We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Moon 23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Moon 23 Hotel to your Saves list
Moon 23 Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Dickson Rd | Little India/ Bugis, Singapore 209507, Singapore (Little India)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #196 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I chose this hotel as I was looking for something different, and my wife & I really enjoy Little India.

On average, the staff gave the distinct impression that they would rather be somewhere else, busy on the phones or talking to each other. There were exceptions, but that was the general feel.

The rooms are tiny, not small, tiny. I have stayed in hotel rooms where the bathroom is bigger than our room at The Moon, and it's not as if the size is reflected in the price.

There is nowhere to put bags or cases. Very limited hanging space, no bed side reading lights and a tiny glass walled bathroom & toilet.

Afternoon drinks were OK but the selection was tiny and none of the drinks were as cold as they should have been.

I'd be more than happy to stay in the area again, but never again at Moon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    155
    121
    43
    37
See reviews for
15
206
42
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I am from Singapore so I am making this review as a Singaporean and not a tourist. The stay at Moon hotel was a Staycation.

After reading the reviews of the hotel, I didn't expect much from it.

Location:
Location of hotel is quite convenient, although I must say it is located in quite a seedy and shady area with bars and pubs aplenty with Hotel 81 just a stone's throw away from the hotel. For foreigners who don't know, Hotel 81 is a motel basically that charges by the hour and does not require reservations. However, it is a very walkable distance to Bugis, OG, Sim Lim etc which was good. About a 7 minute walk.

Quality of rooms:
Upgraded my room from a standard to an executive for $35 net more and... oh boy. When I opened the door to my room I was thinking... what exactly did I pay $35 more for? You would think more space right? Nope. Wrong. The room is TINY. Like...standing in the corner of one room, I am able to capture a photo of the ENTIRE room with my phone camera. HOWEVER, the room is very clean, and I suppose some people might find it 'cosy'. Furnishings are very minimal but quite futuristic and modern, and I do have to give the hotel props for some nice touches such as the free minibar. The bed and sheets were great, good quality sheets and mattresses provided. Only one bathrobe and 3 hangers were available. Additional amenities include a hairdryer, a safe and a bathrobe and an iPod dock. Toiletries are provided and it was considerate of the hotel to provide extras like a loofah and manicure kits.

Quality of service:
Meh. Average. Service was not bad, but not great either. Staff were rather unprofessional (not in a sense that they were rude, but they used their phones on the job, sat outside the chairs outside the hotel to smoke, etc), but then again- this is not a 5 star hotel, and you pay for what you get. Check in took at least 10 minutes. Not the most efficient, but not terrible service either. Staff were not overly attentive or helpful, but they did their job and gave help when asked.

Quality of breakfast:
Was very skeptical of the breakfast provided. Thought it would be very crummy. I guess it turned out OK. Salami, ham, salad, some fresh fruit, some canned food, some pastries, some hard boiled eggs and beans, an assortment of cheese, cornflakes, juice, yoghurt. Yup. That's about it. Not horrible but no where near exceptional.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for couples who are on a budget and want to go for a staycation without breaking the bank. However, after my upgrade, the room amounted to close to $190. If I topped up another $60, I could have got a room in a very internationally reputable hotel. It wasn't a horrible stay, but I really doubt I would stay again.

Room Tip: Call in advance to get a room with windows. Beware though! If you book the standard room and request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel may have seen better days judging by the reviews below but sadly when we stayed here it was well past it's used by date.

Upon arriving late at night it was apparent that this hotel is in a seemingly unclean part of Singapore - in a back street filled with garbage & rancid smells. Really unpleasant if you're not used to these conditions.

So now the hotel - let's start by describing the journey to our room. Damp, mouldy corridors with visible damp in the walls. Absolutely suffocating smell.

The entry point room has a massive step up to it, not shown in any of the photos, which isn't easy for someone with a disability to get into. We ended up paying for an upgrade to an executive room which was centimeters bigger, that had visible water damage around the walls, and stale smelling aircon that someone has smoked in previously. Cupboard could not hold clothing due to the hanger being so short.

The rooms have no soundproofing & you can hear everything quite clearly from the hallways & adjoining rooms.

After a long flight we wanted a sleep in however at 5.45am we were awoken by someone at one of the nearby temples chanting very loudly which is quite disturbing.

We thought a nice shower might wake us up, and it did - from how cold it was. Despite having the taps turned on full blast & on the hottest setting possible it was ice cold. There is also no ventilation in the bathrooms meaning that it stays wet & damp all day, which would partially explain the smells & issues in the hotel.

If you're a penniless backpacker, this is the place for you. If you're not then there are seemingly nicer hotels in the same price range in other parts of Singapore.

A must miss

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stay over a night during one of the weekend in July 2013. Room is a bit small but comfy. Love the comfy bed and pillow. Iphone dock is provided in the room for charging your phone. Average service from the reception.
There are curtains in the room. However, there is no windows and I realised that the curtains are there for decoration only.
Food are available just outside the hotel with some coffee shop operating 24hrs around the area.
The hotel is walking distance of about 2 mins to Sim Lim Tower and 20 mins to Bugis Junction Shopping Centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff and experience at the hotel was very nice.

However, the only problem experienced is that the rooms are extremely small with no windows or external sunlight.

While I understand that the hotel is possibly going for the "spaceship" theme, it might be a bit much for some guests

Otherwise, a pleasant stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a good hotel ideally located in little India.

The staff are very friendly here and always smiling and willing to help.

The room was very small and the funniest thing was we had a curtain across the wall with no window behind it. Even though we just laughed it off as we were only there for one night.
All in all the room was nice, clean and cosy.......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Not for persons having claustrophobia: most of the rooms have no window (though in our case it was possible to switch to a room with a window).

The rooms are pretty small, but they look nice. Great bed and shower. You can use the minibar for free. The hotel has a good location in Little India.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon 23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon 23 Hotel

Address: 23 Dickson Rd | Little India/ Bugis, Singapore 209507, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moon 23 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moon 23, a Boutique hotel nested along Dickson Road. Moon 23, provide 80 keys with various decor of either designer platform beds or the contemporary design both providing a TRENDY comfort, CLASSY modern & COSY feelings. We are connected via three main MRT (Mass Rapid Transit) line in Singapore all within 10 minute walk Little India Station- NE Line, Bugis Station- EW Line & Downtown Line and the soon to open Jalan Besar Station- Downtown Line . Walking distance mall include Bugis Junction, Bugis+, Bugis Village, Sim Lim Square & 24 hour Mustafa Shopping Centre. For the business traveler we are 15 minutes ride to major commercial buildings within the CBD. For the shoppers a mere 15 minutes train ride will take you to the fame Orchard Road shopping belt or Marina Bay Area (Marina Square, Singapore Flyers & Marina Bay Sands). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Moon 23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon 23 Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon 23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.