We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wanderlust to your Saves list
Wanderlust
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Dickson Road, Singapore 209494, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Totally different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in a Pantone room, only issue was access to bed but once in very comfortable.Excellent service from very friendly staff, great breakfasts and we were given late check out as Spa closed for renovations.Quirky,different but overall we would highly recommend this hotel Only complaint was noise from open air restaurant next door ..Next time we would upgrade to a normal room on next level

Room Tip: Pantone rooms better for younger guests as bed access difficult
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear mgcolin53,

Hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your great feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Housed in a conservation building, we recognize that some of the rooms are quite compact. Perhaps you may like to request for a quiet room in the Mono room category the next time you are staying at Wanderlust.

We hope to have the opportunity to impress you again!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    193
    54
    22
    7
See reviews for
32
239
52
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the Wanderlust in Singapore. We were booked into a Mono room on the 3rd floor. After checking in, we discovered a small problem with the room. A call to reception, and we were visited by a couple of the reception team. Shortly after, we were moved to another room for the duration of our stay. The team were most apologetic, but very eager to make everything from this point onwards, right.
The new room was great. Decor was rather clever, and had illuminated silhouettes on the walls. The frosted glass toilet looks unusual, but there is more privacy than expected. The shower is similarly frosted. The toiletries were Shanghai Tang, and smelt sensational. The complimentary minibar, and Nespresso are handy.
You have to think a little about how you store your luggage, but it doesn't become a huge problem.
The bar and lobby downstairs were neat, and the collection of unusual chairs gave it quite a cool ambience. The restaurant, Cocotte looked great with its coloured metal chairs. The breakfast buffet wasn't huge by classic buffet standards, but the freshly cooked options make up for that. There are fresh pastries served, and there's cereals, and muesli too.
The hotel is situated in little India, near Jalan Besar. Currently there is capital works as the new downtown rail line is built, and the congestion will disappear as the works are completed. The new station will literally be on the hotel's doorstep. Outside this, it is around a 10 minute walk to the Little India MRT station, give or take.
There's quite a lot of dining options in the area including food centres across the road, and a number of indian restaurants down towards Serangoon Road.
Got to say I was really happy with my stay at the Wanderlust, and would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear QldTiger,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and that you will be coming back again. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Until then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights after a cruise we were plesently supprised to be upgraded on our arrival. as we arrived approx 11am we were delighted to be given a room straight away us connect we had expected to drop our luggage and head off to explore singapore so it was lovely to have a little rest and unpack a little the check in staff were excellent and even came up to our room and help us connect to the wy fi we stayed in the ,flower room whitch was mainly white and a little black the free mini bar with soft drinks and juice and water was a nice touch and well appricated after a long day in the singapore sun, as we were only there for 2 nights we did not have time to sample the jacuznd ,it closed at 9pm the breakfast was simple but nice and tasty and the lady in the resturant was very plesant and helpful . we did get a chance to see some other rooms all in their own funky design some were a little bit small and the grey and black ones were a bit dark for my liking i loved this hotel but i am not so sure about the area , i think if i am lucky enough to visit singapore again, i think i would stay in a more central hotel if we could pick this hotel and deposit it in central singapore i would be very happy, oh i forgot the bed was soooooo soft it was like sleeping on a fluffy cloud

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear rosierossie,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are glad that the team was helpful and hospitable, and that that made your stay a little more comfortable and all the more enjoyable. Each floor is designed by a different local design agency, so be sure to request for a different room category the next time you are staying with us.

Whilst Wanderlust is not situated in a major shopping belt, it is a short walk to 2 different train stations, making it still convenient to get around Singapore. Perhaps next time, you could request for a free Inside Access consultation to discover the best ways to get around.

We hope to have you back with us soon, and in the meantime, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Very unusual and design hotel! We stayed here only 3 days but we liked it very much!
Advantages:
- modern, unusual and artistic rooms (e.g., the doors of bathroom and toilet are made of glass). The hotel is included in the group of design hotels around the world;
- perfect and delicious breakfast served on the ground floor at the restaurant (very good pastry, artistic dishes);
- clean rooms;
- friendly and professional staff;
- small compliments (nespresso cafe is free-of-charge in the rooms);
- nice atmosphere of the hotel (a bit romantic and at the same time modern).
Disadvantages:
- noisy and dirty area (the hotel is located in the Little India district) but you cannot hear the noise inside the room;
- not perfect location as you have to get to the center by tube or by bus (tube is also located 7-10 minutes by walk). At the same time you can walk and see a lot of interesting places and the spirit of Singapore on your way to the tube.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Maria S,

Hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for taking time out to write this review.

We are pleased that you had an excellent stay at the hotel. We acknowledge that whilst Little India is not your typical shopping belt, it is truly steep in local culture and heritage.

Perhaps the next time you are in Singapore, you may like to try out our sister properties, Hotel 1929 and New Majestic Hotel, which are both at Chinatown, to explore a different side of Singapore.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asansol, West Bengal, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

vry gud hospitality, gud service and vry gud Staffs. i njoyd the trip a lot.. ofcourse this Designer Hotel too. Have once experience in this Designer Hotel. The most important thing as u enter the room of this hotel u ll feel somethng vry Romantic. Its ambience is vry gud.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Bibek_Burnwal,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous feedback.

We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic experience at the hotel, and that you were well-attended to by the team.

We hope to have you back with us the next time you are in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A very unique boutique hotel - each room has its own design. Seemed a bit more fitting for a romantic getaway than a business trip, but a wonderful property, lovely staff, and a fantastic breakfast. Fun location too on the edge of Little India.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear dquinby,

Warm hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind review.

We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Wanderlust is, indeed, rather unique, with each level designed by a different local design agency. We recommend that you try out another category next time, so as to experience a different aspect of the hotel.

We look forward to having you with us again!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having spent two nights in the unlisted collection's other hotel (New Majestic) we decided to try Wanderlust for our final night in Singapore. It's located in Little India... very lively location but also very noisy and the road (Dickinson Road) Is quite dirty for singapore standards. Our room, Origami, overlooked the side street where a restaurant has tables and people eat pretty much at any time so it's a bit noisy. Moreover, on our floor for about 4 hours (7pm until 11pm) a group of local fashionistas had a party, which ended up finally with hotel security removing them. Yet the noise was pretty unbearable and we (and other guests) had to complain many times. The room is nicely designed and very spacious, and has all comforts including safe, nespresso machine and complimentary drinks in the fridge yet the lights are 'mood lights' and are only green/yellow/pink etc so if you need to pack in the evening it's though.
The bathroom is very spacious yet the sink is by the bed which is stupid - as you keep dripping on the wooden floor> Moreover the side shower is so badly designed that in 3 minutes we had it running, we flooded the corridor, as there's a massive gap under the bathroom glass door... badly put together! Loved the reception area and the bar, the outdoor small but comfortable jacuzzi pool and sun loungers, and the breakfast which was nice and had a good variety of french inspire food.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Federilli,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are disappointed that your otherwise good stay was marred by some unhappy experiences. Please be assured that we take our guests' feedback very seriously, and we are taking steps to eradicate the noise issue you experienced.

On a brighter note, we are pleased that you appreciated your room and enjoyed the treats that were provided. We sincerely hope to have you back with us again the next time you are in Singapore.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Address: 2 Dickson Road, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#74 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wanderlust 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanderlust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.