We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jayleen 1918 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jayleen 1918 Hotel to your Saves list
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Carpenter Street, Singapore 059921, Singapore   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Everything you want”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Situated in a ideal part of Singapore this hotel is right in the centre of Clarke Quay with all its river restaurants a MTR station at the end of the street it makes it a breeze to get around Singapore. If walking is not an issue one can walk to a lot of the tourist sites that is how central this hotel is. If you are looking for five star accommodation you better look some where else but if you want a nice clean but small room that has everything that is required you cannot go past this hotel. A free WI-FI works well in all parts of the complex a nice buffet breakfast is included in the room price. If scramble eggs is not for you the chef will cook up eggs the way you like them. But the best part about this hotel is up on the roof at night it has a million dollar view over Singapore and the lights are amazing. At around 8.00 PM there is a laser light show coming from Marine Bay Sands complex. We had five great days staying at this hotel and if you are looking for a low cost accommodation you cannot go past Jayleen 1918 Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room on level six
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    41
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
42
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keelung, Taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It's near Clarke Quay center and take the subway easily and buy nice food closely.Building and furniture are old, but looks elegant. Breakfast is not bad,especially the Chinese type cuisine.If you don't mind the smell and old looking, that would be a choice.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It's the second time I live here. Still not bad. It is located at Clarke Quay and you can take the subway easily and buy nice food closely. WiFi & breakfast are free and good. The room is not too big but is OK for the business traveler. Sometimes the smelling is not good, so you have to open the window all day to figure out the problem. Building and furniture are old. So if you don't care these too much, I think it's a good choice to live the central of Singapore.

Room Tip: Higher floor maybe better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very expensive for the tiny room but hey its right near Clarke Key and it is Singapore.
Staff were excellent and looked after my suitcase while I did a train adventure to KL.

Location Excellent
Rooms Average
Staff Excellent
Food Average (but walk 1 min to the best food in Singapore)
WiFi Crap

Room Tip: I went a cheaper room without a window. This was a good decision because many window rooms just look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is expensive even by Singapore standards but this is Clarke Quay after all.
Close to train and river room is fairly small and the decor just average. Restaurant is like
a tuckshop canteen. Staff are friendly. Internet WiFi not good.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascavel, PR
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The builidng is old and not so much conservated. Small rooms e not very confortables. The maintanance could be better. The room smelt not good.
The staff is good, very friendly. Breakfast is regular nothig amazing, but has the necessary to the meal.
Resume in my opinion: I can find a hotel with a better structure with the same price.

Room Tip: Try to ask room in high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

We stayed at Jayleen 1918 from December 10 to 14 (4 nights). Since we were a party of 4 and there were only a few hotels in Singapore offering a room big enough to accommodate us, I decided to book Jayleen's Executive Family Room thru booking.com in mid-July.

From Changi airport, we took the MRT to Clarke Quay (2 transfers: 1 at Tanah Merah and another at Outram Park), crossed the pedestrian overpass then walked a short distance (210m) to Carpenter Street (hotel on the right). Fare is only $1.85 per person but travel time took about an hour.

Hotel check-in was quick. After presenting our booking confirmation and passports and paying in full, we got our room card keys and the mini-bar chit with the wi-fi password and were directed to the elevator so we could climb up to our room on the 5th floor. Check-in experience: B+

Room 501 (set apart from the other rooms on the 5th floor) is a well-lit room with lots of big windows. Spacious enough for 4 people, the room is furnished with memory foam pillows, firm mattresses on surprisingly short beds (1 queen and 2 twin). We found extra pillows inside the wardrobe as well as disposable slippers. Aircon was fully functional with remote control. Bedside lamp did not work. Complimentary bottled water, coffee, coffee creamer, sugar, tea and light snacks were replenished daily. No outside noise bothered our sleep. Executive Family Room: A-

Wi-fi internet was free but it was erratic, very frustrating. Wi-fi: C

Bathroom amenities were provided. Clean towels for 4 guests were changed daily. The steady rain showerhead was not working properly (half the water would leak out the pipes instead of the showerhead) so we only used the newer, handheld shower. Shower heater worked satisfactorily, with a flip of the switch out by the bathroom door.

Also, while researching accommodations, I noticed a trend for frosted glass enclosures for hotel bathrooms in Singapore. I am glad to say that the Executive Family Room's frosted bathroom glass door and curtained window provided privacy. Yes, there really is a sliding window between the bedroom and the bathroom (tub/shower side), we just kept it closed.

On the downside, what I found unacceptable at Jayleen was poor housekeeping. There were stray hairs in the tub and on the bathroom floor upon our first arrival and even on succeeding days after housekeeping has cleaned our room. Bathroom cleanliness: C

Daily buffet breakfast is served between 7:30-10:30AM. Choice of hot dogs, sausages, hash browns, beans, noodles, French toast, fried rice. Boiled eggs, salads, fresh cut fruits. Assorted sliced breads, butter, jams. Cornflakes and chocolate cereals. Coffee, tea, milk, orange juice and water. Minimal variation in breakfast menu in the 4 mornings we ate there. One time there was fried veggie spring rolls, another time there was chicken nuggets. We are not picky eaters, for us breakfast was adequate and filling. Breakfast: B

Jayleen's main draw is its great location. Just a short walk to Clarke Quay MRT station. Also walking distance to Boat Quay and Chinatown. Very commuter friendly. With our ez-link cards and tourist maps, we were able to visit the major sights just by taking the MRT and buses. Location: A+

Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. One time we locked ourselves out and could not get the room card key to work and they were quick to assist us. We also availed of luggage storage after check-out so we could do one last walk around the riverside before heading to the airport. However, they failed to pass on a phone message left for me. I only found out when I met my friend and she told me she actually left a message for me with the front desk. Due to this lapse I give the front desk a B.

In summary…
Pros: Strategic location, commuter friendly, pleasant room, buffet breakfast, hot shower, daily complimentary bottled water/coffee/tea/light snacks, helpful front desk personnel, roofdeck view, luggage storage
Cons: Erratic wi-fi connection, poor housekeeping, short beds, useless bedside lamp, dated bathroom furnishings, phone message not relayed by front desk

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jayleen 1918 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jayleen 1918 Hotel

Address: 42 Carpenter Street, Singapore 059921, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jayleen 1918 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Jayleen 1918 is affordably priced and located right in the City Centre, close to the Singapore River, Boat Quay and Clarke Quay Entertainment District.It is walking distance to Raffles Place, Chinatown, The Esplanade, and within 2km to Suntec City Convention Centre and Marina Bay Sands Convention Centre and Hotel.Both Tourists and Business Visitors alike find this hotel ideally located and suitably priced.The Hotel has a heritage look, both on its external facade, as well as in the decor of its rooms, while being modern, recently built with Free Wifi and Free Local Telephone Calls. A sumptuous American Buffet Breakfast is also included in the room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jayleen 1918 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jayleen 1918 Hotel Singapore
Jayleen 1918 Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jayleen 1918 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.