We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative ambience, great service, delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artichoke

Artichoke
161 Middle Road (Sculpture Square), Singapore, Singapore
63366949
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #335 of 7,750 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Brand new, fabulous food at low prices, excellent presentation, a jewel in the rough
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
499 reviews 499 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Creative ambience, great service, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Artichoke was probably my Fave new restaurant of this trip to Singapore; very creative ambience (old church set in the energetic and colorful Bugis area), delicious food and very attentive service (from both the owner and the friendly and attentive servers- i can't say enough about the service since my experience in other restaurants was absolutely disappointing)

The owner was so on top of things- spotted my parents with us and knew exactly how to approach the challenge, made awesome recommendations and came back over and over again to check on us.
The waitstaff was smart and friendly- very well-trained servers.
The food was delicious, from the Meze Platter to the Lamb Shiska (sp) and my sis's Haloumi cheese salad. The date pudding was delicious too.

Prices are very reasonable; brunch is only served on the weekends. We'll be back to check out dinner service!
Be sure to make reservations

Highly, highly recommend

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    42
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We waited 40 mins until the first dish will be prepared. During that time we ate bread and even lost appetite. The restaurant was not packed, just a usual evening on Sat. when we ordered beer, they forgot to bring it so we had to remind. And I was with guests which I invited. Plus the prices are very expensive for a small portion. Definitely never go there again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tapas-style food, cozy setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Interesting concept of serving food tapas-style (but selection is not just the usual tapas fare). Highly recommend the chicken, cheese, pork and beet root. Although the outdoor seating is very charming, can get hot and stuffy given Singapore's climate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious, unique brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We came to Artichoke without a reservation (I would recommend one as we got lucky with a bar spot) and had a lovely experience. Had their set brunch which was an interesting spread of Med/Leb samplings. Bit pricey though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend recently had dinner at Art-i-choke and I was very impressed with the quality of the tapas dishes. It was my girlfriend's second time eating there and I now know why she brought me. There is both indoor and outdoor seating areas and there was a great buzz and atmosphere in the restaurant. We started with reasonably priced starters and the main courses were very generous. The quality of the food is excellent and I would recommend Art-i-Choke to anyone looking for a relaxed tapas meal. P.S. Go for the Chocolate Cookie Desert!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artichoke also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Artichoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artichoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.