We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design, comfort but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wanderlust

Save Saved
You added Wanderlust to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanderlust
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Dickson Road, Singapore 209494, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Londra
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Design, comfort but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having spent two nights in the unlisted collection's other hotel (New Majestic) we decided to try Wanderlust for our final night in Singapore. It's located in Little India... very lively location but also very noisy and the road (Dickinson Road) Is quite dirty for singapore standards. Our room, Origami, overlooked the side street where a restaurant has tables and people eat pretty much at any time so it's a bit noisy. Moreover, on our floor for about 4 hours (7pm until 11pm) a group of local fashionistas had a party, which ended up finally with hotel security removing them. Yet the noise was pretty unbearable and we (and other guests) had to complain many times. The room is nicely designed and very spacious, and has all comforts including safe, nespresso machine and complimentary drinks in the fridge yet the lights are 'mood lights' and are only green/yellow/pink etc so if you need to pack in the evening it's though.
The bathroom is very spacious yet the sink is by the bed which is stupid - as you keep dripping on the wooden floor> Moreover the side shower is so badly designed that in 3 minutes we had it running, we flooded the corridor, as there's a massive gap under the bathroom glass door... badly put together! Loved the reception area and the bar, the outdoor small but comfortable jacuzzi pool and sun loungers, and the breakfast which was nice and had a good variety of french inspire food.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Federilli,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are disappointed that your otherwise good stay was marred by some unhappy experiences. Please be assured that we take our guests' feedback very seriously, and we are taking steps to eradicate the noise issue you experienced.

On a brighter note, we are pleased that you appreciated your room and enjoyed the treats that were provided. We sincerely hope to have you back with us again the next time you are in Singapore.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    173
    49
    17
    4
See reviews for
29
213
45
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wanderlust has been one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in across the world!
Really interesting ambience and unique rooms-very kitschy this place! the service is outstanding!Absolutely worth the money!:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Madhupotter,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic time with us, and that the team was hospitable and welcoming during your stay. We hope to have you back with us again soon!

Thank you, and safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Wanderlust. The location, right off the main road in Little India, is convenient, (whether you're walking OR taking a cab or the MRT). The included breakfast is absolutely delicious, love their DIY Mueseli bar. The rooms are teeny-tiny but stocked with everything you would need (including an espresso maker and free mini bar), the bed was SO comfy and the linens were really nice. Love the decor too, so quirky! The street below is loud, but earplugs are provided :)

Room Tip: The back rooms are over a loud alley, I certainly used the provided earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear LeslieMV,

Hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your great feedback.

We are happy that you had an enjoyable experience staying with us. We admit that the streets can be quite lively, so do request for a quiet room the next time you make a reservation with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon, and do try out a different room category when you are back!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Wanderlust is a unique hotel that gives you a fun, artsy experience. Each floor is decorated by a different designer from Singapore and we found it very visually interesting as well as comfortable. The hotel has a great attention to detail.

The only downfall is the outside noise level. I know this is out of the hotel's control but during our two night stay we were awoken several times during the night between 2:00 am and 4:00 am. The hotel offers ear plugs but they don't really do enough to block the noise.

The noise aside, I highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are fun and something out of the ordinary. It has all of the amenities you could need (including a mini fridge with free drinks). There is even a roof top jacuzzi - which is ideal for a relaxing drink.

The street the hotel is located on lacks a bit in ambiance but the hotel is within walking distance of the MRT (about 10 min from the Little India station) and about a 15 minute walk from Bugis or Arab Street. The restaurant in the hotel offers a delicious breakfast and the staff is happy to help you with planning your trip.

If you're looking for a boutique hotel experience away from the masses, Wanderlust is a great choice - just make sure to request a room that isn't facing the street!

Room Tip: Room 302 faces the road - I suggest an internal facing room to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Jenny J,

Warm hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind review.

Located along a bustling street, we recognize that the evenings can be rather alive with activities. Should there be rooms available, we would be glad to offer and assist you with a room change to a quieter room.

We are really pleased that you had a pleasant stay overall. We hope to have another opportunity to impress you.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Wanderlust is definitely a hotel you'll be telling your friends about. I had the Pantone, a Capsule Room on the second floor. The room was long and narrow. Enclosed toilet, sink, enclosed shower ran the length of the room. At the end of the room was the bed. Room 211 looked out into the atrium so was very quiet. Unlike photos I had seen of the rooms, my room was all white. Above the bed was a neon sign "My white noise Blur". The refrigerator was stocked with juices and soft drinks, all free and replenished each day. Breakfast was served in Cocotte on the first floor. Excellent breakfast selection. The hotel is located close to the MRT and stops for the Hop On Hop Off bus. Very convenient to Bugis Street as well as the shops and restaurants in Little India.

Room Tip: An inside room facing the atrium would be a lot quieter than an outside room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear John C,

Greetings from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful time staying with us. Wanderlust is definitely not your average hotel, and the designs can be quite unconventional. As each floor is designed by a different local design agency, we recommend that you give our other room categories a try the next time you are staying with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Torn is my subject because part of me enjoyed my stay and part of me like the guest below found it a bit disappointing.

I will start with the good.

Every staff member that we encountered was extremely friendly and willing to accommodate in every which way. Marian in particular was a charm and knowledgeable of the area.

The breakfast buffet offered a selection of cereals, nuts, breads, OJ, coffee, tea and fruits preserves, each guest had the choice of ordering a hot dish from the a la carte menu, which was fresh and tasty.

The lobby area with bar and plenty of seats had a great vibe during the weekend. A lot of outside guest come to dine at Cocotte, which seems to be a hot spot. We only heard great reviews from others.

Everything in the mini bar is complimentary and replenish everyday, amenity product are from a high end Asian brand, iron and iron board are available.

Now for the not so good!

I understand that new hotel concepts are evolving and that is great, however bearing away from necessities is a bit much. We had no draws to put our clothes in, only a few hangers and the rest we kept in our suitcase because there was not much room to put things.

The lighting is awful, if you are like me who likes to put make-up on for a night out good luck, give yourself ample time for doing hair, make-up and getting dress because the blue, green and other colorful lights and lack of mirror space will set you back.

We had an incident where a guest that checked into the room next to us was celebrating a birthday party, at 6pm the music and slamming of the doors started. I called the front desk three times and informed them of the havoc that was occurring on our floor. They spoke to the guest; the manager, which was not in house, called us and informed us that several measures have to be taking before a guest can be kicked out. My thoughts were if they are behaving this way at 6pm imagine at midnight. Lo and behold, when my husband and I returned back at 11pm from dinner and a stroll the party had turned in a nightclub and other hotel guest started complaining. After more phone calls and a visit to the front desk from my husband, the guest were removed from the hotel. The manager and staff apologize profusely and I understood their point on having to take exercise several courses before removing guest but allowing it to get to the point of which it did was a bit much.

Location: little India is not the best, the walk to the train station can get be a bit lengthy because of the massive amount of people that one have to constantly dodge. Its always crowded unless you head out at 9 am and return after midnight.

In a whole our stay at the Wanderlust was pleasant and as the days went by we appreciated all the good and bad that it had to offer. The one thing that stayed consistent was the wonderful service and excellent demeanor of the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 308 which overlooked a small courtyard its extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear theoneandonlymaione,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind review.

We regret that you had a less than satisfactory experience due to the disturbances created by neighbouring guests. Parties are not permitted within the hotel rooms, but we do allow a maximum of 5 guests in the rooms till 11pm. This incident was an exception, and we apologize for the unfortunate experience.

The Origami rooms in our Mono room category have adjustable lightings. There is a panel, located near the head of the bed, that can be used to change the colors or the frequency of the lights. Alternatively, the colors can be switched off completely.

On a brighter note, we are happy that overall, your stay was made wonderful by the service and the positive attitude of the team. We look forward to having you back with us again!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

After reading several good reviews, I was really looking forward to the Wanderlust. What an enormous disappointment. Apart from a somewhat more interesting location than many other Singapore hotels, everything about this hotel was disappointing. Well, not everything. The bed was actually quite comfortable. But that's where my compliments end.

The check-in team didn't seem to know what they were doing, and kept me waiting quite a long time while trying to get me checked in. Still, I perked up when they told me they were giving me an upgrade. The upgrade was so small that it couldn't even fit two suitcases. I had to keep one in the little space between the toilet and shower. Also, the shower leaked so that there was water all over the floor of the entire room. Does that give you any sense of how small this UPGRADED room was? I also thought the color-themed rooms would be cool and quirky, but they ended up just being rather tacky. I struggled initially with whether to book at Wanderlust or stay at a non-descript hotel by the airport. I clearly made the wrong decision.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear ricedish,

Greetings from the Wanderlust team!
Thank you for taking time out to write this review.

We are truly disappointed that you had a less than satisfactory stay with us. We recognise that Wanderlust is definitely not your average hotel, and with each floor being designed by a different local design agency, the rooms may not be for everyone.

Perhaps you may like to try out our sister property, New Majestic Hotel, which is located at Chinatown. With larger rooms and more facilities, you may find that the hotel is more to your liking.

We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Address: 2 Dickson Road, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Singapore
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#50 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#65 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wanderlust 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanderlust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.