We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for budget traveller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River City Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added River City Inn to your Saves list
River City Inn
33C Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book with us now!
Ranked #17 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“perfect for budget traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was my first time travelling alone and it was too expensive to book a hotel room in Singapore so I started looking into hostels instead - i can came across River City Inn which was the PERFECT accomodation for a budget traveller (and groups too!).

LOCATIONS: it is about 5-7min walk from Clarke Quay SMRT station and is very accessible. The street is very safe and across from a 7-11 store. It is also about 5 min walk from a major shopping center called Central.

STORAGE & SAFETY: luggage is kept under your bunkbed and valuable/personal belongings can be stored in a locker (about 1m x 30cm x 30cm) next to your bed.

AMENITIES: there is shared bathroom and toilets (3 of each) which is always kept very clean. There is a laundry service ($8SNG/load) that is on offer too.

COMMON AREAS: there is a common area with couches, TV, books where you can relax after the day of walking around. There is also a dining room table with full kitchen utensils, tea and coffee. There is a fridge were you can store your food and drinks. To keep the hostel clean, once indoors, there is a no-shoe policy which means that all shoes needs to be kept outside in a box.

ROOMS: there is mixed dorm with 26 beds (bunkbeds) and two 6 bed dorms. Each bed has own bedlight and power plug (electric plug converter provided). For privacy, there is curtains that can be drawn on either side of your bed. There is a 9pm lights out policy in which the lights are switched off and the doors closed to each room which provided much needed quiet for those travellers who wanted to sleep early.

BONUS: fantastic high speed FREE wifi (also two computers for public use) and also FREE breakfast (basic fruit, bread, jam and butter, tea and coffee)

Overall, it was fantastic experience living in the hostel and it provided the perfect gateway for me to explore Singapore. The reception staff were extremely helpful in providing me tips and advice for places to travel and they also have special offered on tickets too.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank just_is_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Me and my 2 friends had a very nice experience here. We we're greeted nicely by the inn keeper at that time. It's just like we've known each other for a long time. We suddenly felt home in this hostel and in singapore. We were treated like a family here, not as a guest. The location is perfect, 2 mins from nearest mrt station, and most importantly near the river. If you like to chill in the nice bar or restaurant alongside the river, this is the place for you. So river city inn its a highly recommended place to stay :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanJanJanuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranas, Sweden
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great location to a reasonable price. You get what you can ask from a hostel. Wifi, ac, light breakfast and a good bed. Friendly and helpful staff. Location is good and you won't find many options at this price in central Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for six nights
very nice to live here
a clean, warm atmosphere, and quiet at night

Service was very friendly
we made ​​at home

Place strategic enough to make us not to bother if we want to travel

Close to Clarke Quay MRT, maybe it only takes about 5 minutes
For eating places can also be found in the Central Mall and there prices are very affordable

and we will definitely return to this place

Room Tip: If you are easily awakened, do not get near the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_samuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Only hope the room mate really tolerant in early morning , keep make the noise . Other than than I had good stay so far : )really convenient place , clean ( it was super clean ) , comfortable . If I visit Singapore next time defiantly will come back to stay here again .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koonwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

i love this hostel.everything is good.Staff very friendly.room is clean.they have wifi,universal adaptor,shower crea, shampoo in shower room.i met many friends from many country.i can walk from here to china town,raffleplace,boatquay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ApichatJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imus, Cavite, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked last June 2012 thru travelerspoint. Initially, we were supposed to stay for 8 days, we have paid the deposit which is 10% of the total amount. Unfortunately our worked required us to change hostel the next day we came in, we decided to stay for 2nights instead. Since we haven't paid the amount, the 10% I paid and an additional fee should suffice my 3days/2night room due. To my surprise, they will not be crediting the whole amount. Instead. They will just credit the 2 nights out of the 8days, which means the 80% of my payment will be forfeited. I know there are certain rule you follow but I find this inconsiderate. Because I have not cancelled my reservation, I used it in fact it's 3days and 2nights and yet the whole amt was not credited, so disapointing.

And also, the hostel is located on the 4th flr without any elevators. Terrible, because its exhausting to be carrying a 20kgs luggage after a tiring trip, and no one from the hostel offered help to take it up for me for inconvenience caused/ extra mile service considering I arrived in SG at 1am.

Having the common area air conditioned at night is a plus point, as well as curtains on the bunk beds. But snoring is a major problem on hostels specially if you're sharing with quite a crowd (24 people). I also find the hostel prone to people sleeping and going home late at night or during dawn after a booze in Clarkey, so people walking in the room. screeching the door and feet tapping is a good way to ruin a persons sleep. so if you are in SG not as a party animal and would prefer a quite hostel instead, try other hostels not within Clarkey area, because throwing up inside rooms and late night sleeping people are norms on these kinds. But if you love that idea, then by all means, stay in this hostel, this is for you!

Room Tip: Better if you have a guy with you on your trip. They can certainly help carry your luggage :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhemabethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivercityinn, Manager at River City Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Please note that any changes in booking will result in all deposit paid being forfeited. In this case, out of kind intentions, we took into consideration the deposit paid for 2 nights stay. Please note that all deposit do not come to the hostel but is being paid to the booking engine used to secure the booking.

It is stated in the terms and conditions that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage building without a lift. Please read all terms and conditions carefully before securing any booking.

We are doing our best to ensure that you have a great stay with us in Singapore but guests need to understand that we are unable to control the type of sleepers and crowd in the hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
#1 of 305 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#47 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,874 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court
Swissotel Merchant Court
#60 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#12 of 305 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 4,127 reviews
The Quays
Quarters Hostel
Quarters Hostel
#29 of 211 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Hostel
Adler Hostel
#13 of 211 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Address: 33C Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing