We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Serene Boutique Hotel in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fort Canning to your Saves list
Hotel Fort Canning
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Canning Walk, Singapore 178881, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Love Blossoms Package
Ranked #38 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Serene Boutique Hotel in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here twice with my wife. Once in a premium room and another time in a premium luxe room. Rooms were clean and spacious. Modern amenities like Nespresso machines and I-pod docking stations are available. Electronic blinds, air conditioning system and room lighting can be controlled using a bedside touch control pad or the television.
Tried their room service and it wasn't bad. Ordered sandwich which came with salad and fries and the portions were huge. The hotel spa is not bad too. Staffs were efficient and friendly. Overall, it's a wise choice if you're planning to stay in the city without the inevitable hustle and bustle.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Laksh85,

Thank you for staying with us a second time, and for your lovely review!

We are glad to note that you found the rooms clean and spacious, and you appreciated the room amenities and mod-cons. We are also gratified that you enjoyed our room service and spa. Most of all, we are delighted that you found our staff efficient and friendly, and they have been greatly motivated by your kind words.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    187
    60
    32
    31
See reviews for
70
304
40
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a stopover on our way to Bali. Having visited Singapore in the past I have always been impressed by the standard of hospitality and quality of hotels in the city area. Fort Canning Hotel is situated on a large parkland site hosted in an historical building that is aesthetically impressive in its bold stature upon a hill in a comparatively remote area of Central Singapore. The grounds are vast and house many points of interest such as museums and national archives. It is a short walk to the quay and within reasonable walking distance to orchard road. However, the humidity and the geography of the hotel within the park can make this a little awkward and taxis are recommended to make this more manageable for getting around generally. The standard rooms are well kept and clean and provide good general amenities. They are smaller than expected and when compared to other, less expensive hotels in the area. Each room is full of mod- cons including touch sensitive lights, Nespresso coffee makers, electric blinds and doors to the wet room bathing areas. These are nice touches but feel a little unnecessary when you need to operate them every time you wish to use the bathroom or to let more light into the room. The pools are well designed and serviced and provide suitable relaxation and respite from the heat. The staff are friendly, helpful and service in the lounge area for food and drink was excellent. The evening cocktail/ bar waiter was exceptional and demonstrated an outstanding knowledge of cocktails and preparation; this was a highlight. There is nothing wrong with this hotel, it delivers well on all levels. It is clearly set up for weddings and events and can feel a little cold and formal if you are staying for pleasure rather than business. Knowing that other hotels in Singapore offer equal service quality, amenities and bigger rooms make it very hard to recommend this at the higher price charged. This is a shame.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Gorbylicious,

Thank you for staying with us and for your comprehensive review.

We are so glad that you found much to love at Hotel Fort Canning, from the convenient heritage park location to the colonial building the hotel is in, the cleanliness of the rooms and the good room amenities, the mod-cons and the well-designed swimming pools, the friendly and helpful staff and the excellent service. We have shared your compliments with the team and they have been greatly encouraged, especially Voltaire, our evening bartender at the Tisettanta Lounge.

We are well liked by many of our guests for our unique features- a 86-room hotel sitting on over 100,000 sq ft of land located within a 18 ha city park on a hill. We are 10 minutes walk away from the major shopping district, museum district and the MRT station and many of our guests who choose to stay with us generally find themselves ensconced in the best of both worlds. We are sorry that walking amidst the humid weather in Singapore is not conducive for you.

Hotel Fort Canning won the 2011 Urban Redevelopment Authority Architectural Heritage Award as the owners and the architects have made concerted efforts to respect and maintain the design intent of the mid 1920's architecture and have kept the french doors to allow guests to enjoy the conservation and colonial aesthetics and full view of the luxuriant park or city, depending on the choice of room.

In tandem with this, close attention was also paid to protect guest's privacy without compromising guest's convenience. The hotel thus invested in a state of the art control system for lights, blinds and airconditioning that has been well appreciated by most of our guests. We apologise that you did not find it to your liking.

Our Deluxe Rooms have an area of 34sqm, which is generally bigger than the average room of a hotel of the same category. Many of our rooms present unique bathroom designs set against a picture-window offering panoramic views of the park or city skyline. Guests can savour the elegant settings of the rooms featuring fabulous items by award-winning furniture designer Poltrona Frau. All hotel guests will enjoy complimentary aperitif hour daily and wifi service.

We do have many repeat and long staying guests who thoroughly appreciate all the positive elements mentioned above plus the exceptional service provided by our staff.

We hope to be of service to you in the near future.

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My family (2 kids, they are 1 & 3 years old) stayed in HFC (Hotel Fort Canning) from 28~31 Mar 2014.

We checked in at about 2200 and we just took few minutes to finish the check in process. The staff promptly arrange the room to us.

It is the room in G/F. It is very nice & cozy. My 3 years old son loved the easy chair very much!

The staffs in GlassHouse Restaurant were very friendly and helpful to my little guys!

The pool is comfortable and user friendly for family like us.

The Taxi calling services is very efficient.

Will stay again in HFC next time to Singapore!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear JudyMOK,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would like to thank you for your very nice review.

We are glad that you and your family had a good time at our hotel, and that your kids were well looked after. It is wonderful to know that you appreciated the comfort of your room, the family-friendly swimming pools and that your 3-year-old son loved our Poltrona Frau easy chair! We are most gratified that you found our staff very friendly and helpful - we have shared your kind comments with them to encourage them to strive for further excellence in service to our guests.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning again soon.

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a charming old building, well restored, located in the middle of a lovely green park, yet just a couple of hundred meters away from the hustle & bustle of Orchard Road and central Singapore.

But that's where the positive review ends I'm afraid.

I stay in hotels probably about 50 weeks a years, so I'd like tit in, that I have a reasonable sense for what is a good hotel, and what is not. Hotel Fort Canning isn't bad, but it's certainly not good. It lacks that "something" that makes good hotels good.

It's also certainly not a boutique hotel. They are typically small, intimate, maybe a little quirky and invariably give great service. Hotel Fort Canning is none of those.

Service beyond the front desk is very disappointing. Knowledge of the staff often lacking. Breakfast, (whilst it's all there), is a long way short of spectacular. WiFi is intermittent. The bar feels like your on Day One of a staff training course. And so on ......

An example of disjointed the hotel is, is ........... You can make yourself decaf coffee in your room. You can serve yourself decaf coffee in the lobby, but you can't get decaf coffee at breakfast! Go figure!

Disappointing. It's not cheap, (Singapore has so me very good hotels at these rates), and has much potential, but fails to deliver

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear GouldN,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review.

We are happy to know that you appreciated the restoration of the colonial building the hotel is in, and the convenient location in a heritage city park setting.

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a fabulous time at Hotel Fort Canning. We are very concerned that you found service beyond the front desk very disappointing - we will certainly take note of this and take the necessary action to correct this.

As for the decaffienated coffee, it is indeed available at breakfast, and we are looking into revamping our breakfast offering.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at the hotel 5 nights. From the point of arrival we felt more than welcome to this hotel. Service was excellent all the time and staff really polite and helpful.
Room was nice, well equiped and comfortable despite the fact that in the first floor you could hear every morning when laundry service car will arrive at 7 am when you are located in the corner room.
Location is excellent. Short walking distance to city center and the nearest MRT station.
We enjoying time in the pool you really don't feel that you are in the middle of big city.
Place for improvement is cleaning which level varied a bit during the week. Guest rooms were handled well but fitted carpets in the hallways would require vacuuming.
Overall very pleasant vacation in Singapore and Hotel Fort Canning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Ruonanoja,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and thank you for your lovely review!

We are delighted that you felt more than welcome at our hotel, and that you found our staff polite and helpful and the service excellent - we strive to make all our guests feel at home.

We are also very happy that you liked your room, the hotel location and landscaped swimming pools

Thank you for your feedback on the vacuuming of the corridor carpets - we have increased the number of times we do the vacuuming - but we are glad you found the level of housekeeping in the guest rooms well handled.

We certainly look forward to your staying again at Hotel Fort Canning soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woori Yallock, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had always stayed in the city, but this little boutique hotel is a must for a relaxing stay in this busy city. The Hotel Fort Canning is our choice from now on, as the location setting in a large park is so inviting. Still close to the MRT, you can walk around the park before breakfast and wonder where all the Singapore residents are. The Glasshouse Restaurant is a great place for breakfast and the rooms have modern fittings in a vintage decor. We will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear colinspain,

Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review!

We are delighted to be your "choice from now on"! We are equally glad that you appreciated the convenient location and city park setting, and The Glasshouse Restaurant for breakfast.

We are glad that you will be back and we certainly look forward to welcoming you in the near future!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Last Dec 2013, I booked 2 nights staycation for me and my wife to celebrate our wedding anniversary. A really good hotel for a romantic getaway. Staff was polite and helpful. Hotel was really clean. It had an awesome rustic ambience. Loved the idea of the hotel was one of Singapore's pre-historic building which they cleverly converted into a small hotel. The concept of the rooms are really unique. Our bathroom is located where usually a hotel's balcony would normally be. Really cool.

To get a nearest mall or train you will need to walk out because the hotel is nestled within Fort Canning Park. Be prepared to do some stair climbing as you will need to climb a few flight of stairs to get to the hotel when you are coming back from all that shopping. But we love to take walks so we did not complain.

Breakfast was so so. Wish they had more choices.

Wish they pay attention more to details. After dinner at a nearby restaurant as we walked back to our room, we noticed there are some room service utensils outside a room. As we walked on we also noticed a small towel on the floor. The next morning went going for breakfast, the same items are still there. Perhaps the staff regardless whether you are a room service waiter or housekeeping could just clear it away quickly. It was quite unsightly.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. We definitely will return.

Room Tip: choose the rooms facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Nazhan Singapore,


Thank you for choosing our hotel for your staycation last December and for your review.

We are delighted to have been the venue of your wedding anniversary celebration and that you appreciated the hotel as "good...for a romantic getaway", the staff for being polite and helpful, and the cleanliness of the hotel.

We are also glad that you liked the colonial architecture and our conversion of the heritage building into a contemporary hotel.

You will be glad to know that since you stayed with us, we now have a new Executive Chef. Chef Randy Torres has been instrumental in improving the menu choices at The Glass House, and this includes breakfast, so we hope you will visit us again for another staycation to enjoy his culinary creations.

We are sorry that the room service basket and towel left behind on the corridor marred your experience of our hotel. We are pleased to inform you that since your stay, these service lapses have been taken care of.

We certainly hope to welcome you again to Hotel Fort Canning soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Address: 11 Canning Walk, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#27 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fort Canning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.