We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little hotel & great staffs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jayleen 1918 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jayleen 1918 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Carpenter Street, Singapore 059921, Singapore   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 291 hotels in Singapore
KL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charming little hotel & great staffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is about 45mins - 50mins MRT ride away from the Changi Airport. Alight from Clark Quay MRT station and get out at exit E to Central shopping mall. Walk across the pedestrian bridge and heads towards Carpenters St to the right of back of the escalator.

The roof top have an amazing view! The location is simply accessible to almost anywhere! Chinatown is just 10 minits walk away. Clark Quay & Boat Quay is a stone throw away also.

The staffs are very friendly and helpful.

We booked the Economy room. The room is not big but its practical. We got a room on the 2nd floor. Across the back lane, there were a building lot being torn down and in the midst of being rebuild. Constructions starts in the morning. For those folks who is easily disturbed by noise, its advisable to select a room that is not facing the back lane. The shower is kind of small, for a large person this maybe a challenge! When we got into the room, the smells are kind of musty but the A/C clears the smell away after awhile.

Tips: The SAEX shuttle is just around the corner at the junction of Hong Kong St, in front of the Chinese Medicine Shop on the corner. SAEX shuttles brings you to a lot of locations such as the Zoo/Night Safari. Check out their website for details.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
24
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Splendora, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. I booked it because I was only in town for a very short period of time, and it was conveniently located near my meeting place and priced well. I was very impressed. The staff was wonderful! It really feels like a comfortable, family environment. They late arrival and early departure due to my international flights was no problem at all. The room was small, but fine for business travel, clean, had all the necessary amenities, and a comfy bed. The wifi in the hotel works very well and was free! The best part was the roof-top patio. It was great for watching the sun rise, relaxing after meetings, etc. Breakfast had a nice selection, especially for a small hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed in Jayleen 1918 several times I made to my favourite hotel for short visits to Singapore. Situated at the beginning of Chinatown, 3 minutes from Boat Quay, 6 minutes from Clark Quay, 10 minutes from financial district and 8 minutes from City Hall it makes this hotel to one of the best locations in town (if you don't insist going shopping on Orchard). The rooms are well equipped and clean, internet is working at high speed, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The only complaint is the rather simple breakfast.

Room Tip: book early in advance, they are often sold out. You can also book a triple room for almost the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murska Sobota, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay and would definitely choose this hotel again for my next visit! It is very near Qlarke and Boat Quay in 3min walking distance. It is located on a quiet street with a lot of bars nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

And brilliant rooftop garden area with views across Boat Quay and the stunning downtown skyline. I have stayed here a number of times and would recommend Jayleen 1918 to everyone. Having experienced many other hotels in Singapore, I would always say that this is my favourite.
You should not expect a lavish banquet for breakfast, but you can expect to find everything you need within five minutes walk of the hotel. The rooms are basic but very clean. I like Jayleen 1918 because it gives you more of a feel for the Singaporean culture. You feel like you are part of the downtown environment.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for one of the Superior Queen Rooms at the front of the hotel. Be aware there are som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

When I travel, I travel to see the place and not the hotel! So I always go for a no-nonsense hotel. I don't really care if the hotel has a swimming pool or other luxuries. I spend my money on visiting tourist attractions and not on the hotel. In that sense, this is a perfect hotel in Singapore. It is a hotel offering a comfortable stay at Clarke Quay (a very convenient place for tourists - well connected and near to many tourist attractions like Sentosa, Marina Bay etc.).
The pluses are: a small and cosy hotel so it's quiet, very friendly and helpful staff, clean, wi-fi enabled.
The only weak area is that the breakfast can have more variety i.e. if you are going to stay here for 4-5 nights.
Overall, I would say that this is not a "over-engineered" hotel and provides a value-for-money stay at Singapore.

Room Tip: Choose a room that accommodates +1 person. i.e. if you are a couple then a room can accommodate 3 pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights and it was a pleasant stay. I booked the deluxe family room. Nice room and facilities, not to mention the perfect location. And the price is the best of all. It didn't feel like I was staying at a budget hotel, because for me comfy bed, clean room, clean sheets, nice bathroom are all that matters. Breakfast was very good (it's very subjective, tho), the staffs were nice n helpful. I visited SG for work with my 2 other colleagues and I chose this hotel so I can save more for the shopping spree! For vacation next time I'll definitely choose this hotel again.

However, I still got one unresolved question in my mind, tho, regarding the hot shower. I really like hot shower but the thing is that the hot water never lasted long enough like only 15 minutes. Was it on purpose? Because the hotel might have a policy of electricity saving or else hahaha, was ok tho, but I would have given five stars rating if you got unlimited hot water.

Room Tip: I don't think the rooms are very spacious so if there's only 2 of you, you can book the delu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jayleen 1918 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jayleen 1918 Hotel

Address: 42 Carpenter Street, Singapore 059921, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Singapore
#120 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jayleen 1918 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Jayleen 1918 is affordably priced and located right in the City Centre, close to the Singapore River, Boat Quay and Clarke Quay Entertainment District.It is walking distance to Raffles Place, Chinatown, The Esplanade, and within 2km to Suntec City Convention Centre and Marina Bay Sands Convention Centre and Hotel.Both Tourists and Business Visitors alike find this hotel ideally located and suitably priced.The Hotel has a heritage look, both on its external facade, as well as in the decor of its rooms, while being modern, recently built with Free Wifi and Free Local Telephone Calls. A sumptuous American Buffet Breakfast is also included in the room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jayleen 1918 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jayleen 1918 Hotel Singapore
Jayleen 1918 Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jayleen 1918 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.