We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese cuisine & nice ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shinji by Kanesaka

Shinji by Kanesaka
1 Beach Road | #02-20 Raffles Hotel, Singapore 189673 , Singapore (Downtown Core)
+65 6338 6131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7,094 restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $60 - $360
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Core
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Japanese cuisine & nice ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A truely enjoyable Omakase (お任せ) dinner at Shinji @ OUE. The food are exquisitely done with freshly imported ingredients from Japan. Even the garnishes are specially selected, the Shiso flowers and Okinawa shio (salt). Also not forgetting the best sake, Juyondai (十四代), it is ultra smooth and paired wonderfully with the cuisine. Service crews are friendly and attentive which ends the dinner perfectly. Great dining experience. The ambience at OUE Tower makes the dining experience better than at Shinji @ Raffles Hotel.
Though it quite pricey, overall worth the value.
PS: Hope to see the Chef will present a different surpise in the next omakase dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    85
    15
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“By far the best sushi & sashimi in Singapore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I never knew sushi can be so delightful that with each mouth it makes me actually stop and savour the art behind each carefully prepared pieces of sushi and the freshness is undoubted. Exquisite! I usually avoid most "tomago" at sushi places and to begin with I am no fan of eggs but this is not that case when i head to Shinji, the tomaga has no "eggy" taste to hit and the texture is slightly springy and compact. The uni or sea urchin is creamy and makes me ignore my cholesterol levels. The chefs are fun and they do try to engage you in small talk, and sometimes you get to see the fun side of them when someone celebrates birthdays. I must say it comes with a premium price tag but in my opinion if you are craving for excellent sushi then you can't go wrong with Shinji.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The ambience was fairly light hearted.
All the dishes were great and with just enough theatrical execution without bring intimidating or too mysterious.
With my pathetic japanese we still kept enough banter between the excellent sushi chef and had a great time.
The freshness and quantity of uni more than justify for the price tag.
The sushi were all very well balanced between the rice quantity. The vinegered rice was well moulded and have enough flavour on its own and complemented the raw fish beautifully.
In fact we enjoyed the meal so much we had 3 bottles of sake between us and the sushi chef.

It is not the cheapest place to dine but its well worth it as its as good as a 3 star michelin kaiseki in Kyoto.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Quite extraordinary - but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Agree with Neil French on this one - the prices (minimum $350 per person) are indeed second-mortgage-inducing. But the food is extraordinary - tasting the sashimi and sushi at Shinji was the equivalent of opening - and consuming - an old, very good bottle of Bordeaux versus your standard table red. A new standard was created that won't easily be surpassed.

Service was solid, good selection of wines and sake, no one tried to kick us out at the end even as our conversation extended into the wee hours.

Incidentally, we had a sushi-hater with us at the table, who decided to go with the flow re the set menu, and thought it was amazing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
599 reviews 599 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
“Superb each time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My 3rd visit to Shinji and the experience always brings a smile to my face each time. They have a main dining area and a smaller one, and this time, i got a space at the cosier smaller section. Opted for my usual 12 pc lunch set (they have 9 pc, 15 pc and a OMG omakase set). Service was fantastic as usual, from the waitress to the sushi chef. The chef though japanese, helpfully said each piece of sushi in japanese and english, so that we can learn along the way too. Each piece was delicate and delicious, especially the 3 types of tuna, the uni, the unagi and egg. Even the miso soup you can tell was lovingly made and tasted good. Dessert was pineapple from okinawa (wow) with jelly. Fully booked again for lunch so do call ahead for reservations. 1 of the best japanese joints in south east asia, believe the majority here, it is that good. 1 reviewer who wanted to stand out gave Shinji a poor (2 star) rating and i was offended by everything he or she said

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinji by Kanesaka also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Shinji by Kanesaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinji by Kanesaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.