We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average quality, good budget & location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jayleen 1918 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jayleen 1918 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Carpenter Street, Singapore 059921, Singapore   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$20 Discount Voucher Now!
Ranked #120 of 290 hotels in Singapore
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Average quality, good budget & location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pictures tell everything, it's nothign special but fulfils the need of staying. Very nicely located in the city, short stroll to few MTR's to reach everything. Shopping center, places to eat and main sights are just around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    19
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Russia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A nice hotel is located in the middle of Singapore close to the main sights, shopping areas, MTRs. Personnel is polite & nice speaking very good English. Breakfasts are just ok (almost the same every day. Laundry is given & recieved at reception yourself (give it up to11 am so to have it back next day). The room was small, bathroom had some black mold in it, the linen was ok but not very white. The price is mainly for location which makes this hotel worthy staying in.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms looking out the construction. It s too noisy down there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Jayleen 1918 in Carpenter St for only 2 nights in February 2014 while on our way to India.
I booked a Family Deluxe room which had 3 single beds to ensure that we had sufficient room, using one of the beds for our bags.
No need to post pictures as the room looks exactly like the website.
A/C and wifi was very good as was hot water and the bathroom was large - room overall was very clean.
Beds were comfy and we slept well. A common feature of Singaporean beds however is that they are short. I am a short person myself and found my feet hanging over the end of the bed. Taller people may find this a major issue if staying for a longer period in any of the cheaper hotels in Singapore.
Reading local papers you will see beds advertised with five foot mattresses!
Breakfast mainly catered to the taste of domestic tourists but Clarke Quay is nearby with a Starbucks and a hawker's centre. Breakfast is such a subjective meal i hesitate to recommend anywhere but there are lots of choices.
Over the road from Jayleen there is another hotel with ads for cheaper accommodation in walking distance from $35 Singapore for dorm beds.
Bear in mind that check in times in Singapore are not until 3pm at most hotels - at Jayleen check in is 2pm - time your flight accordingly or arrange early check in.
At another nearby hotel we paid $30 for early check in at 9am - it was well worth the money after a night flight.
One thing about Jayleen - if leaving early in the morning, we had asked the night manager to organise a taxi for us without realising there was a rank over the road.
He arranged for a specific cab who appeared to be a friend to take us to the airport - this guy charged us twice the going rate $50 as opposed to the usual $25.
Watch out for this as when you exit the hotel taxis will approach you if you have booked or not, even at 4am.

Room Tip: I would book a family deluxe room again, purely for the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in a triple room for 3 nights in August 2013. The Jayleen is in a central position, Chinatown and Clark Key are within some minutes of walk. The room was very small and always umid (we had to keep the A/C always on, but I guess it's standard in Singapore). I never had breakfast, so I can't say if it was ok or not.
Choose this hotel if you want to stay in the center of Singapore without spending too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Struisbaai, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely Hotel, close to Clarke Quay, Funan Digilife Mall and Clarke Quay MRT station. The rooms are extremely small but the embroidered bedding, Bar Fridge, great shower and comfortable bed make up for it. You also get free Wi Fi and bottled water in the room. The flkat screen TV has CNN, CNBC, HBO and Australia Chennels.
Breakfast is very tasty with eggs made to order (if you don't fancy the pre-prepared scrambled eggs), Asian Noodles, Fried Rice, fruit, cereals, Tea and Coffee included in room price.
The Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.
Overall, Singapore is very very expensive, so taking that into account, not a bad deal S$ 190 per room per night.
We had room 209 which unfortunately only has a view of an inside courtyard.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed 3 nights here, and while it's not the greatest hotel you'll ever stay in, it is comfortable, at a very good price, with pretty friendly staff.

My only concerns were that the wifi was quite slow in my relatively small room, and the breakfast always seemed to be cold. Other than these things, i had an enjoyable and fairly hassle free stay, except for one occasion we had staff barge in to our room unannounced to check our airconditioning.

Would i stay here again? Yes i would

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Small size room and weak wifi in room or on each floor. And, the breakfast was provided but a little poor than its price

However nice and kind staff at front and excellent location very near from quay, marina bay and chinatown.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jayleen 1918 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jayleen 1918 Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Jayleen 1918 Hotel Singapore
Best Western Jayleen 1918 Hotel
Jayleen 1918 Hotel Singapore
Address: 42 Carpenter Street, Singapore 059921, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#120 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#120 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jayleen 1918 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Jayleen 1918 is affordably priced and located right in the City Centre, close to the Singapore River, Boat Quay and Clarke Quay Entertainment District.It is walking distance to Raffles Place, Chinatown, The Esplanade, and within 2km to Suntec City Convention Centre and Marina Bay Sands Convention Centre and Hotel.Both Tourists and Business Visitors alike find this hotel ideally located and suitably priced.The Hotel has a heritage look, both on its external facade, as well as in the decor of its rooms, while being modern, recently built with Free Wifi and Free Local Telephone Calls. A sumptuous American Buffet Breakfast is also included in the room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Venere so you can book your Jayleen 1918 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jayleen 1918 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.