We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jayleen 1918 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jayleen 1918 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Carpenter Street, Singapore 059921, Singapore   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 5 nights with three young children. Very reasonably priced, small but well appointed. Great roof terrace on top floor. Very clean and efficient as you would expect in a competitive city like Singapore. Excellent position for getting to most attractions, the nearest MRT station which gives you access to most places is a 4 minute walk. Easy access on foot to Clarke Quay and the Chinatown district.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
30
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first stay in Singapore and we booked this hotel for 3 nights.
We received an incredible small room ( there was not enough space for us to lay down our suitcases) with no windows, and not even a small vent. But this was not the worst thing. The worst thing was the smell. The walls were filled with damp and this caused a smell that made my throat surrow.Also, you could hear everything sound caused by other neighbors. Not to mention the sheets and towels were grey-ish instead of white.
Considering the above, after only 2 hours spent during the first night we decided to pay only for the first night and move to a different hotel. I fill that even paying for that single night was a waste of money.

Bonus: The breakfast was served in a room filled with ants.

Room Tip: Don't pick a windowless room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you want a budget hotel, this is for you. Forget about a flashy 5 star hotel in a ritzy location, this location is excellent, one street back from the river and 100m from shops, eats,pubs, MRT, all buses etc. etc.and best of all, you can get a decent Aussie breakfast. We stayed here last year and this year we had a windowless small room, but we were only here to sleep for 6 nights after all, not have a room party. Staff are very friendly and helpful, if your WiFi doesn't work, you can use the Hotel's broadband. In the evening we just bought a Subway takeaway, a few Tiger Tinnies and sat on the roof and watched the Lazer Light show and all the other glitter of Marina Sands Bay. We've stayed at many 5 star Hotels and to us, they aren't worth the money, this place is.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has a good location, very near to clarke quay & MRT (nearest clarke quay station & another will be raffles place station). Since it near to clarke quay station, when you go to china town, sentosa, USS, Vivo City then you not need to change MRT line. We stay a non-window room just next to lift, breakfast provided but not much choice and taste not bad, overall is acceptable. The staffs suggest us walk to Raffles Place Station when go changi airport, then we not need change many MRT line compare take from Clarke Quay Station. The staffs very helpful, teach us the best way go to airport & help us print out the aquarium tickets.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Today I checked out this nice hotel and need staying another couple nights at another hotel in Singapore for my biz trip.
I rated excellent here because of some reasons below:
- staffs are helpful, they helped changing my room immediately when I figured out that internet not working good.
- Internet access was good at 6th floor and lobby
- Room to me is too small per experienced staying with another hotel with this price in other countries, but that's ok cuz we know that Singapore is pretty expensive.
- Breakfast acceptable.

I did recommend one of my friend to stay here when he come back Singapore next month.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Room is small (acceptable) but it's location is very convenient. A few minutes walk can reach the MRT station and also the Clarke Quay. The breakfast is ok but don't expect too much. The free wifi signal is not strong (especially at night). The staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Don't take the family room on 4th floor. Try and you will know why.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Hotel is in a very good location, you can walk in one of the best areas of the city, close to MRT station and also to nightlife.
The rooms are small, but have everything you need for a short stay and also the staff is very helpful and nice.
If you are on a budget and want to stay close to many attractions and in Clark Quay it is a good option.

Room Tip: The rooms are small but have everything you need for a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jayleen 1918 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jayleen 1918 Hotel

Address: 42 Carpenter Street, Singapore 059921, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Singapore
#137 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#137 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jayleen 1918 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Jayleen 1918 is affordably priced and located right in the City Centre, close to the Singapore River, Boat Quay and Clarke Quay Entertainment District.It is walking distance to Raffles Place, Chinatown, The Esplanade, and within 2km to Suntec City Convention Centre and Marina Bay Sands Convention Centre and Hotel.Both Tourists and Business Visitors alike find this hotel ideally located and suitably priced.The Hotel has a heritage look, both on its external facade, as well as in the decor of its rooms, while being modern, recently built with Free Wifi and Free Local Telephone Calls. A sumptuous American Buffet Breakfast is also included in the room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Jayleen 1918 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jayleen 1918 Hotel Singapore
Jayleen 1918 Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jayleen 1918 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.