We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fort Canning to your Saves list
Hotel Fort Canning
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Canning Walk, Singapore 178881, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas in the Tropics
Ranked #43 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I recently stayed a week for business at the Fort Canning and i won't stay anywhere else now in Singapore. It is more like staying in a private members club than a hotel, ( What other htoel offer drinks and canops at 6pm) but with all the facilties that all top hotels offer. It is very central but being in the middle of the park and a very historicalal part of the city you feel away from the hustle and bustle but can be anywhere in 10 Mins. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, modern and with free Wi fi. The staff are soeme of the most helpful i have ever come across and nothing was too much trouble.
This is such a great hotel for a short or long stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    168
    55
    27
    31
See reviews for
65
270
37
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leura, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

If you are over the usual 5 star, high rise hotel andare looking for something different then this the Hotel Fort Canning is it !

Wonderful, secluded location away from the hussle and bustle of downtown Singapore

Very unique premises...i love that it's located in the old British Colonial Army HQ !

Kelson, Claire and the front office team are fantastic. They're not just helpful and knowledgeable...they enjoy their jobs. It makes a huge difference.

I will definately be back !

Room Tip: ask for a garden delux room....wonderful to have access to your own private outdoor garden !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This boutique property really surprised our senses, in a really good way. We took our parents on a relaxing short vacation to Singapore recently. Usually, we go for the 'Resort' type of accommodation, but through a recommendation by a business colleague, we went for 'Boutique'. Upon arrival, the entrance was well hidden from the main gate entrance. This was nice and appealing as it did not overcome with the fluster of the usual busy traffic to that of a resort. The classically dressed doorman welcomed us and guided us to the reception desk.
First impressions... Wow. From the stand alone wooden writing desks at reception, to the glass display floor, showing relics from earlier excavations. The reception room sweeps onto a luxurious lounge area with leather loungers available to relax on and with complimentary Nespresso Coffee, Tea, Juice & Bottled water made available to guests.
The suites are a good size, with king bed and all amenities, seperate stone floor bathrooms, stand alone bath tub & wash basin, large shower with rain forrest shower head & WC.
What places this property above others that I have stayed in over the years, is the extent of the 'Automation' in all rooms: Touch Control Panel, to control lights, air-conditioning and all the drapes & curtains. If you do not want to use the touch control, you can control using the television control panel, which also gives complimentary internet & email access. Fantastic.
The restaurant, to which we had breakfast daily, is great, not too crowded, very relaxed.
Overall, we were impressed. Looking forward to our next stay at Hotel Fort Canning

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth-WA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

This was a great experience from the start and a different side to the usual singapore hotel. Located within the fort canning parkland it is a peaceful oasis from the hustle and bustle of Orchard Road that is only a 5 minute walk away. The rooms are very spaceous with all the mod cons. The smart tv, chaise lounge and nespresso coffee machine are a really nice touch. The bathroom is the size of some hotel rooms i have been in and very well appointed with a rainshower and a huge seperate bath tub. The large window and high ceilings add to the feeling of space. A blind can be closed by using the touch pad, should you not feel ok about having it open whilst in the bathroom. The bed is the best i have ever slept in. The breakfast served in the Glass House restaurant was great, with the best selection and quality produce. We also dined in this restaurant on the first night and the meal was first class and i thought reasonably priced for a hotel. There are two swimming pools in the grounds surrounded by many forms of seating or lounges. The staff are very friendly. Complimentary tea, coffee, water and juice are available in a lounge area off the foyer all day with wine and canapes also available for a couple of hours in the early evening. Dhoby Ghaut station is a 5 minute easy walk, also a few restaurants the same distance nearby. All round this was an enjoyable stay and i did not want it to end. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

we stayed 1 day just to have fun but was great time not forget able its in our book of memory
romance day i really recommended for the couple who need to be relax, and enjoy
its was full of the romance woooooow since we got in our room till at the end of check out,
all because of the way of the room, view of the hotel,
bathroom was not problems for us the main issue here its to have romance fun,
hahaaaaaaaaaaaa

Room Tip: room on the south side, garden deluxe its the nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

very nice hotel, very central and closed to subway, in the middle of the fort canning park which is really nice.
Rooms are not so big but functional.
2 nice swimming pools where you can relax and swimm.
Breakfast : ok but not amazing. The room for the breakfast is less design than the rest of the hotel.
Service good.
Will come back again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Had a staycation here over the weekend and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The service was great all around, from the frontdesk and bell services, to the glasshouse staff. Probably one of the few places in Singapore where not only are you served with a smile, but with genuinity as well.

As a Singaporean, even Fort Canning is not exactly a familiar place to me, thus I can understand if taxi drivers have a hard time finding the hotel. But after staying there, I realised how convenient it actually is! It's literally a 5 minute walk to the MRT (the hill isn't that steep), and a 10 minute walk to Clarke Quay (this I never knew till the frontdesk staff told me about the quick walk in the park that leads you there in no time). And what makes this hotel special, is that despite its good location, it is still quiet as it is located in a park rather than a busy road. The pools (2 of them) were empty most of the time so it was nice to lounge there without having to fight for chairs, or fear swimming head-on into someone, which is usually the case in big hotels.

The room was modern, clean and very different from the usual carpetted rooms. The floors were parquet/marble and my room over-looked the park! I didn't have that many problems with the controls of the lighting etc, it just took a short while to get used to. Evening cocktails and free Wifi were a bonus.

On the whole a great stay, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers who like quiet retreats and good service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Address: 11 Canning Walk, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#41 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fort Canning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.