We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peacful & beautiful hotel set in a beautiful park surrounded by history...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fort Canning to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Canning Walk, Singapore 178881, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #41 of 290 hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A peacful & beautiful hotel set in a beautiful park surrounded by history...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My friend from KL, Malaysia booked the hotel which was on a very special offer. I flew in for a one night stopover to rendevous with her before continuing my journey. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly & attentive staff. I love the location of this hotel surrounded by a beautiful park & very close to the main shopping areas plus the underground rail service. During the afternoon complementary coffe & tea facilities plus biscuits, apples & chilled water are provided in the guest lobby. In the evening complimentary drinks & canapes are provided in the same area - such a lovely touch & a nice way of meeting other guests. My father served with the British army in WW2 and I remember him speaking of Fort Canning - so it was wonderful to roam around grounds where he once was.
Our room was a excellent size with a nespresso machine & modern restful decor with a spacious well thought out bathroom... The bed and pillows made for a wonderful nights sleep..
The breakfast in the new Glass House provided a wonderful selection of foods - again the staff were very helpful & attentive...
Also we had an excellent dinner in the Italian restaurant - I had spaghetti & fresh seafood. The swimming pools looked very inviting but we had no time. I would definately recommend this hotel & will definately stay there next time.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 3rd floor - I particularly liked the fact that you could have AC on or o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck-Hardy-GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

I am glad your friend booked your room with us at Hotel Fort Canning as you could reconnect with a place your father spoke about when he was in Singapore during WW2.
It's great to hear about all the little details you noticed during your stay and that our team was friendly and attentive.
I am delighted to read that your overall experience with us was excellent, that our restaurants were both great, and that our room provided you with all the luxurious comfort you deserve.

Thank you from the team and I,

Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    127
    45
    23
    28
See reviews for
50
210
30
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Incredibly helpful and attentive staff Wonderful views great technology in the rooms Hotels restaurant is excellent value for money The hotel pool is lovely A little on the expensive side but well worth the extra

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck-Hardy-GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your short but beautiful review of Hotel Fort Canning.
The team and I were so excited to receive a top mark from you and we are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us,

Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After much deliberation, my wife and I chose this hotel for a six night stay in Mid August. We were not disappointed. We loved it !!!. Right from the first moment of our arrival the staff were just fantastic ... really. After check-in we went down for the evening drinks, and found this to be a winner. Easily mixing with other guests, or just a quiet time to ourselves in a peaceful setting. Our room was terrific, .... breakfast was great and plentiful. It was lovely to unwind after busy days in the relaxing setting of Fort Canning Park Hotel. Will definitely stay again. A week was not enough in this hotel.

Ray H

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck-Hardy-GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Ray,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a beautiful review of Hotel Fort Canning and for praising our staff.
I am glad you enjoyed our location, our room and our breakfast, and we also can't wait to welcome you back very soon,

Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in Singapore only one night and one day but it was enough to appreciate this hotel. A big room, with a nice design and a nespresso machine. The bathroom is quite big with bath tube and shower.
We can also make a shower before to leave . The personnel was very kind and give us also suggestion to visit the city. The location is good ,peaceful because is in the park but with ( min walk you reach Orchard Road and Dolby gauth MRT Station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck-Hardy-GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Macina,

We are very glad to hear about your excellent stay with us while enjoying our "big room, big bath tub and shower", the location of our hotel and our staff.

Thank you so much for your excellent review,

Regards from the team,

Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Fort Canning for originally we thought for 1 night with wife. Fell In love with the place and ended up staying another two nights over the weekend, and suggesting some Indonesian friends stay with us as well.
The location, facilities, food, service and ambience of the hotel together with the friendliest of staff in any hotel in Singapore (and have stayed at most of the majors) was second to none.
Made for a wonderful few days stay combining business and some well needed rest and a little fun thrown in in the nearby well known Singapore entertainment and shopping facilities.
The integrity and honesty of the staff is beyond question as my wife left items in the room which were collected by the staff and we were advised of this oversight. A business associate will collect and return them to us in Jakarta in the week.
I have stayed in may hotels around South East Asia, and this is one of the best. Location, Heritage style building and great service from the team at the hotel made for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the Premium Room which has the extra space for business desk etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck-Hardy-GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Yusef,

We love your story regarding the extension of two more nights during your stay with us.
We truly appreciate that you enjoy "the location, facilities, food, service and ambience of the hotel together" and also extremely excited about your comment regarding "the friendliest of staff in any hotel in Singapore (and have stayed at most of the majors) was second to none". Truly thank you.

I am so glad our housekeeping team retrieved your left items from the room and that our lost and found department together with our front office team will hand over the items to your business associate.

Thank you for your excellent review,

Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Fort Canning over the past weekend for a staycation and got a room with complimentary evening drinks and breakfast included - it was supposedly 55% discounted and still over $300. For a normal price of more than $600 I honestly wasn't sure what to expect, but I wasn't disappointed. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a large bed, flat-screen tv, bathtub and marble-floored bathroom that faces the patio through a wall-to-wall window that stops halfway down for modesty. The furnishings are modern and tasteful, and there was a personalised greeting screened on the TV waiting for us when we got in - a very nice touch. The hotel also has two [actually three, if you count the baby pool] swimming pools filled with mineral water - I'm not too sure what that means, but the water wasn't chlorinated. The pools are quiet and surrounded by beautiful old trees - very peaceful.

The shower has transparent glass surrounding it and there are glass panels that look into the room - we had a peek into a few other rooms and most seem designed this way, so if friends or family are staying together a bit of adjustment is needed since nobody can use the toilet when someone's showering and the curtains separating the bathroom from the living area need to be drawn if anyone wants to take a bath as there's no privacy otherwise. It's a beautiful room but some wear and tear was evident - the room door's doorknob was coming off and the master lighting control didn't work.

We ordered room service for lunch and dinner, and then had breakfast the next morning. While everything was definitely not bad, the breakfast especially was rather so-so though I might have had unreasonably high expectations given the normal price of the room [though of course that may just be a pricing strategy and not the actual price anybody has ever had to pay.]

The location of the hotel is really beautiful - if you want something quiet away from the noise and nonstop bustle of the city center without being too far away this hotel is for you. It's right in the middle of quiet, picturesque Fort Canning, a historical site where you can explore Singapore's colonial and wartime past. A bit of a walk will bring you to the National Museum [and other smaller museums like the Philatelic Museum and the Peranakan Museum], and then further on and you've reached the Dhoby Ghaut/Orchard area where you can shop and eat and spend to your heart's content.

Now I come to the best part of this hotel - the service. The staff seemed genuinely happy to serve us - we were never kept waiting for anything, and everything was done calmly and efficiently with a smile. It was some of the best service I have ever had anywhere in Singapore. There's really no better compliment I can give considering that customer service here isn't always something to shout about.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the fort. The greenery is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck-Hardy-GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you for your detailed review of Hotel Fort Canning, and i am glad that our team delivered a level of service that you described as the best part of your experience.
We are always listening to our guest's feedback and reviewing them during our operational meetings, so rest reassured that all the comments you made have been internally addressed and discussed.
Thank you again for taking this time to review our hotel,

Warm regards,

Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

2 days into my visit - enjoying it! Modern amenities room - nice for a short term stay but would upscale to a larger room for a longer term stay.

Excellent breakfast buffet included in my rate -

Grace: staff member is wonderful!!! She makes everyone feel very special and always has a smile on her face - especially important to those of us who are away from home a long time solo(on a one month business trip)

suggest you consider this hotel in your travels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck-Hardy-GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the great title of your review, which reflects well who and where we are, quiet and serene environment while just a 5 minute walk from Orchard.
I am glad you enjoyed "the modern amenity room and our breakfast", and i was delighted to read that Grace made another customer feel home and served with a smile. I will praise her for her great attitude.

Warm regards,

Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore
Address: 11 Canning Walk, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Singapore
#38 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#41 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fort Canning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.