We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vry different Experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wanderlust

Save Saved
You added Wanderlust to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wanderlust
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Dickson Road, Singapore 209494, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Asansol, West Bengal, India
1 review
“vry different Experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

vry gud hospitality, gud service and vry gud Staffs. i njoyd the trip a lot.. ofcourse this Designer Hotel too. Have once experience in this Designer Hotel. The most important thing as u enter the room of this hotel u ll feel somethng vry Romantic. Its ambience is vry gud.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Bibek_Burnwal,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous feedback.

We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic experience at the hotel, and that you were well-attended to by the team.

We hope to have you back with us the next time you are in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    167
    49
    17
    4
See reviews for
28
207
44
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A very unique boutique hotel - each room has its own design. Seemed a bit more fitting for a romantic getaway than a business trip, but a wonderful property, lovely staff, and a fantastic breakfast. Fun location too on the edge of Little India.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear dquinby,

Warm hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind review.

We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Wanderlust is, indeed, rather unique, with each level designed by a different local design agency. We recommend that you try out another category next time, so as to experience a different aspect of the hotel.

We look forward to having you with us again!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having spent two nights in the unlisted collection's other hotel (New Majestic) we decided to try Wanderlust for our final night in Singapore. It's located in Little India... very lively location but also very noisy and the road (Dickinson Road) Is quite dirty for singapore standards. Our room, Origami, overlooked the side street where a restaurant has tables and people eat pretty much at any time so it's a bit noisy. Moreover, on our floor for about 4 hours (7pm until 11pm) a group of local fashionistas had a party, which ended up finally with hotel security removing them. Yet the noise was pretty unbearable and we (and other guests) had to complain many times. The room is nicely designed and very spacious, and has all comforts including safe, nespresso machine and complimentary drinks in the fridge yet the lights are 'mood lights' and are only green/yellow/pink etc so if you need to pack in the evening it's though.
The bathroom is very spacious yet the sink is by the bed which is stupid - as you keep dripping on the wooden floor> Moreover the side shower is so badly designed that in 3 minutes we had it running, we flooded the corridor, as there's a massive gap under the bathroom glass door... badly put together! Loved the reception area and the bar, the outdoor small but comfortable jacuzzi pool and sun loungers, and the breakfast which was nice and had a good variety of french inspire food.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Federilli,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are disappointed that your otherwise good stay was marred by some unhappy experiences. Please be assured that we take our guests' feedback very seriously, and we are taking steps to eradicate the noise issue you experienced.

On a brighter note, we are pleased that you appreciated your room and enjoyed the treats that were provided. We sincerely hope to have you back with us again the next time you are in Singapore.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wanderlust has been one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in across the world!
Really interesting ambience and unique rooms-very kitschy this place! the service is outstanding!Absolutely worth the money!:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Madhupotter,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic time with us, and that the team was hospitable and welcoming during your stay. We hope to have you back with us again soon!

Thank you, and safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Wanderlust. The location, right off the main road in Little India, is convenient, (whether you're walking OR taking a cab or the MRT). The included breakfast is absolutely delicious, love their DIY Mueseli bar. The rooms are teeny-tiny but stocked with everything you would need (including an espresso maker and free mini bar), the bed was SO comfy and the linens were really nice. Love the decor too, so quirky! The street below is loud, but earplugs are provided :)

Room Tip: The back rooms are over a loud alley, I certainly used the provided earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear LeslieMV,

Hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your great feedback.

We are happy that you had an enjoyable experience staying with us. We admit that the streets can be quite lively, so do request for a quiet room the next time you make a reservation with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon, and do try out a different room category when you are back!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Wanderlust is a unique hotel that gives you a fun, artsy experience. Each floor is decorated by a different designer from Singapore and we found it very visually interesting as well as comfortable. The hotel has a great attention to detail.

The only downfall is the outside noise level. I know this is out of the hotel's control but during our two night stay we were awoken several times during the night between 2:00 am and 4:00 am. The hotel offers ear plugs but they don't really do enough to block the noise.

The noise aside, I highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are fun and something out of the ordinary. It has all of the amenities you could need (including a mini fridge with free drinks). There is even a roof top jacuzzi - which is ideal for a relaxing drink.

The street the hotel is located on lacks a bit in ambiance but the hotel is within walking distance of the MRT (about 10 min from the Little India station) and about a 15 minute walk from Bugis or Arab Street. The restaurant in the hotel offers a delicious breakfast and the staff is happy to help you with planning your trip.

If you're looking for a boutique hotel experience away from the masses, Wanderlust is a great choice - just make sure to request a room that isn't facing the street!

Room Tip: Room 302 faces the road - I suggest an internal facing room to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Jenny J,

Warm hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind review.

Located along a bustling street, we recognize that the evenings can be rather alive with activities. Should there be rooms available, we would be glad to offer and assist you with a room change to a quieter room.

We are really pleased that you had a pleasant stay overall. We hope to have another opportunity to impress you.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Wanderlust is definitely a hotel you'll be telling your friends about. I had the Pantone, a Capsule Room on the second floor. The room was long and narrow. Enclosed toilet, sink, enclosed shower ran the length of the room. At the end of the room was the bed. Room 211 looked out into the atrium so was very quiet. Unlike photos I had seen of the rooms, my room was all white. Above the bed was a neon sign "My white noise Blur". The refrigerator was stocked with juices and soft drinks, all free and replenished each day. Breakfast was served in Cocotte on the first floor. Excellent breakfast selection. The hotel is located close to the MRT and stops for the Hop On Hop Off bus. Very convenient to Bugis Street as well as the shops and restaurants in Little India.

Room Tip: An inside room facing the atrium would be a lot quieter than an outside room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear John C,

Greetings from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful time staying with us. Wanderlust is definitely not your average hotel, and the designs can be quite unconventional. As each floor is designed by a different local design agency, we recommend that you give our other room categories a try the next time you are staying with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Address: 2 Dickson Road, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Singapore
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#49 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#63 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wanderlust 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanderlust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.