We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Regis Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Park Regis Singapore to your Saves list
Park Regis Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Merchant Road, Singapore 058268, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
jakarta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

When we asked how far Chinatown was the staff told us 'very far, you cannot walk'. But then we discovered that it was very close. Actually, the hotel is in a great location: close to two MRT stations, Chinatown, and Clarke Quay.
I would not suggest staying here if you're travelling with friends. The open concept bathroom doesn't allow for privacy. It's good if you're travelling alone or with a partner.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    371
    109
    26
    14
See reviews for
62
299
69
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Quite a number of Singapore hotels persist in charging outrageous prices for internet access.....this one costs SG$30 for a full day access!! Various shorter timeframes are also available for less, but such rates bear NO relation whatever to the cost of providing the service and I cannot recommend hotels that charge them -- they are just a way to lard up the customer's bill.

Beyond that: The hotel is new, and it has a very convenient location between Chinatown and the Clarke Quay entertainment area. Very short walk to the Clarke Quay MRT station. The rooms are small, with an unusual design, but they have everything needed for comfort. (It took me a while to figure out that the coffee service was stored in a drawer under the mirror.) Bed was comfortable. Desk was adequate for working.

The aircon system is bizarre -- when you leave the room and remove the key card, it shuts off (okay, good for saving energy), but when you return and the system starts up again, it sets itself for 16 degrees Celsius!!! So you have to pay attention and raise the thermostat setting to a more normal level, or you have a VERY cold night.

Staff was okay friendly, but a bit erratic. (I got a newspaper on my door 2 days, but not the 3rd.) Gym was reasonably well equipped and nice.

Great street food options nearby, in Chinatown. Plenty of bars, etc. in both Chinatown and Clarke Quay. But the hotel's neighborhood is quiet offices (that's a good thing).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ?17-?20 -- a bit of road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This is a fairly new hotel .So dont be surprised if cabbie takes you for a spin arround in search of the hotel. However, you can be sure of getting within 100m of the hotel without any problem,as its right bang opp Clark Quay,one of the Singapare hotspots & adjacent to Ministry of Manpower.

This hotel has a boutique look , with trendy interiors. Rooms are a bit cramped ,if you are on double accomodation .Very weird arrangement of bathrooms which is seperated from beds by a mirror partition. No complaints from me, as I was on single accomodation. Room had a good view overlooking ,infinity pool ,facing the Clark quay.

Better to opt for breakfast option ,which may cost 20SGP,else its around 32SGP.Breakfast buffet was very simple & basic ,would not highly recco ,if you had other options. Being a veggie ,the options were even more cut down.

I was totally let down by the gym ,which had just 1 threadmill (with time limit of 20mins) & few other basic amenties.Gym opens at 6am & can be quite a crowd in the morning. The gym instructor was very helpful though.

With rate of 200SGD ,expectations were slightly higher in terms of room dimensions,facilities like gym & breakfast buffet options.

However the best part of this hotel ,is location,which can overshadow all its shortcomings.Just hop-skip & jump from the happening Clark nighspots,which is so convenient after a late night out.Public transportation ,is just a few mts from the hotel,making it even more convenient.

The front staff were extremely attentive & Curteous .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Very nice hotel, clean reception desk was excellent rooms were great the bar was quite expensive about £8 for half a lager. Great location you could walk into the city and just opposite was the bars and restuarant areas so enjoyed walking around that area of an evening (tourist prices though) even though the bars were opposite they were in the next street so there was no noise, overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Boutique hotel with very small rooms(don't bring at cat!!). Prices are on the high side but so is Singapore. staff are very slow to react. Took 6 hours and 4 phone calls (at least 1 hour between each) to get a battery changed in the room clock.

I only stay here because my company has special rates, if it was up to me there are much better hotels to stay at and more value for money. Next time I visit and they try and book me here I will refuse. Hotel is next to a mosque so be prepared to be woken up early when prayers start

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Upon check-in, we realise the poor toiletries provided( there was no toothbrush and we had to request for a set ). We had requested for an extra pillow and had to wait 45 minutes for the WRONG kind of pillow( they gave us a dirty sofa cushion instead ). The toilet stinks and was poorly cleaned. The stench was unbearable to the extent that we had to buy an air freshener ourselves. 2nd day of our stay , we were woken up by the light peeping from the lousy curtaining. We left the hotel around 1 pm and came back at 11pm to find that the bins in the room were not emptied, the toiletries were not refilled. We then called to have the shampoo replaced as supply was running low, only to be given shower gel 2 times as if they do not understand what is shampoo.

For the price of the hotel, the only redeeming factor is the convenience of a nearby MRT station. The rooms are unbelievably small and we couldn't fit the portable cot(provided by the hotel) in the room as it obstructed our passage way. We would NEVER recommend anybody to stay in this hotel as you can find better hotels around this price in this area.

We are so disgusted that we had to log on to the computer during out stay to provide the most honest and truthful experience to help others think twice about staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kleow, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear WYT82

Thank you for choosing to stay at Park Regis Singapore and taking the time to share the experience of your stay with us.

We would like to apologize over the lapse in products and service standards which you have experienced during your stay. Our hotel strives to provide a pleasant and comfortable stay for all our guests. Kindly be assured that your feedback will be reviewed and corrective measures will be taken to improve on the shortfall to serve you better.

We appreciate your valuable feedback as it certainly helps us to better understand our guest’s needs and expectations. We hope the recent experience would not mar your opinion of the hotel and we looking forward to welcome you back to Park Regis Singapore again.

Sincerely


Jason Dowd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

a great hotel with cozy room,very quiet neighborhood. friendly staff's very helpful with our needs.
a walking distance to hot spot clarke quay river point was good.overall a nice hotel to stay in .a true value for. money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Regis Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis Singapore

Address: 23 Merchant Road, Singapore 058268, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#47 Business Hotel in Singapore
#52 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Regis Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Regis Singapore is centrally located in the city centre, within easy reach of Singapore's vibrant entertainment and dining hubs such as Clarke Quay, Boat Quay and Chinatown. The hotel is close to Raffles Place and Marina Bay, Singapore's commercial and entertainment hub. Perched along the Singapore River, the hotel is a mere 5 minutes' walk away from Clarke Quay MRT train station. Ultra Contemporary Hotel Rooms; Relax in your ultra contemporary studio concept guestroom with a wealth of amenities, including complimentary wireless internet access and chargeable high-speed wired internet access, 42" LCD TV, cable TV with multiple channels and Interactive TV (IPTV), Interactive Phone (IP) with IDD access, movies on demand, individually controlled air-conditioning, work desk, in-room safe, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, bathrobe, slippers, 24 hour room service, laundry and dry cleaning service. At Park Regis Singapore, you will never have to look far for a delicious meal or to unwind with a drink in your hand.If you fancy a night relaxing in your room - Park Regis Singapore is at your service with 24-hour in-room dining. A Spot of Recreation The hotel's recreational facilities include a stylish 25- metre outdoor lap pool, set next to a cascading water feature - bound to relax and rejuvenate in tranquil surroundings. Or, for an invigorating workout, the hotel offers a well-equipped fitness centre. For recreation on a larger scale, a nine-hole and eighteen-hole golf course and driving range is approximately 15-20 minutes from the hotel (fees apply). Down to Business; The full service Business Centre located on the third level provides all secretarial services. Here you will also find iMAC workstations with complimentary broadband internet access. Rental of mobile phones and laptops and private meeting rooms are available. Park Regis Singapore is Your Ultimate Choice in Central Singapore. The hotel is easy walking distance to many key attractions and to the MRT (Clarke Quay). Make Park Regis Singapore the perfect retreat for your next visit to exciting Singapore! Please note, Park Regis Singapore is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Park Regis Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis Singapore Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Regis Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.