We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wanderlust to your Saves list
Wanderlust
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Dickson Road, Singapore 209494, Singapore (Little India)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfy beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was perfect. On arrival we were shown to the black room, which we felt was a bit bleak, but it was no problem for the staff to move us to the purple room - despite it being a busy time as the Singapore Grand Prix was on. The bed was the comfiest we have ever slept in and found it a real struggle to wake up in the mornings. The thing that forced us up was the lure of the fantastic breakfasts. On our third day, the hotel had a burst water pipe. This was a bit inconvenient but staff did all they could to lessen this. We were brought breakfast in bed and were able to use the shower facilities at a (very nice) hostel around the corner. Not ideal but couldn't be helped. To compensate, we were given a free late check-out and a box of cakes were left in our room with an apology - nice touch. Overall the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a good location in Little India. Handy places nearby for cheap food and beer and it is only a short walk away from the MRT.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear loves2travel394,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are really pleased that you had such a fantastic time with us, and we do regret the inconvenience caused as a result of the water pipe burst. We are glad that the team were able to turn the disappointing situation around and made your stay wonderful.

We hope to have you back with us again, and until then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    210
    58
    22
    8
See reviews for
34
258
57
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Booked to stay at this hotel during the last F1 Weekend in Singapore. While the hotel in general was designed very well, we were disappointed with a number of things which made the rest of our stay very difficult.

Loft Rooms - Though we agreed to book this room during our stay, we were quite disappointed with the room's layout. The bed room was on the second floor and the stairs we used to get up and down from were extremely narrow. I would highly discourage older aged people from booking this room just for that. Also, some of the linens used for the bed had stains making me wonder if they had cleaned the room in time for our arrival. Unfortunately, the Nespresso machine, nice room design and the well thought out amenities definitely wouldn't make up for all our disappointments.

Location - Not good at all. The hotel was located on an unexciting street in Little India. Almost 15 minutes aways from all the exciting stuff in Singapore especially if it's your first time here.

To make matters worse, though I must be fair and say that this was no fault of the hotel management, the following day met us with absolutely zero water in our bathroom due to a pipe burst in the kitchen. I understand they tried to remedy this by coordinating with the next door hotel for us to shower, but really?

Unfortunately, we had to leave after our first night and decided to stay in a hotel closer to Orchard Road after they readily agreed to give us a full refund for our second night. I'm not sure what to make of this hotel but to be safe, best to stay away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Saxmax,

Greetings from Wanderlust!
Thank you for taking time out to write this review.

We are disappointed that your stay fell below your expectations. Wanderlust can be considered a left-wing hotel, and the design and layouts of some of the rooms may not be for every traveller. As every floor is designed by a different local design agency, we suggest that you can try out our other non-loft rooms.

Rest assured also that your feedback about the linens have been noted and the relevant departments will be made aware of this. We also deeply regret the inconvenience caused as a result of the pipe burst, and we sincerely apologize for this unforeseen circumstance. Please be assured that we have since rectified the problem.

Wanderlust is located in close proximity to the bustling streets of Little India, and is also just a short walk to the popular shopping district of Bugis. Perhaps in the future, you could request for a free Inside Access consultation to discover the best ways and places around Singapore.

We earnestly hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress you when you are next in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Wanderlust Hotel during the F1 for a week. I chose the hotel due to the excellent reviews on trip advisor. I am just going to be totally honest in this review. I liked the hotels location and little India is a very interesting area. The breakfast was very nice and the staff in the restaurant were good. That's all the good I can say. We stayed in the loft room, tree room. It was very small and very dusty. The rooms are very uncomfortable to be honest. For two whole days we had no water at all. We had to use a different hotel down the road to shower. However my biggest concern is that items were removed from our bags in the room. My wife had a lot of expensive make up stollen as well as a Tshirt. We noticed it had gone right after the cleaners had been into the room. She had used the make up in the morning and on our return to the room it was gone. We confronted the staff at the hotel who said they would replace if for us, however that never happened.
To be honest there are better hotels in Singapore, please take time and look them up and avoid the disappointment of the Wanderlust!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Wilcockc,

Thank you again for the feedback provided.

We addressed your email feedback with our reply on Wednesday, September 26:

“We have investigated your concerns on the missing items and although our findings are non-conclusive, the team has been reminded that the management will not condone such behaviour.

We would like to compensate you for the missing make-up item and our Front Office Manager, Tori Ahmad, have sent you an earlier email on Monday with regards to this. Please provide us with the item description as well as a mailing address, and we’ll arrange to purchase the item and mail it to you.

It was also unfortunate that during this peak period, we had an incident with the water pipes and had to stop the water supply. While we work on rectifying the situation in the restaurant, we had to serve breakfast in the guestrooms on Sunday morning.”

We understand that when you reported the loss to our Reception team during your stay, the item was an eye-liner, but no other make-up item was reported missing. Thereafter I had sent you another email to enquire for the exact item description so that we can purchase the eye-liner as compensation but never received a reply.

Please contact me directly at wahidah.masturi@unlistedcollection.com so that we can resolve this soonest.

Best regards
Wahidah Masturi
Sales & Marketing Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froson, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a great hotel in the middle of Indian zone in Singapore. Hotel staff is helpful and eager to go out of their way to hepl. Their theme rooms are beautiful and creative. Rooms are well fumished and have all amenities you would expect form 3* hotel and above. My bed was very comfortable, wasn't hard at all and even better than many higher standard hotel. Food was fantastic. Breakfast was lovely. Reasonably price and perfect location made the Wanderlust highly competitive. Definitely worth money

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Andreas S,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are so happy that you had such a fantastic time staying with us, and that we were able to make your stay in Singapore memorable and enjoyable.

As every floor is designed by a different local design agency, we highly recommend that you try another theme the next time you are back.

We hope to welcome you again when you are next in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

First off I must say that the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept in. The hotel itself is a designers wonder with plenty of quirky design features throughout the lobby and rooms. Staff were good and the breakfast was top notch. Overall a good base for a stay in Singapore.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Eamonn M,

Warm hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are pleased that you had an excellent stay with us, and that the hotel's unique designs were to your liking. We hope to have you back with us again soon.

In the meantime, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

One of the most enjoyable things about going away is finding the 'different' and 'unique' and this hotel certainly lives up to that.

The lobby/reception/dining room/breakfast room/chill out space is a feast for the eyes with many different antiques and furniture from across the world - it is that reclaimed 'I found this in a junk shop' cool look that you find in various parts of the world - it is done very well and the place looks warm and inviting.

We didn't have the best experience with the check-in where we found the receptionist quite cold. For example the hotel requested a $50 charge for damages upon check-in. When we questioned this she was quite off-hand and dismissive in her explanation. We didn't necessarily mind the charge but her response certainly made us raise an eyebrow. You need to take your own luggage to your room which isn't a problem but something to be aware of if you have lots of luggage or children.

We stayed for 2 days in the ASCII Suite which is the room with the metal work and alphabet letters all over the walls. The room is well appointed but very cosy. It would be too small to stay in for longer than 3 days as storage is very tight. Again it had cool design features which made it an interesting place to stay. The 'bedroom' is on a mezzanine. The bed is very comfortable but do watch going up and down that stairs in the darkness! The large bath was situated in the middle of the room which was a strange but nice feature considering it was right next to the sofa. We noticed the toiletries were half full before we used them which is unusual in a hotel of this standing. We didn't use the other facilities the hotel offered so cannot comment on these spaces. The breakfast was nice and had a good choice of options.

The hotel is situated in lively Little India which we really enjoyed. It's worth exploring the local area to soak up the atmosphere. Hadji Lane 9about 20mins walk away) is a really interesting little street with many independents shops selling local designers clothing/shoes and nice eateries. It is also close to a Metro station for easy access to the rest of the city. The Thai restaurant next door may not be the most glamorous of eateries but serves very tasty food for next to nothing.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for guests that like points of interest and uniqueness in their hotel accommodation. It is good value for money considering the cost of staying in other hotels in Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear MDLCLondon,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind words and valuable feedback.

We are disappointed that the service provided to you was not satisfactory at all, and we do hope that you accept our sincerest apologies. Your feedback is important to us, and we are definitely looking into the matter.

On a brighter note, we are pleased that you found Wanderlust to be a refreshing change from your typical hotel. The hotel is definitely somewhat of a left-wing hotel and may not be for every traveller. Each floor is designed by a different local design agency, and carries a different theme. Perhaps when you return to stay with us, you could try a different theme.

Alternatively, you can consider staying at our sister properties, Hotel 1929 or New Majestic Hotel, both located in Chinatown.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress you as we strive for continual improvement.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Located in a conservation building, this property was perfect for my two-day stay in the Little India district. I loved the fact the hotel maintained their heritage by using a different local design agency for each level, thus allowing you to have an individually-themed room. The character and decor was different and a breath of fresh air from chain hotels. I stayed in a pantone-colored room "Purple Haze Jimmy Hendrix" on the second floor. My bed was so comfortable I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud. I liked how they fitted a functional hotel room in a petite space with innovative touches - like the freestanding glass boxes around the shower and toilet.

As Singapore was a pricey city, it was nice to have complimentary soft drinks, bottled water and free wi-fi in my room. Service level exceeded my expectations and the staff was happy to help me all the time. Their friendliness and commitment in wanting my stay to be enjoyable is to be commended. For me, Wanderlust was located in the right place in Little India where it is culturally rich with so much to explore. The area felt safe and I am glad to have had the opportunity to stay here.

Room Tip: The second floor had an array of Pantone-colored inspired rooms and are quite adequate for traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Adventure Diva,

Warm greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are so very pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us. Wanderlust is definitely not your typical hotel, and each uniquely designed room offers an uncommon experience. We are also happy that the level of service provided was impeccable.

We strive for continual improvement, and hope to impress you again the next time you are back with us!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Address: 2 Dickson Road, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#81 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wanderlust 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanderlust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.