). Had B'fast in the hotel on one morning, it was lovely ( but terrible coffee). Friendly , helpful staff. Used the 'business centre' to keep up with my emails and found that good for computer access. Lovely pool and fitness centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear MerefromBrissy

Thank you very much for taking the time to review and complement us. We are glad that you have enjoyed our breakfast and our facilities and we have noted your comments about the coffee and will certainly look into improving the quality.

We look forward to having you back with us soon.


Sincerely yours,

Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst on business in Singapore and found it to be perfect for my needs.
The hotel is still fairly new and some taxi drivers found it difficult to locate and it's also in a one way system so once they go wrong you need to go roudn the block again. The wait for check in was a bit slow as there was only one person on reception but the actual process was relatively quick.
The rooms are a good size for a business trip and have everything one might need i.e. iron, ironing board, mini bar, kettle etc. Broadband is extra and I didn't use this.
The food was good - it's not going for a michelin star but what I ate was fine. room service was quick and i got waht I asked for. In room breakfast was a little late but nothing too bad and I was missing my drink and pepper which I had requested (again not a major thing)
Check out was quick and the service in gereral was friendly and polite.
Not sure if I would stay here as part of a holiday but it's perfect for a business trip

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear HKtravelHK

Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments on the hotel. We are thrilled to know that we have catered to your needs and that you have enjoyed dining with us. Being centrally located in the Central Business District, we pride ourselves to be in a prime location for business travelers like you.

We have taken note all of your comments and we will certainly pass them on to our staff in order to improve our services offered to you. Once again, thank you for taking your time to provide your invaluable feedback and we hope to have you back with us soon.

Sincerely yours,

Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed at the hotel already twice and still find the location and the design very much ok, also they have some good deals on some internet sites.
BUT:
- internet is VERY expensive
- breakfast is VERY expensive (staff not too attentive and had to argue last time that the request for green tea was included in breakfast - tea bag, not open tea...)
- check/in, check/out slow, request for late check out on Sunday was NOT granted (I was asking for 14.00 - as they were 'fully booked' on that day - Sunday, 14.00????)
- beer and drinks at nice open air bar RIDICULOUSLY expensive (more than in night bars in Singapore)
Next time will only take the room and go to nearby places for breakfast or drinks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear expatjakarta

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind comments about the location and design, and the fact that you have stayed with us twice means a lot to us.

With regards to the charges mentioned, we have taken note all of your comments and we will certainly review the pricing so as to provide a more competitive service for our guests. Also as we were running high occupancy in the month of July, we were unfortunately unable to extend late checkout to you as our check in timing is at 1400hrs. We wish to seek your kind understanding on this.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to provide your invaluable feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely yours,

Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Regis Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis Singapore

Address: 23 Merchant Road, Singapore 058268, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#44 Business Hotel in Singapore
#48 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#58 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#66 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Regis Singapore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Regis Singapore is centrally located in the city centre, within easy reach of Singapore's vibrant entertainment and dining hubs such as Clarke Quay, Boat Quay and Chinatown. The hotel is close to Raffles Place and Marina Bay, Singapore's commercial and entertainment hub. Perched along the Singapore River, the hotel is a mere 5 minutes' walk away from Clarke Quay MRT train station. Ultra Contemporary Hotel Rooms; Relax in your ultra contemporary studio concept guestroom with a wealth of amenities, including complimentary wireless internet access and chargeable high-speed wired internet access, 42" LCD TV, cable TV with multiple channels and Interactive TV (IPTV), Interactive Phone (IP) with IDD access, movies on demand, individually controlled air-conditioning, work desk, in-room safe, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, bathrobe, slippers, 24 hour room service, laundry and dry cleaning service. At Park Regis Singapore, you will never have to look far for a delicious meal or to unwind with a drink in your hand.If you fancy a night relaxing in your room - Park Regis Singapore is at your service with 24-hour in-room dining. A Spot of Recreation The hotel's recreational facilities include a stylish 25- metre outdoor lap pool, set next to a cascading water feature - bound to relax and rejuvenate in tranquil surroundings. Or, for an invigorating workout, the hotel offers a well-equipped fitness centre. For recreation on a larger scale, a nine-hole and eighteen-hole golf course and driving range is approximately 15-20 minutes from the hotel (fees apply). Down to Business; The full service Business Centre located on the third level provides all secretarial services. Here you will also find iMAC workstations with complimentary broadband internet access. Rental of mobile phones and laptops and private meeting rooms are available. Park Regis Singapore is Your Ultimate Choice in Central Singapore. The hotel is easy walking distance to many key attractions and to the MRT (Clarke Quay). Make Park Regis Singapore the perfect retreat for your next visit to exciting Singapore! Please note, Park Regis Singapore is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Park Regis Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis Singapore Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Regis Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.