We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Everything is Excellent , Gorgeous Hotel Park and Restaurant "” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fort Canning to your Saves list
Hotel Fort Canning
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Canning Walk, Singapore 178881, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“" Everything is Excellent , Gorgeous Hotel Park and Restaurant "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel is gorgeous great for newly wed.. Romantic place and staff is nice and helpful everything in there was of good quality and the feel of the room was just right -We had breakfast in the Glasshouse food is good quality and the location is great with romantic Fort Canning park the historical place in Singapore and near to the Malls ..etc is everything we need..
I love the Place its very memorable for us to celebrate my Wedding at Fort Canning Hotel and Restaurant .. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anaramosmartin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear anaramosmartin28,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials at Hotel Fort Canning! We are so happy that we could be part of that memorable day.

Thank you for your lovely review which we have shared with our staff to encourge them further to excell in their service to our guests.

We are very happy to note that you found the place romantic, the staff nice and helpful, the food in The Glass House of good quality, and very memorable for you of your wedding day.

We look forward to you coming back for another romantic stay with us soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a four night stay at the hotel and had a great time. Decor, service and location all contribute to create a fantastic hotel. The staff are extremely helpful, the rooms were comfortable and spacious and the pools were excellent. Would highly recommend a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 23Luke1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear 23Luke1983,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you so much for your excellent review!

We are delighted that you found the hotel fantastic because of the decor, service and location, and that you appreciated the staff, rooms and pools.

Thank you also for highly recommending Hotel Fort Canning to other Trip Advisor readers.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Hotel Fort Canning offers in my view a stunning luxurious experience out of the hussle and bustle of busy Singapore. Centrally located, yet tucked away in it's only world, the hotel exudes class ! From entrance to departure, you can expect the ultimate in service, whilst treating yourself to the very best on offer to the palate and beverage. The Glass House was my wife and I's favourite, however, Gattopardo, is also of a high quality. We have stayed here four times now over four years, and it is consistently first class.....

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the Premium deluxe room.... on a higher floor.... They are worth the extra SG6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrizzieCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear BrizzieCol,

First of all, thank you for repeatedly choosing to stay with us - it is the best evidence that you like it here and what we are offering! Thank you also for the very nice review. Your comment - We have stayed here four times now over four years, and it is consistently first class - is the highest praise indeed!

We are glad that in busy Singapore, we can be a haven for you that is still centrally located. We are deeply gratified with your comment on our service, and we have shared it with our staff who have been encouraged.

We are also very happy that you and your wife appreciate the offerings at The Glass House and Gattopardo as both strive to serve the best in Modern Asian and Southern Italian cuisines respectivelty.

We certainly look forward to your fifth stay with us at Hotel Fort Canning, and many more to come!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The staff are what makes this hotel. They are professional and listen to all your requests. The location is good especially if you want to explore the city away from the temptations of the shops. If you want to be close to the shops then this may not be the hotel for you (though the train station is very close) It is very quiet in fact there were some days that we wondered if there was anyone else staying at the hotel! This is a real treat.
It was lovely looking out your bathroom window and just seeing the lush greenery of the parkland.
I wonder how this hotel will age as you can see a lot of wear and tear. Especially in the bathrooms (paint coming off the bathroom doors and marks down the corridors)
There are a couple of areas for improvements. Only giving one towel per guest and not topping up toiletries like shower gel? Especially when there is no turndown service. I think for the prices you are paying two towels per person is not an unusual request. Though when we asked for extra towels it wasn’t an issue.
The other complaint is the interconnecting doors, in the middle of the night our daughter accidently shut the door. There is no way of opening the door without calling reception. This was frustrating as we couldn’t shut the door for privacy without it being locked! In fact it was annoying as sometimes you do not want the doors open. Every other hotel we have stayed out with our children you can shut the door then reopen it (without calling the hotel staff to reopen it)
The rooms are slightly on the small size. Book a premier or suite then you will be ok!

Room Tip: Request a parkside room and a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthHolidaysforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear PerthHolidaysforever,

Thank you for your staying with us and for your very candid review!

We have shared your very nice comments on the professionalism of the staff, the hotel location, and the park setting with the whole team at the hotel and we have been greatly encouraged - thank you so much!

We also appreciate your feedback on the maintenance of the hotel - we are currently in the midst of repainting all the hotel bathrooms with the right kind of waterproof paint that resists peeling.

As we strive to be eco-friendly, we provide all our rooms with two bath towels, two handtowels and two face towels. We are most happy to provide our guests with more towels should they request them. We also replenish the toiletries daily when we clean the rooms, so we are very sorry if the Room Attendant servicing your room had inadvertantly missed out replenishing them.

The interconnecting doors at the hotel have the added security feature of requiring a key to open them if they are locked or shut to prevent accidentally opening a door to another room. We are sorry that you found this frustrating.

In spite of the above, we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Location perfects very close to the city, best surrounding area in Singapore, no noise very quite and in the city, Hotel perfect modern design in very old building, Staff is wonderful, Rooms no comments words perfect is small for such low price, I have been travel to many world places either for business or pleaser I would say this is one of my favourite hotel, I have been sleeping so far 10 times and will be more for sure. Simply BRAVO you are my Sing address.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear IgorPapesh,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us repeatedly and for saying that Hotel Fort Canning is your Singapore address! This is high praise indeed from a world traveller, and we are both encouraged, yet humbled by it.

We are very happy that you appreciate our city park location, our "heritage outside, contemporary inside, hospitable all over" concept, and most importantly, our staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back many more times to Hotel Fort Canning!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

HFC is such a great hotel. Located next to a park in in the center of the city although really quiet. The staff is amazing, were extremely helpful with all my requests. The hotel lobby and rooms were super clean and this is definitely one of my top 3 hotels I have stayed at in the world so far.

Room Tip: King size deluxe room are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Jonathan M,

Your review has been one of the most brief, yet one of the most wonderful we have received - thank you so much for considering Hotel Fort Canning as "Absolutely Fantastic"!!!

We are deeply gratified that you found our staff to be amazing and extremely helful with all your requests. Our reason for being is to make our guests happy and comfortable, so it is great to hear that you are one such satisfied customer!

The cherry on top of the sundae was your comment - this is definitely one of my top 3 hotels I have stayed at in the world so far - which has left us both encouraged and humbled.

Thank you for staying with us and we so look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked a premium room which had a separate sitting area with views of the garden. The comfortable bedroom had a nespresso coffee machine which we loved. Pity there were not more capsules. There was also a flat screen tv. The lights, aircon and blinds were operated by a hi-tech controller located beside the bed. The large bathroom had a shower with a rain head, bath, scales and lots of extras. The hotel is in fort canning, a short walk to Orchard Rd and a stroll thru' the park to Clarke Quays. The park was beautiful. The hotel had 2 swimming pools, a lap pool and a sculpted pool. They had outlooks to the park and had ample shaded seating. Loved the hotel. It is an old, character building with a modern interior. It is only a small, low rise hotel with 3 floors. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My only gripe was the afternoon snacks and drinks supplied. There was wine, but no beer - I don't like wine. The finger food would be better described as finger nail food, the portions were very small and there was not very much of it. I would stay there again, but hope the drinks and food offerings for the 6-8pm afternoon tea will be improved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear ABegs,

It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Fort Canning and reading your positive review here.

Lovely to know that you found the bedroom comfortable, and that you appreciated the amenities and facilities provided, and the beautiful park setting.

We are particularly gratified that you found our staff very friendly and helpful, for after all, that is what hospitality is all about!

We are sorry that you did not like the wine and prosecco offered at Evening Cocktails, and found the canapes too small. As a prelude to dinner, we try to offer tasty bites that will not be overly filling but will whet the appetite for the rest of the evening to come.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#10 of 305 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
1.2 mi away
Goodwood Park Hotel
Goodwood Park Hotel
#38 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
YWCA Fort Canning Lodge
YWCA Fort Canning Lodge
#165 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.7 mi away
PARKROYAL on Pickering
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#19 of 305 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Innotel
Hotel Innotel
#96 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Address: 11 Canning Walk, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#50 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing