We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kwan Im Vegetarian Restaurant

Kwan Im Vegetarian Restaurant
190 Waterloo Street, Singapore 187965, Singapore
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,588 of 7,399 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Had vegetarian food for lunch here on Vesak day. The queue was long but it wasn't a long wait. Love the veg curry, very flavorful!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Restaurant in Sinbgapore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Restaurant is situated in the same hotel where we stayed. we took the break fast daily here. Chinese breakfast included rice plate and noodles. taste was good but due to some peculiar smell we always doubted that oil used is different.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for a vegetarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We visited this place 2 times during our stay in Singapore. Really nice place near Buddhist temple. Dishes are delicious and sweets are also great. Average bill for two people is about 40-50$. A bit to much, but it's Singapore.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Average vegetarian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had been to this restaurant for many times, today went again and we had ordered one black pepper Udon, claypot hor fun, and a mix plate of vegetarian stuffs, taste not bad but the dining experience there was not so good. once we sat down, one waitress was already standing besides us waiting for us to make order. I told her to give me some times to look through the menu yet she just smile smile and stand there waiting. I was quite irritated by her attitude so anyhow order 3 dishes and let her move away from our table.

Price wise is not very cheap, imagine the abovementioned dishes and two cup of barley lemon, it cost us ard S$35.

On the way I may drop by and eat there but I will not go specially to there to take my meal, as there are many better vegetarian restaurants than this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Made our vegetarians deliriously happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

There were five of us on holiday, two of whom are vegetarians and begged to visit this restaurant after reading about it in the Rough Guide. Even the dedicated carnivores amongst us enjoyed the lunch here - we just wished we'd ordered a double portion of the tempura 'prawns' - they were fantastic! Our vegetarians loved knowing they could eat anything off the menu and those of us who are from the far east enjoyed the really good chinese food. If only we'd got around to visiting this restaurant earlier in our holiday - we would have come back again and again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kwan Im Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Kwan Im Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kwan Im Vegetarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.