We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with a magnificent pool and restaurant on the top floor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Bay Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Bay Sands to your Saves list
Marina Bay Sands
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore (Marina Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
S$359 (SGD)
Ranked #35 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with a magnificent pool and restaurant on the top floor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

A new hotel in Singapore with fantastic views of the city from the top floor where there are restaurants and a swimming pool only for hotel guests. Rooms are spacious and clean and the staff extremely friendly.
Negative is the fairly long queue for breakfast in the morning rush hour. Plan enough time here. Check-in is only as of 3.00 p.m without any exceptions. To get around this you have to book the night before and pay the full price for that night. We would have expected a hotel of this category to be more flexible.
All in all an excellent hotel which we would recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aacortes, Senior Vice President - Operations at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for the review. We are happy that you would recommend Marina Bay Sands.

We are currently reviewing the 3pm check in process. As far as possible, we do accommodate our guests’ request for check in earlier than 3pm when we have rooms available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,243
    3,711
    1,614
    617
    543
See reviews for
3,339
4,475
579
1,580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,980)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

From the moment we arrived it was truly fantastic. I had read all the terrible reviews on Trip Advisor and I was a little concerned. From check in to check out, everyone the we encountered was not only professional, courteous but also very efficient. I personally witnessed genuine acts of kindness by the staff. The room was excellent, clean and very well appointed. We had a deluxe horizon room. The Skypark is the crowning glory. You have to go for a swim in the pool. Watch the sunset at Ku de ta with a cocktail. An amazing experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottesloe, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

My wife and I visited family in Kuala Lumpur and we planned to stay 4 nights in Singapore before returning home to Australia. We booked at the Marina Bay unaware of this website or the comments about this hotel before we departed and I am glad we did not know because we may not have booked at the MBS after reading some of the comments. I can only comment on our experience. At the reception there were two couples and a single male person ahead of us in the queue. The only Caucasian in the queue was the single person. I saw and experienced no racism or favorite treatment from the young lady at reception. We were treated and welcomed the same as the white guest. We had room service and also visited the club room 57 floor and we were always treated with respect by all the hotel staff I did not get a impression that any of the staff were not truly welcoming and friendly regardless of race. Our room was very clean and it had all things a high class hotel should. The bed was very nice we both slept very well every night.

My wife enjoyed the shopping mall and I enjoyed the casino, we both enjoyed the infinity pool and restaurants. The hotel is huge and very impressive design. There were a lot of visitors sight seeing so it is a very busy hotel but we have no complaints with this hotel and we are very happy to have had the experience so we both want to return again for a longer stay. This is a very excellent hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful are not racist in our experience. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and large and I think it is good value for money. We had a wonderful stay and I would urge people to discover this for themselves.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

I really had a great experience when I stayed there last week, I had no problems at all with check in, my room, service or anything. I went with 3 friends who didn't have any complaints either. Its not exactly the best located hotel in Singapore especially if its shopping your into but the same can be said for many other top class hotels close by. So stay some other hotel if that's a problem. There's a lot of sightseers and traffic access could do with some improvement but that didn't impact on the quality of my stay there, if you let stuff like that bug you I think you need more than a vacation. I normally don't eat at the hotel restaurants because regardless of which 5 star you stay at you know the meal is always going to be pricey, especially in the big name restaurants. One thing about Singapore is there's no lack of places to eat great food that wont empty your wallet. I mean isn't venturing out from the hotel and seeing what else is out there part of the point of being on vacation? Was it value for money? Yeah I believe it is especially if you book a Club room. Everyone has their own experiences, my experience at the MBS was fault free and really great. People don't like it and wont go back, fine, don't go back, but for me I will definitely be going back and my friends say the same. Singapore is an awesome city, met some really cool people there and I'm looking forward to going back soon as I can.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

For the price I paid for, of course I expect more from this hotel. The hotel was extremely busy on that end of december when I stayed. Yes it was two days before new year when I checked in. With all the business only treatment, I saw this hotel won't make you feel special at all. You pay the price and do your business, then bye-bye.

Architecture of the building is great, both of interior and exterior are good. Room is good because it is new but when you take good look, this hotel is only try to create luxury impression with 'China quality' mateial which mostly only offer good presentation, but they are not.

It is only because new thing is always feel good and exciting, skypark and infinity swimming pool with singapore view offered good experience, but again nothing is special.

Breakfast is lame compare what you paid for.

Overall, what special about Marina Sands is only their Casino, nothing else. It is not place to offer memorable personal experience. It felt like when we use luxury taxi, only about impression but no worth experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Simply awful.
A check-in time of 3 pm. Having queued for half an hour, we were told our room wasn't ready, and we would have to wait another hour. Then told (we'd booked a twin) that we could have a room earlier (ie, at a mere 3.30pm) with a fold down sofa...At $600+/night, I was not happy about sleeping on a sofa. So - no option but to wait.
The room, when we got there was adequate but basic. In prices, this hotel competes with the Shangri-La. It fails to compete in any other way. The famous pool was packed - so we headed for what was labelled the 'adults only' section - next to a noisy bar, and in the area where the public are allowed to come up and take photos. How relaxing it was to be surrounded by 150 people with cameras. Service? Non existent. Food - who can tell? the vastly expensive Michelin starred restaurants are a 10 minute walk away through a shopping mall. We headed for the Mandarin and ate there instead. Next day, we checked out early.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

This hotel is not awful and it should not be avoided. I have had the pleasure of staying at the MBS 3 times now and I have already booked in for another stay in July, this time for 7 nights. There is no way I would return to a hotel repeatedly and spend thousands of hard earned dollars each time if it was even half as bad as some have claimed.

The MBS is a wonderful hotel. It may not suit everyone and clearly it doesn't, but to describe it as awful, stressful and even painful as some have claimed is simply untrue. There's no need for me to list its many excellent qualities as honest reviewers have already done that many times.

My advice is don't avoid this hotel, there's a great deal more to the MBS than its stunning architecture and design and I have yet to experience the issues the critics have raised. Logic suggests that if the MBS was as bad as some claim then surely the majority including myself would have similar experiences and yet that's obviously not the case. Most complaints are just silly, trivial and petty if they are to be believed at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aacortes, Senior Vice President - Operations at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for your support of Marina Bay Sands.

We appreciate your loyalty and business. More importantly, we are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words are very encouraging and help us to work harder to consistently deliver superior service to all our guests every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Bay Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Sands

Address: 10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#25 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#32 Business Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Bay Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 2560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Marina Bay waterfront with 3 cascading hotel towers, 2,560 rooms, extraordinary Sands Sky Park, floating crystal pavilions, lotus-inspired ArtScience Museum, The Shoppes, Celebrity Chef Restaurants, Theatres and hottest nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Marina Bay Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay Sands Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Bay Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.