We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice for the backpackers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River City Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added River City Inn to your Saves list
River City Inn
33C Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best choice for the backpackers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

A very pleasant stay in this place for 4D3N with my friends. Good location and very near to Clark Quay MRT station, easier and convenient for people who travels around by using MRT. Comfortable, clean and tidy place, make me feels like I'm at home. If you doubt where to go, can just ask the staffs so that they will recommend the place and direct you the way. Definitely will stay here again when visiting Singapore for the next time!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    164
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
29
54
311
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Near Metro Rail Transit so you can easy to go anywhere in Singapore. all friendly staffs are very kind, i just stayed 2 night though i'd visit and stay again if i have chance to have more days in Singapore

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Excellent. Good place, good services, very clean. I am very happy be there. I feel like my home. The officer very nice, assist to me during I stay there. Also secure place so no worried about your baggage.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Everything inside is clean and neat including bathroom and the room. The service is good and it is perfectly safe. Besides, the location is very good as well because Clarke Quay MRT station is just nearby and Chinatown is just ahead of Clarke Quay MRT station. The whole trip is just sitting MRT and it is very convenient to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hostel is in very good location. It's only 3 minutes walk to Clarke Quay MRT station & bus station. The location is in walking distance to Marina Bay, Clarke Quay and Boat Quay. It is only one station away from China Town and Dhoby Ghaut (when you want to Go to Orchard Road), and two stations away from Harbor Front (when you want to go to Sentosa Island). It is a very small hostel, though, but it offers you the best value of money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Staying at River City Inn during my trip to Singapore was probably my best decision. The hostel is conveniently located on Hong Kong Street, which is close to Clarke Quay and Boat Quay and not too far from Chinatown. There was a metro stop across the road, but I ended up walking everywhere because it was more enjoyable.

The hostel is clean, well decorated, and provides a great atmosphere. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

It was nice stay at River City. Friendly and helpful and funny staff, located so convenient area accessible to any night spot Clark Quay and bar Boat Quay by foot. Facilities're also confortable.
Yeah so I must stay again. Thank you guys, see you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Address: 33C Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.