We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River City Inn

Save Saved
You added River City Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River City Inn
33C Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great little hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just stayed 2 nights. Really enjoyed the stay.

Nice quite location. Super comfortable bed and wonderful location. Clarkes Quay and Boat Quay 5 mins away. MRT at Clarke Quay so handy too.

Biggest dorm room I have ever stayed in, have to say it was great. Secured too, key card entry system. Even the baggage store was controlled its luggage tags like a major hotel.

Would I stay again, yes certainly.

Daniel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    135
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
29
49
269
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Love the location, few steps to MRT and Clarke Quay also Chinatown. Helpful and friendly staffs also clean, comfortable & cozy room.
Its on 4th floor of the building with no elevator, that's bit difficult for people who bring big luggage with heavy stuffs but overall it was good place to stay..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is my first hostel and of course i chose it because the reviews and ratings, and when i arrived there, i know that my decision is right, the hostel is really clean, the staff is really great and helping. and it's near the Chinatown, Clarke Quay and Boat Quay by walking. The breakfast is also great, and we're really had a great time there, knowing that we can socialize with the other guests as well after we explore Singapore . keep up the good work !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is great and it was our second time staying here. We love how clean it is! The one downside that I don't like is that they turn the air off during the day in the large bedroom, but it basically forces you to get out and see Singapore. However, after a long day in the heat it would be nice to come home to a cool room. We love the breakfast, fast wi-fi, and relative quietness after being jet lagged coming from the US. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I found this hostel on tripadvisor and booked based on the excellent reviews, however my experience was a different story :

The bad...
1) air conditioning - the owners of this hostel are very 'tight' when it comes to the air conditioning! It was turned on at night (lowest volume) and turned off at about 9 ish in the morning. I struggled to sleep at all, it was unbearably hot!

2) service - aside from the young male, the staff were rude. We were not allowed to take bottles of water into our dorms. Shoes had to be taken off at the door & you were limited to a couple of slices of bread in the morning. I did sometimes feel like I was on a school trip!

3) ambience - none at all! Silent most of the time, if you are looking to meet people this hostel is not the place to do so!

4) dorm - I was based in a 26 bed mixed dorm, very noisy (snoring) and stuffy due to the lack of air conditioning, we were also told not to open the windows!

The good...

1) great location - right next to Clarke quay.

2) clean - nice showers and bathrooms! Although they did clean them at 5/6ish which was inconvenient if you are wanting to shower before heading out for the evening.

3) freebies - there was a constant supply of drinking water, noodles and a few sweets on offer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivercityinn, Manager at River City Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
The air-conditioning in the dorms are turned on for 12 hours through the night and the air-conditioning in the common area are turned on throughout the day for in-house guests. Should the temperature be too warm for your comfort, please let our staff know and we will make the necessary adjustments. We seek your understanding that we cannot make the air-conditioning too cold because we need to take the welfare of other guests into consideration as well. Windows should of course be shut when the air-conditioning is turned on to ensure that the room remains cool in hot and humid Singapore.

It is stated clearly in the terms and conditions before you make a reservation regarding footwear in the hostel,"To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted". Please read before booking.

It is also stated clearly before entering all dorms that no food and drinks(sweet drinks or drinks in cups) are allowed in the dorms. Please read. This is to ensure that the drinks do not attract ants to upkeep the cleanliness of the dorms for all guests. Cups of water are also not encouraged (bottled water is fine) because we had several bad experience of guests(who are adults) pouring water all over the mattress, creating a mess.

Breakfast is free flow for all.

The hostel is quiet during the day when everyone head out for sight-seeing. More guests are in-house in the evenings but many guests also head out for partying at night. Atmosphere in the hostel really depends on the crowd. Dorms are quiet for resting as we have a lights-out and noise level control after 11pm. Guests snoring is beyond our control and the hostel should not blamed because of snoring guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed a few nights and was instantly made welcome with a refreshing glass of cold water after a hot, sticky journey. Climbing the stairs isn't for the faint hearted if you have heavy luggage, but clean facilities - dorms, showers/WCs, and communal areas - and freshly laundered bed linens await your efforts. Don't forget to leave your shoes in the locker outside to save any marks/mess on the floors, and you get a mat for your luggage too. Good location, almost opposite Clarke Quay MRT, make for easy access to everywhere you need to see/be on a short visit. Would stay again on future visits to Singapore

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

They clean the showers and bathrooms so often. It's almost too much. But good for them.

The breakfasts are just peanut butter and Nutella with bread, plus bananas, but I guess that's OK because I'd just be eating noodle soups if I had breakfast elsewhere.

Never felt like I shouldn't be there. Always welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Address: 33C Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 182 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.