We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Little India” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wanderlust

Save Saved
You added Wanderlust to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wanderlust
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Dickson Road, Singapore 209494, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A gem in Little India”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at Wanderlust for three days during my recent trip to Singapore. The hotel is very special and has a very interesting interior design.
The rooms are very special unlike anything I have stayed in before. I got the white room, so everything was white. It almost seems like entering a large bathroom. There are two frosted glass cubicles in the room, in on is the toilet and the other the shower. At the end of the room there's a large bed. The (non alcoholic) minibar is complimentary and refilled every day. There is also a Nespresso machine for preparing coffee in the room.
The only drawback is the lack of storage space. I had to keep all my things in the suitcase on the floor.
The breakfast at the hotel is very good. It is a semi-buffet meaning some things like cereal, juices and toast are available from the buffet table. In addition to that, they serve a warm dish of your choice to the table. You can choose between bacon and eggs or pancakes etc.
The hotel is situated on a small on way street in Little India and due to a rather large road construction nearby (Nov '12) there is very much traffic in the early evening so getting there by taxi/car can take a long time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Niko H,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and thought that the breakfast was excellent. You may like to try our other room categories the next time you are with us, as each floor is designed by a different local design agency.

We hope to have you with us again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    183
    49
    17
    4
See reviews for
29
220
49
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great boutique hotel in Little India. We stayed in the orange room for 3 nights in May and had a lovely stay. The room is on the small side, but contains everything you need: great rain shower, Kiehl shower products, Nespresso coffee machine, comfy bed, good lighting and great aircon. The room was kept spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly. We loved the a la carte breakfast and muesli bar. Great start of the day.

On our next visit to Singapore we'll definitely stay at Wanderlust again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear yumyum5,

Warm greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are pleased that you felt that the rooms were well-provided for and that the team was helpful and friendly. Each floor is designed by a different local design agency, so the next time you are staying with us, you may like to request for a room in a different category.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and in the meantime, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

When i come, i need to wait until 3pm to get the room. The spa is broken and nothing is offered to compensate it. But the main disturbance is they still callling room at 2.30 until 4 am repeatedly only to check if i had extra guest who stays over. 2.30 am can you imagine? Terrible. Might be intending to charge another 100. I can book much better hotel at 350 and without all the hassle receptionist is stalking everything i do. The design is nice, but with the ill manner reception i recommend to stay out. This is my second time here and sure will be the last.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Irsandy,

Greetings from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your feedback.

We are disappointed that your stay fell short of expectations.

Our check-in time is 3pm, and any early check-in requests are subject to room availability upon arrival at the hotel.

In order to better serve our guests, we are currently undergoing refurbishment for our Jacuzzi.

We understand your frustration, however, it is the hotel's policy that only 2 registered guests are allowed to stay overnight in the rooms. It is stipulated in the hotel’s confirmation letter that unregistered guests have to leave the hotel’s premises by 2300hrs, and failure to comply will result in extra adult charges.

We seek your kind understanding on this matter, and we do regret any inconvenience caused during your stay. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in a Pantone room, only issue was access to bed but once in very comfortable.Excellent service from very friendly staff, great breakfasts and we were given late check out as Spa closed for renovations.Quirky,different but overall we would highly recommend this hotel Only complaint was noise from open air restaurant next door ..Next time we would upgrade to a normal room on next level

Room Tip: Pantone rooms better for younger guests as bed access difficult
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear mgcolin53,

Hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your great feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Housed in a conservation building, we recognize that some of the rooms are quite compact. Perhaps you may like to request for a quiet room in the Mono room category the next time you are staying at Wanderlust.

We hope to have the opportunity to impress you again!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the Wanderlust in Singapore. We were booked into a Mono room on the 3rd floor. After checking in, we discovered a small problem with the room. A call to reception, and we were visited by a couple of the reception team. Shortly after, we were moved to another room for the duration of our stay. The team were most apologetic, but very eager to make everything from this point onwards, right.
The new room was great. Decor was rather clever, and had illuminated silhouettes on the walls. The frosted glass toilet looks unusual, but there is more privacy than expected. The shower is similarly frosted. The toiletries were Shanghai Tang, and smelt sensational. The complimentary minibar, and Nespresso are handy.
You have to think a little about how you store your luggage, but it doesn't become a huge problem.
The bar and lobby downstairs were neat, and the collection of unusual chairs gave it quite a cool ambience. The restaurant, Cocotte looked great with its coloured metal chairs. The breakfast buffet wasn't huge by classic buffet standards, but the freshly cooked options make up for that. There are fresh pastries served, and there's cereals, and muesli too.
The hotel is situated in little India, near Jalan Besar. Currently there is capital works as the new downtown rail line is built, and the congestion will disappear as the works are completed. The new station will literally be on the hotel's doorstep. Outside this, it is around a 10 minute walk to the Little India MRT station, give or take.
There's quite a lot of dining options in the area including food centres across the road, and a number of indian restaurants down towards Serangoon Road.
Got to say I was really happy with my stay at the Wanderlust, and would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear QldTiger,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and that you will be coming back again. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Until then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights after a cruise we were plesently supprised to be upgraded on our arrival. as we arrived approx 11am we were delighted to be given a room straight away us connect we had expected to drop our luggage and head off to explore singapore so it was lovely to have a little rest and unpack a little the check in staff were excellent and even came up to our room and help us connect to the wy fi we stayed in the ,flower room whitch was mainly white and a little black the free mini bar with soft drinks and juice and water was a nice touch and well appricated after a long day in the singapore sun, as we were only there for 2 nights we did not have time to sample the jacuznd ,it closed at 9pm the breakfast was simple but nice and tasty and the lady in the resturant was very plesant and helpful . we did get a chance to see some other rooms all in their own funky design some were a little bit small and the grey and black ones were a bit dark for my liking i loved this hotel but i am not so sure about the area , i think if i am lucky enough to visit singapore again, i think i would stay in a more central hotel if we could pick this hotel and deposit it in central singapore i would be very happy, oh i forgot the bed was soooooo soft it was like sleeping on a fluffy cloud

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear rosierossie,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are glad that the team was helpful and hospitable, and that that made your stay a little more comfortable and all the more enjoyable. Each floor is designed by a different local design agency, so be sure to request for a different room category the next time you are staying with us.

Whilst Wanderlust is not situated in a major shopping belt, it is a short walk to 2 different train stations, making it still convenient to get around Singapore. Perhaps next time, you could request for a free Inside Access consultation to discover the best ways to get around.

We hope to have you back with us soon, and in the meantime, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Very unusual and design hotel! We stayed here only 3 days but we liked it very much!
Advantages:
- modern, unusual and artistic rooms (e.g., the doors of bathroom and toilet are made of glass). The hotel is included in the group of design hotels around the world;
- perfect and delicious breakfast served on the ground floor at the restaurant (very good pastry, artistic dishes);
- clean rooms;
- friendly and professional staff;
- small compliments (nespresso cafe is free-of-charge in the rooms);
- nice atmosphere of the hotel (a bit romantic and at the same time modern).
Disadvantages:
- noisy and dirty area (the hotel is located in the Little India district) but you cannot hear the noise inside the room;
- not perfect location as you have to get to the center by tube or by bus (tube is also located 7-10 minutes by walk). At the same time you can walk and see a lot of interesting places and the spirit of Singapore on your way to the tube.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Maria S,

Hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for taking time out to write this review.

We are pleased that you had an excellent stay at the hotel. We acknowledge that whilst Little India is not your typical shopping belt, it is truly steep in local culture and heritage.

Perhaps the next time you are in Singapore, you may like to try out our sister properties, Hotel 1929 and New Majestic Hotel, which are both at Chinatown, to explore a different side of Singapore.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Address: 2 Dickson Road, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Singapore
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#51 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#66 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wanderlust 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanderlust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.