We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amrise Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amrise Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amrise Hotel
112 Sims Ave | Geylang, Singapore 387436, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #211 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“small hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I booked from booking.com and i don't know the price exclude vat+tax. This is the small hotel in the swarm street. A lot street food near hotel and grocery shop. Free wifi is good in the first day of my stay but I couldn't use the next day. Far from MRT, in red district light and no breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    48
    19
    14
See reviews for
5
47
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The room is very small, but it's worth because this is the cheapest hotel we found in Singapore. There is only the hair shampoo provided. The clean towel, wifi and water heater is also provided. It's more suitable for Chinese because it is surrounded by Chinese restaurant around this hotel.

Room Tip: Bring your own soap & toothpaste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekasi, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place quite clean, really far from MRT station and bus station, location in red district, the staff not helpful, but so many food place especially for pork meal. Price is cheaper. Location very far from airport. They are not provide breakfast in the morning. I think this hotel really good for backpackers.

Room Tip: Choose double room, not standard. Because standard room really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not far from the subway - good location. You'll find lots of restaurants (chinese) in the surrounding. Singapore is expensive - it's hard to find something cheap. Here you've got quite good room for good price. Good for backpackers.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a cheap place on the route from airport and with good connection to the downtown. We got what we wanted here + the neighbourhood turned out to be full of very busy food & beer places, mostly occupied by the locals, which was a nice add. So, overall, worth recommending, but don't expect any luxuries...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lokeren, Belgium
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I will never forget my stay this year. I was struck by the haze in Singapore...(burning forest in Sumatera)
I was much too early to check in: I asked politely to the reception if I might sit down in the sofa and wait. The gentleman looked at the watch against the wall and said, with a deep voice, it is time to check in NOW...
Rooms still very very cheap and good value, IF you have an eye mask with you. Forget that there is noise, there is no noise at all. Again and again: the red light district is NOT there...
Use your brain when you come from the airport: take the LRT to Kallang, not to Aljunied and take a bus from Kallang, 2 stops...cross the road.
Extremely cheap eateries around the corner, or opposite the road. I say extremely cheap: 2.5 Sing dollars for a fine and tasty dinner.
Take public transport to go around the country; the "tourist pass" is not the best thing you can buy... IF it were the best thing, all Singaporeans should have it... reality is that only tourists use it.
NEW is that there is no more daily cleaning of your room. Your room is only cleaned if you ask for. (takes 4 seconds to ask)
I am an economist: believe me, budget hotels can only survive IF they cut their expenses for workers and so on... I hope the AMRISE hotel can survive...but... I am sure they will.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

You get what you pay for with this hotel. Staff nice at check in but could care less to help you when you check out. Lots of noise here. You can hear people in their room conducting "business". By the way, this is in Singapore's Red Light District so expect regular "business" deals to be taking place here. The only good thing is the price. Singapore is expensive to stay so at $50 a night it was a lot cheaper than $100. Not a family place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrise Hotel

Address: 112 Sims Ave | Geylang, Singapore 387436, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#211 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#211 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Amrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrise Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.